We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Destinia.com
StayForLong
Booking.com
Priceline
View all 5 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveler rating
75
10
3
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
75
10
3
0
1
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 89 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2014

We booked this hotel as an overnight stop on our way through Austria and loved it so much we tried to book an extra night, sadly they were full. From start to finish we had an excellent experience. The hotel is up a long winding road 5 minutes drive from Zell am See centre. (not a walk for the faint hearted). We booked a family room, which was a suite. Two good size bedrooms, (one double one twin), an open plan living area with sofa, a dining table and a small kitchen (although there was no crockery, cutlery pans etc). A good size shower room with its own sauna. Everything was very modern, and very clean. The views from the balcony over Zell am See and the lake are stunning. The family who run the hotel are very welcoming helpful and efficient.
We had read good reviews on the food so ate in the restaurant. It was real fine dining, beautifully presented, imaginative dishes, well cooked with great service.
Breakfast was equally good, fresh ingredients, rather than the slightly stale buffets some hotels offer. We asked some questions about local activities and not only did they ring up and check details for us they also organised discount cards.
If you are lucky enough to find the hotel and/or restaurant has space I suggest you book it. It is excellent.

Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ChippyJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2014

We stayed over it this hotel on our way to Italy, and decided to dine in the hotel since it is uphill. That proved to be an excellent decision because we were swept away by the quality of the food that was offered. The dishes were excellenty prepared and arranged with great creativity. This restaurant can compete with the best, and it is not overly expensive.

When you visit Zell am See, I recommend you stay at Der Sonnberg, and if anything you should dine there.

Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AriedeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

I travelled with my wife, my to-be two year old son and my parents. Stayed for a night.
WOW!

1/ Drove from Salzburg to Zell Am See. Took a bit of time in reaching the hotel as this one's located right at the top of the hill with fantastic views of Lake Zeller, Zell Am See town and the mountains in the backdrop.

2/ We stayed in the double bedroom Suite No. 6 that offered panoramic views of lake and the mountains from the huge balcony.

3/ The suite/apartment was very well done, very tastefully designed: right from the sofa to the bed to everything.

4/ We were very received by the lady owner - who guided us to the room, ensured we were well settled.

5/ In the evening, post closure of the restaurant, she ensured we got hot pizzas for dinner from the kitchen, which was considerate. She also allowed my wife to cook an Indian dish made of rice for my young son.

6/ The breakfast area is superb, again very well presented. And the breakfast's amazing. I had one of the best scrambled eggs (believe it or not!).

7/ The male owner of the hotel then handed us the KAPRUN CARDS that allows free entry into a lot of rides/cable cars and Lake Zeller cruise. He gave 5 cards with our names on each one of them. We used these cards for Lake Zeller Cruise (Awesome 45 mins) and Kitzsteinhorn Cable Car. Both were free due to the Kaprun Card. He also explained us the location to park our car.

8/ Car park is free next to the hotel and the wi-fi is free with very fast internet speed.

9/ A Sauna Bath was there in the main bathroom - very good.

Overall, our stay was brilliant and I would highly recommend the place to stay if one wants to stay in a quiet location with fabulous service of the owners.

Room tip: we stayed in Suite 6 - its a 2 bed apartment offering panoramic views to the lake, town and picturesque mountains.
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BipulShukla
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Once I started driving up the steep, curvy roads to Der Sonnberg, I knew this hotel would exceed my expectations! I was right! The owners, Gerhard and Martina, were extremely hospitable and knowledgeable of the surrounding area. They were always very friendly and wanted to make sure we felt at home. They even recommended a hotel in Salzburg during the second half of our trip that was excellent as well!

The room we stayed in could almost be classified as an apartment! It was very roomy, had a miniature kitchen and a balcony with fantastic views of the mountains! There was even a sauna within the room which was a very unexpected treat (nothing ends a day quite like a hot sauna)!

The restaurant at the hotel was first-class! The chef was very skilled and our sommelier, Robert, always had a smile on his face and was eager to make our dining experience a memorable one!

When we come back to Zell Am Zee, we will definitely be staying at Der Sonnberg!

Date of stay: May 2014
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank DRKBRENT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

This is 10 suits hotel comes in 1 bedroom suit or 2bedrooms. Private family managing the hotel all of them were friendly and polite and gives rich information about the city. The mother cooks a delicious meals everything tasty and balanced. I loved the clean rooms and huge space of the living room the sauna room in each suite. I need to remark that there is 2 ways take you to the to the hotel . Most of the navigation maps use the undesired way which is difficult for the car to climb . Kindly use the one just after the gas oil station sign boards visible. If you did not see the sign boards thats mean you are on the undesired way.

Date of stay: May 2014
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank uaedoctor1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews