We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth searching for”

Seewirt das Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 107 Restaurants in Zell am See
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $33
Cuisines: Austrian, Deli, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed February 9, 2019 via mobile

Staying in Zell for a week on a skiing trip after a while the food, whilst nutritional and substantial, starts getting a bit samey and dare I say it, a bit bland. So having a bit of spare time on the final day I thought I’d treat the Mrs to a meal with a difference. Out comes the ole’ trip adviser app and voila a restaurant with fabulous reviews regarding quality of food and a reasonable price.
Yes it’s a mile or so out of the town centre, yes on first sighting it doesn’t make you feel the trek was worth the effort. But despite this it was worth more than the long walk and even more.
The Mrs had the truffle soup, which was to die for and for her main meal was some kind of carrot concoction. Doesn’t sound that appealing to me but she assured me it was delicious!
I went for the beef bouillon broth with lamb kidney dumpling and for my main beef, greens and potatoes done with mint, parsley and fennel. Plenty of it as well! Delicious.

Service was top notch and friendly. All in all what else could you ask for?

Make the effort and you won’t be disappointed

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank U123PUandyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 140 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2018

Conveniently located, with easy parking, this restaurant is a real gem. My wife and I have been there several times and have always left hugely impressed by the quality of the food which was served. Excellent value for money. Not a particularly tourist place, and pretty commonplace as regards interior, it is largely popular among locals (like us) who appreciate the chef's commitment to locally resourced and seasonal ingredients.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Franz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2018 via mobile

It's a small restaurant near the lake with fresh homemade staff all is homemade and best quality for a perfect lunch or dinner I really recommend this please for a perfect time.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank pirni32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2018

Restaurant is located on the outskirt of Zell am See, by the lake, so its not a typical tourist place.
Interior is very unimpressive (especially main restaurant room), but when it comes to food- they are the best in city.
We visited twice, both fish and meat were remarkable. I had the best steak in a long, long time.
Service was very pleasant.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Frankyslav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2018 via mobile

Worth taking a small work out from the town along the lake to visit, we have been two times so far and will be going again.

The food is is top notch and better priced than in the town itself. They have some Austrian classics which are wonderful, the stunning beef broth with liver dumpling comes to mind! In addition to this they have some really interesting dishes, the chefs are inventive and really understand flavours, this would all cost a stack more in England. The presentation is amazing and they have a good range of beer and wines.

Try the Austrian boiled beef!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Iain H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seewirt das Restaurant also viewed

Zell am See, Salzburg Region
Zell am See, Salzburg Region
 
Zell am See, Salzburg Region
Zell am See, Salzburg Region
 
Zell am See, Salzburg Region
Zell am See, Salzburg Region
 

Been to Seewirt das Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing