We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant place”
Review of Haus Ashling

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Haus Ashling
Ranked #4 of 63 Zell am See B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newbridge, Ireland
1 review
“Brilliant place”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We were blown away by Haus Ashling. Great location, spotlessly clean, amazing staff and good value, hot tub. Will definitely be back, with more people. Highly recommend it. Zell am See is also fantastic. Niall from Kildare

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NiallRiceNewbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Monaghan
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

I stayed in Haus Ashling in the last week of February. This was my 2nd visit to this B&B and I intend to return in the future for a 3rd time. From the moment I arrived to the moment I left I can honestly say that the hospitality that I received was 1st Class! The proprietors Margaret and Eugene along with their staff could not have done enough for you. They provide a friendly and warm atmosphere and nothing you ask them for was to much trouble. WELL DONE Haus Ashling

Room Tip: Book well in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConnorMeehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic place to stay. If carlsberg did b&bs this would be it. Had a great stay. Eugine there brought me up and showed me how to ride a ski bike. And then organised a stag party for me. I wouldn't think about staying anywhere else in zell next year!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank johnnywicklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We stayed in Haus Ashling on the first week of February this year, a group of 5 in early 30s - three skiiers, two boarders. We had an absolute ball.

The thing that really strikes you about Haus Ashling is the welcome that you get from Eugene, Margaret and Muireann. You feel like you have known them for years within a day. In fact we noticed that a few of the other guests are people who come back to Haus Ashling year after year - I can understand why.
Our room was spacious and clean, with an excellent strong hot shower - so important after the slopes. The breakfast area and common lounge/bar area is lovely - bright and airy and with beautiful views onto the snow and down to the town and lake. It was a joy to ski in in the afternoon, pop off the skis, and loll on the cream leather couches with free tea and cake (or a cheeky beer from the honesty bar and irresistable Irish tayto crisps!) taking in the view and swapping stories of the day with other guests before showering and hitting the apres bars down town or heading for dinner. We also took advantage of their new hot tub - it was such a treat and fit five of us comfortably.
We had never stayed in a ski-in-ski-out before and it was a great experience. Zell, like much of Austria, didn't have the best year for snow this year, and the snow lower down wasn't so plentiful, but still we could pop onto the slope, quick ski down to the city express gondola and then ski home in the afternoon via Blue 1, 2, red 17 and blue 12 or if adventurous, parts of black 11 (which actually isn't that bad). Our group also made a few trips to the Kitzsteinhorn glacier. The first couple of days we had a rental car which made it easy, but the bus service from right beside the city express is very good - about 20 mins on bus, then 15-20 on gondolas to get up to over 3,000 metres. We definitely recommend going at least once to anyone staying in Zell.
Other really great things about H Ashling: Eugene helps all guests with picking up their skis the first day. They have a good arrangement with Intersport, we happened to have chosen Hervis nearby and that was good too (free lockers!). E&Mn are great at helping with figuring out transfers including train and taxi options. The early morning ski out is a privilege not to be missed! Two of us wanted a single day of ski school on day 1 and Margaret had us booked in and we could even pay in H Ashling with zero fuss. Then we just jumped on the city express gondola to the first stop (mittelstation), joined up with the people 'auditioning' for ski school, showed our receipt and away we went! We happened to get instructor Alex (male, early 30s) and he was truly excellent. We felt like ski rock stars by the end of that day!!
Eugene and Margaret know the town really well and have great advice for places to eat and drink. We had a fab traditional Austrian meal in one of the hotels (sorry, forget the name!), a hearty feed and warm welcome in Kupferkessell, we ate in 'zum ceasar' twice - lovely greek/mediterannean which is excellent value and we had great steak and burgers in 'Dien & Mein'. We had to try out the apres too of course and did serious partying in Diele, the Crazy Daisy and enjoyed watching rugby and going to the table quiz in 'a bit of Irish'.
We had a late flight on our last day so we took the opportunity to hop on the bus to Kaprun and check out the 'Tauern spa'. It was 25 euro each to use the pools and relax for a few hours. The outdoor pools are amazing, with stunning views. The food there is really good too and not too pricey. It was certainly worth a trip and could make a nice evening alternative to apres ski for those with tired muscles.
We were first timers to Zell am See and we were really impressed. It is a friendly, beautiful resort with lovely people, a beautiful setting, good slopes - well maintained and good lifts. nice 'extra's like the ski movie and snow parks and of course the glacier within easy reach if you crave higher altitude and very wide slopes (and great off piste too, though I left that to the boarders!). We would really recommend Zell and we hope to be able to return to Haus Ashling - a very special place. You can tell that it is Eugene and Margaret's passion in life to maintain a lovely guesthouse and to offer a special welcome to all of their guests. They deserve every success.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leelaw99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

just stayed here last week.. A lovely place with fabulous views of Zell am See and the lake.
the accommodation is great.. up a steep short slope from the town which gets the heart pumping..i didn't mind it too much as i was thinking about how many calories I could burn off..
the premises are really lovely and very homely with a great living room area and the honesty bar..
lovely outdoor seating area to soak up the sun and drink morning coffee.. and hot tub for those needing some bubbles..
Ski in and ski out was great.. too although the snow was disappearing fast.
our room was fine although there are posher rooms available..
Eugene and Margaret go out of their way to make sure you experience all the great sights and experiences in Zell. The pre breakfast skiing was the best..and seeing Eugene on his ski bike is very funny..
Great location for the weekly ski/boarding jumping too..super snaps..
We also had a half board option which was great..
hope to stay again and will recommend to anyone..

Room Tip: all are good but a couple are more plush
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kazzalewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Just returned from a week staying at Haus Ashling. Wonderful hospitality, Eugene and Margaret were lovely, good fun, very friendly and made us feel at home. Nothing was too much trouble. Mentioned I like Aperol and Eugene had a bottle in the next evening on the honesty bar!
Skis were delivered to the house and picked up at the end of the week.
It is ski in and out which is brilliant.
Lovely continental breakfast and evening meals (we dined in every other night).
A couple of mornings Eugene and Margaret took us out before breakfast on the first lift which meant we had the slopes to ourselves.
Would recommend to anyone and would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

This year we have a number of families traveled to Zell am See for skiing. Our group consisted of 21 people (adults and children), and from day one we are fully pampered by the team of "Haus Ashling" (Eugene , Margret and Merlin)
About the location: literally 2 steps you stand on the ski slopes. Some 50 meters down skiing and you get the gondola lift in to the middle station. From the mid- station ski resort of Zell am See is easily accessible. From the middle station, you can use a black and red piste skiing down, you end up in front of "Haus Ashling" ( tip: when taking the red run, take 12b !)

Facilities :
The skis can you leave out of the house or you can place them in a heated room where you can store your boots so that the next day was dry and warm ready for the next trip.
There is a common room where the morning breakfast is eaten. In this room there are several comfortable sofas and a bar serving all kinds of drinks stand and some snacks. The drinks you write on a list and will be settled at the end of the week .
This principle is called the "honesty bar "
The rooms are spacious , clean and have plenty of closet space. The beds are of excellent quality and were clean and well equipped with linen. The bathroom is spacious, every day I enjoyed the hard shower jets when I took a shower.

Hospitality:
The biggest secret of "Haus Ashling" is the hospitality with which Eugene, Margret and Merlin have surprised us with. It's actually too much to mention. I will mention a few things: arranging renting skis, organizing a trip that you go off in the morning as the first of the groomed slopes, ski lessons for adults and children available a ski bike, etc etc.

Next year we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wwesterhuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tirolerhof
Hotel Tirolerhof
#2 of 43 in Zell am See
1,078 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Stadt Wien
Hotel Stadt Wien
#1 of 43 in Zell am See
388 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Seehof
Hotel Seehof
#8 of 43 in Zell am See
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Zell am See
Grand Hotel Zell am See
#9 of 43 in Zell am See
569 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Salzburgerhof
Hotel Salzburgerhof
#3 of 43 in Zell am See
337 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Neue Post
Hotel Neue Post
#5 of 43 in Zell am See
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haus Ashling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haus Ashling

Property: Haus Ashling
Address: Nikolaus-Gassner-Promenade 4A | via Mozartstrasse, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Zell am See
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Haus Ashling 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only ski out-ski location in Zell am See within 5 minutes walk to the town centre, (others claim it but we deliver it). Haus Ashling has panoramic views of the town, the lake and mountains. Small and friendly Bed &Breakfast owned and operated by Eugene and Margaret from Ireland who offer their personal service to all guests. During the ski season Haus Ashling has an excellent location for ski-ing in and out. 99% of the time the snow is cleared from the road so it is possible to drive all the way to the house. Quiet and peaceful in summer, wake up to the sound of cow bells, ideal for hill-walkers and families. Summer activities include, river rafting, paragliding, mountain biking, road biking, swimming in the lake, sailing, wind-surfing, hill-walking or just relaxing by the lake or one of the many coffee shops or bars in the town. You can also relax on our terrace and enjoy the views of Zell am See. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Haus Ashling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing