We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic stay!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Haus Sonnwend

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Haus Sonnwend
Ranked #3 of 47 Alpbach B&B and Inns
Mission Viejo, CA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Beautiful guest house in a beautiful little village in the mountains. Exceptionally clean & comfortable. Very quiet even though our room was in the front on the street. You can just park your car and walk the village from here. We did many side trips in the 5 days we were in the area. Brigitte welcomed us so warmly, like we were already friends. She gives you a guest card that gives you free admittance on the lifts & buses. Breakfast was excellent with many choices. Fresh fruit is left out all day. Wifi worked great. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Passau37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
33
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

You couldn't ask for much more in a small pension - it is all there! Immaculately clean and fresh, good facilities, generous buffet breakfast and most of all, charming hostess who made you feel exceptionally welcome from start to finish. Thoroughly recommended all round.

Room Tip: For a stunning view, ask for a room at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlisonR55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
95 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

The owner was an absolute delight, offering us a schnapps as we arrived. However, the gasthaus was highly occupied and our room was tiny, with an even tinier bathroom. My husband had difficulty in the shower, as it was so small. I gave up attempting to shave my legs in it - too small! Breakfast was excellent, with fresh eggs offered every morning, cooked to your liking.

We had some negatives, however. It was warm when we visited, and the window had to be open to allow for ventilation. Another pension restaurant, across the street, had people sitting outside drinking and laughing until midnight, making it difficult to sleep. And while the gasthaus is smoke free, our neighbors smoked on the balcony, with the smoke finding its way to our room. So not good.

However, Alpbach, is totally Heidi land! It is gorgeous, the prototypical alpine village, with flowers hanging from the front of every building. We walked all over, ate three wonderful dinners, took the cable car to the top of the mountain and walked there, drove to Innsbruck and spent a day, etc. It's a wonderful place!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the Gasthaus You will be away from the noisy Pension.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EMTtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

You rarely meet that superb receptionist(/owner?), who is extremely helpful, funny and nice. Even before seeing our room, I was ready to return to his idyllic Haus. The room was actually a fresh, high-quality residence with kitchen. We were amazed. What a pity we were staying only one night and all the groceries were closed. But there were good restaurant very near.

The village itself is a gem, like this Haus Sonnwend. We will definately retun. It was not on our road, but it was worth while driving some extra.

The breakfast was very nice. We were asked if we wanted something else and she proactively suggested boiled eggs (which she got from the nearby farm). How could we say no. :)

This is probably one of the most hospitable places I have ever been.

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground level. We had our car in front of the room, but we also had nice view. An...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travgal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We spent a wonderful four days in Alpbach, staying at this fantastic Guest House. Gitti gave us a very warm welcome, including a glass of Schnapps, and her help in deciding what to do each day was fantastic!. She was most generous with the breakfast she offered each morning, as well as the invitation to help ourselves to fruit left in dining room and drinks in downstairs fridge.
The beauty and peace we experienced when riding up in the chair lift was so lovely, and then walking in the mountains at the end of the ride was something we loved. Haus Sonnwend is a definite favourite for us as is beautiful Alpbach. We would highly recommend both and hope to return soon.
Michael & Pauline

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

My daughter Kristen and I drove throughout Tirol, and Alpbach really is one of the gems. The town features charming houses that seem to compete on their flower-boxes. The surrounding meadows are as green as golf courses, and lovely mountains surround you. Top it off with the friendly greetings and comfortable lodgings at Haus Sonnwend. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobK2393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

IF you think the reviews to date are too good to be true, think again! This is just a terrific establishment - warm, very comfortable, great breakfasts, central village location. It boasts a 'Trip Advisor' winner's plaque at the front door and rightly so. Unfortunately, Gitti, the owner was recovering from an operation when we spent 10 days there, but her daughter, Sophea, could not have looked after us better. Alpbach is a very traditional Austrian village with an excellent selection of eating places. It is an excellent location for touring around the Inn Valley and top marks for the area's tourist card which offers excellent value - free bus travel locally, etc.

Room Tip: Room 24 is great - second floor, balcony looking out to the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DittoGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alpbach hotels
0.1 mi away
Romantikhotel Boglerhof
0.0 mi away
Alpbacherhof Hotel
Alpbacherhof Hotel
#2 of 9 in Alpbach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alphof
Hotel Alphof
#5 of 9 in Alpbach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zur Post
Hotel Zur Post
#6 of 9 in Alpbach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Galtenberg
Hotel Galtenberg
#3 of 9 in Alpbach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bergwald
Bergwald
#1 of 47 in Alpbach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haus Sonnwend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haus Sonnwend

Property: Haus Sonnwend
Address: Alpbach 244, Alpbach 6236, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Alpbach
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Alpbach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Haus Sonnwend 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Haus Sonnwend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing