We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolutely beautiful location, with exceptional owners.”
Review of Haus Ashling

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Haus Ashling
Ranked #5 of 63 Zell am See B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An absolutely beautiful location, with exceptional owners.”
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Eugene and Margaret made our stay in Zell Am See one to remember. On arrival they greeted us at the train station and gave us a detailed lowdown on the events going on during our stay. They gave us great recommendations on restaurants, activities and bike rental locations.
We are already planning a return visit for the winter or even next summer.
I would certainly recommend a stay at Haus Ashling to anyone who enjoy the outdoors. There are plenty of walks, hikes and cycle paths on your doorstep.
And despite being located part way up a hill, the views from Haus Ashling make it all worthwhile.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sepack25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tampere, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights with our family. What a lovely place and the service is outstanding. View from the balcony towards the lake is astounding. Hotel bar is lovely and the yard very cozy. Location is good at least during the summertime but on winter the road leading up to the house might be tricky (especially after some heavy After-Ski session).

We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wegeliuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 9, 2013

If your looking for a place that youll go back to time and time again... look no further. The welcome you get as you settle into this beautiful "Haus" that you can put your ski's on 8-9m from the front door... its got it all. Eugene is so attentive to his guests and lavishes in showing them the best restaurants and bars. He made this holiday so different - it was like visiting family. The rooms are cleaned daily. the early morning skiing is something you expect if you work on the slope, nevermind being able to be the last person on the mountain because you know you can simply ski home. the skiing was awesome too. i personally like blacks but this place has everything. The glacier in another resort higher up and is about 40min bus but has two board parks and a massive half pipe.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lochlainn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Fantastic holiday made all the more special by the exceptional hospitality we received by all at Haus Ashling.
As a group travelling and coming and going at different times, Margaret and Eugene made the process stress free and uncomplicated. They really go the extra mile to make sure you have a very comfortable stay - providing transport to and from the train station (no matter how early in the morning!) , sorting out and returning ski equipment for us, and showing us the best restaurants in town!
A lovely touch for any Irish guests is all the home comforts, including Barry's tea and Nell's yummy breakfasts!
By the end of the week I felt like I was staying with friends! Will definitely be back again!
Go raibh mile maith agaibh,
Dearbhla

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Dearbhla T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We had a brilliant time in Austria made all the better by Ashling Haus!!!! The B+B in itself is lovely. Exceptionally clean, warm and cosey rooms, fantastic location for coming straight off the slopes in the evening. Not to mention the cream, leather sofas. Add in the Barry's tea and cake provided every evening and its exactly what you need after a hard day on the slopes.
But the highlight has to be Eugene and Nel. They go out of their way to accommodate you and take all the stress out of your holiday so you can get on with having fun. Eugene is your personal guide for the week. He will show you the best slopes, the best restaurants but be warned, his specialist interest is the pubs. Nel is always a friendly face and an egg extraordinaire.
Ive never written a tripadvisor review but this was sincerely deserved. We will definitely be back next year!!!!
PS no matter what anyone says the nudist spa is optional

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Eugene, Margaret and Nell are great hosts and really go the extra distance to ensure your holiday will be perfect. We were a group of 7 who stayed for a week at the start of Feb 2013 and really everything was spot on. Ski in and out is absolutely a fact and in this case u literally take off the skis at the front door.
Thanks again Eugene and Co.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castletownbere, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Eugene sorted all transport from and to the train, picked up and returned our ski's. Rented snow bikes and joined us several times as a guide, be careful you may need a flashlight :-) getting back. Margret was lovely and runs a very clean and well kept house. As for Nell, she's a gem.
Beautiful view over the town and the lake, ski out and back to house. Great heated ski room.
Hill up is a challenge at night, but fun (Ask Eugene)

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tirolerhof
Hotel Tirolerhof
#2 of 43 in Zell am See
1,084 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Seehof
Hotel Seehof
#8 of 43 in Zell am See
331 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Stadt Wien
Hotel Stadt Wien
#1 of 43 in Zell am See
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Zell am See
Grand Hotel Zell am See
#10 of 43 in Zell am See
569 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Neue Post
Hotel Neue Post
#5 of 43 in Zell am See
230 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Salzburgerhof
Hotel Salzburgerhof
#3 of 43 in Zell am See
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haus Ashling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haus Ashling

Property: Haus Ashling
Address: Nikolaus-Gassner-Promenade 4A | via Mozartstrasse, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Zell am See
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Haus Ashling 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only ski out-ski location in Zell am See within 5 minutes walk to the town centre, (others claim it but we deliver it). Haus Ashling has panoramic views of the town, the lake and mountains. Small and friendly Bed &Breakfast owned and operated by Eugene and Margaret from Ireland who offer their personal service to all guests. During the ski season Haus Ashling has an excellent location for ski-ing in and out. 99% of the time the snow is cleared from the road so it is possible to drive all the way to the house. Quiet and peaceful in summer, wake up to the sound of cow bells, ideal for hill-walkers and families. Summer activities include, river rafting, paragliding, mountain biking, road biking, swimming in the lake, sailing, wind-surfing, hill-walking or just relaxing by the lake or one of the many coffee shops or bars in the town. You can also relax on our terrace and enjoy the views of Zell am See. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Haus Ashling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing