We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop-off point for a refreshment”
Review of Hotel Alpenblick

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Alpenblick
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Zell am See
Certificate of Excellence
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great stop-off point for a refreshment”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

The hotel is ideally located for anyone staying at Schuttdorf just outside of Zell am See. Coffee and beers are reasonably priced, comfortable surroundings and FREE and working Wi-Fi. But he real star is Josef who is a very friendly and an extremely helpful member of staff whose greetings are so genuine and uplifting

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank luckywev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    27
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
73
27
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I have stayed in Alpenblick during my summer vacation and I really enjoyed the confortable rooms and the stunning landscapes I had from my lake view balcony. The spa area and the relaxing facilities are lovely. The indoor pool which goes outside through a sliding door is very nice. Try the outdoor part which is more like a jacuzzi.
The restaurant and the lounge were of good entertainment. Food and beer as per austrian standards. The surrounding area was what I really enjoyed. The lake within the mountains. The hotel's manager was feeding the sheeps behind the hotel and we were drinking their milk @breakfast. How cool is that?
Good choice for a chillaxing vacation.

Room Tip: Choose a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

While the property itself has the ammenities to be a good hotel, it is very dated with old rugs and furnishings. The real issue is the people who work there have forgotten what service and good food is. The kitchen is average at best. The service by most is not good. The spa only employs one massage person, so you can't get a massage when they are busy unless you book well in advance. The hotel is desperate for money so they have rented out the pool to an outside old lady club so my kids and I experienced a bad time trying to swim in the pool one evening after skiing. Unless you are old and enjoy just average eating, i highly suggest you stay somewhere a bit newer since this property like its owner was probably great in its day, however, now is on its way to dying. Sorry I thought I was going to a nice place and found otherwise, hopefeully this review will save you the same disapointment I spent US$2000 for 3 nights to experience.

Room Tip: The hotel rooms are good size, one of the pluses of this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kaelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

We stayed four nights and thought the four star rating seemed a bit overrated. One oerson in our family was vegetarian and had practically the same food choice every night, on buffet night there was not a single fish option and the vegetarian one was macaroni abd tomato sauce. Service ok but not really great, it seems they have hired lots of happy teens who have a bit more to learn about the service trade. The owners however are attentive which is great. Since we were visiting in the summer, there was no skiing. However, the hotel creates a german-speaking newsletter every day with updates which is impressive. All in all - ok hotel in good location with friendly staff and wifi working only in the reception area.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bissy2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2011

We visited this hotel for 5 nights as a family of 3 (including our 8 year old) in October half term. Booked on the internet for half board and the communications were excellent. The hotel is in Schuttdorf, just outside Zell am See and approximately 15-20 minute walk (nice, along the lake) to the main commercial centre of the town. Rooms at the front of the hotel have views of the mountains but not much of the lake.

Welcome was very good, with a free glass of bubbly and a good explanation of the hotel layout and facilities. The reception staff all spoke good English, and although we do not expect everyone to speak our language, it was a bonus in this case simply because my German is so shamefully poor!

Our family room was huge, very nicely furnished and had loads of storage, a lovely bathroom and very comfortable Austrian twin beds (2 single mattresses pushed together in a single bed frame with a king sized bed sheet but separate single duvets). Our son had a comfortable sofabed. There was also a safe in the room, free of charge.

The hotel had a lovely spa facility offering treatments and a great indoor/outdoor pool. Although it was October it snowed heavily when we were there, making the views from the outdoor section as the sun set over the mountains really atmospheric. There was also a fantastic child/teenager activity room in the basement, with internet connected PCs, Xbox, Playstation 3, Wii and table football. Some readers may be tutting at this point, but our 8 year old enjoyed it in moderation only, and not as a replacement for outdoor activities.

Food on the whole was very good, with an extensive hot and cold buffet breakfast (including an egg/omelette station. Choices for evening meal were made in the mornings at breakfast, but we like this kind of thing. Evening food was mainly good, but with 4 or 5 courses each night, understandibly some things were a bit hit and miss. Local house wine was very nice and excellent value, as were the drinks in general.

Our biggest bugbear was the bar. There IS anti-smoking legislation in Austria, but it is being implemeted very slowly indeed. If you smoke its great, back to the good old days in England, but if you do not, its awful, back to the bad old days in England. It seemed smokers vastly outweighed the non-smokers (possibly due to the 'mature' age of many of the guests), so best you could do was choose carefully where to sit, then just grin and bear it, which we did.

We were at the hotel between the main tourist seasons, and it was very soon clear that the hotel keeps going during these periods by taking a lot of coach tours on single night stays. Most were from Germany and all were of senior citizens. No problem really, except all the entertainment was aimed at that generation and was a bit samey. There was lots of local thigh-slapping music and dancing and bingo (yes, bingo!). The coach tour guests all seemed to enjoy themselves though and were universally friendly, so the atmosphere was good, and we had a few good laughs simply watching the action. The biggest shock to us was when there was a crossbow firing contest arranged for one elderly group, with real crossbow and real bolts. Nobody got hurt, but some of the participants struggled to keep the loaded crossbow steady and upright before firing. The health and safety bods in England would have had a fit if they'd seen such a thing going on back home, but they weren't there and all seemed to have fun!

The staff generally were couteous and bar service was pretty good. There was an extensive cocktail list, but these were all commercially premixed, so not the real deal but probably cheaper as a result.

All in all this family-run hotel tries pretty hard and comes up short on very little. The smoking issue will go away when the Austrians are ready and willing to do something more concrete about it. I would expect a very different guest age mix in the main seasons, which will probably mean more varied entertainment. Although not very close to any of the main ski lifts, there is a skibus stop right outside the hotel, with buses going all the way to the Kaprun Glacier (7km away) if needed. On that subject, we had 2 fantastic days skiing in October which was a real bonus, so worth bearing in mind if you're a ski nut!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DoctorDaft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
1 review
Reviewed May 16, 2010

it was the first time for us in the Alpenblick and everything was outstanding.We loved the local cuisine, the spa area is excellent and the rooms spacious and clean. The hotel offerd free bikes to rent for trips around the lake. The free ski shutlle bus is leaving in front of the hotel and within 2 minutes you are at the ski station.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyburn, North Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2009

Probably the nicest and most helpful hotel staff, from cleaners to owners, you are ever likely to meet. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Bearing in mind that this hotel is used by skiers in the winter the rooms were clean and comfortable. The food was good and there is a good bar and we had good entertainment in the evenings. The lake is a 10 minute stroll from the hotel and the main shopping area is a 30 minute stroll beside the lake (as walked by someone with a heart condition). Do not miss going up to 1400 mtrs on the Areitbahn or sailing on the lake on the MS Schmittenhohe.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oapcameraman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Tirolerhof
Hotel Tirolerhof
#2 of 43 in Zell am See
1,074 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Zell am See
Grand Hotel Zell am See
#9 of 43 in Zell am See
569 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Neue Post
Hotel Neue Post
#5 of 43 in Zell am See
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Seehof
Hotel Seehof
#8 of 43 in Zell am See
331 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Stadt Wien
Hotel Stadt Wien
#1 of 43 in Zell am See
388 reviews
0.3 mi away
MAVIDA Wellnesshotel & Sport Zell am See
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpenblick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpenblick

Property: Hotel Alpenblick
Address: Alte Landesstrasse 6 | 5700 Zell am See, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Zell am See
#8 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zell am See
#11 Luxury Hotel in Zell am See
#11 Spa Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alpenblick 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and HRS so you can book your Hotel Alpenblick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sporthotel Alpenblick Hotel Zell Am See

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing