We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming!”
Review of Haus Ashling

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Haus Ashling
Ranked #5 of 63 Zell am See B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming!”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Haus Ashling is situated at a vantage point with rooms giving a splendid view of the Zell See...It is only a short walk from the train station and town centre...though last few meters are a steep uphill walk...but that wasn't really a problem for us... (they also offer to pick u up from the station if u desire). The Cityexpress cable car passes right above the hotel. It is located within walking distance of all most attractions, bus station, train station. The owners are a charming Irish couple, the hotel is done up with great taste, the rooms are very comfy...The atmosphere in the hotel is very warm and friendly, I have to mention the Honesty Bar (You help yourself to drinks and just make an entry into the notebook on the counter and leave the money there or pay it with your bill.... Thrs a comfy lounge with interesting repository of books, board games, complimentary tea & cake and more. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here... Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: Once you have made a booking, call them up to reserve a room with a view of the lake as they are lim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EurotravellerApr2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Doha
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

We visited Zell Am See in Sept’11 and stayed at Haus Ashling. There are several positives. Margaret, our friendly hostess, kept in touch with us by e-mail from a week earlier and text-messaged us with her contact details. She picked us up from the train station since we were using public transport and dropped us back on the last day. The views of the lake and the town from Haus Ashling are simply superb as it is perched up high on the hillside. The advantage of this property lies here and also due to the fact that it is away from the noisy railway line which cuts across Zell. The property itself is new and spotlessly clean. There is a lovely bar though we didn’t use it. The breakfast was standard; we did enjoy the freshly baked rolls. On the day we arrived at mid-day, Margaret served us with complimentary tea and cake. Her hospitality was appreciated. She helped us with our itinerary and gave us some worthwhile tips. The beds were quite comfortable and we slept well. On the other hand, the negatives must also be weighed in to give the correct perspective. The climb up to the property is rather steep. So unless you are used to such activity, you should really take it easy, stopping frequently as required to catch your breath. Our room was a triple (we travelled as a couple with our 10 year old child), but it was very tiny and there was hardly place for us to unpack our bags. The bathroom was miniscule. We asked for a different room but were told that for the price that we paid, that is what could be offered else we would have to pay extra, although the hotel was vacant except for us. Room had no telephone or fan, but had a small cupboard and a TV unit. Cutlery is provided when requested and on the last day, we packed our own breakfast since we had to catch the early train. In the end, at about 80€ per night including breakfast, I think it was a great deal!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunkool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

I really enjoyed my stay here. It began with the hotel owners picking us up at the train station, which was a huge help. The room itself was furnished with all new fixtures, furniture, and fluffy blanket. The rooms were clean and sparkling. Plus, it's up a bit from the town center, so not only is there a stunning view, but it's so wonderfully quiet. I slept so well here! In the morning, I enjoyed my tea on the terrace that overlooked the lake. Absolutely memorable. There is a hiking path just past the hotel if you need to work off a piece of Sachertorte. Our room was just large enough for the bed and not much else, if you're bothered by that kind of thing. Probably other rooms are larger. Overall, I recommend staying here!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheAisleSeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2011

This was our 1st skiing hol with young kids and what a great decision to stay in Haus Aisling! Margaret, Eugene & Nell ooze warmth, friendliness and efficiency - from picking us up to sorting our equipment rental and passes. Then when we got to the B & B we were blown away by the views! The location is excellent with a short walk to town and the ski station. The accommodation was spotless, the food always fresh and lots of games for the kids as you'd expect BUT nothing can prepare you for the warmth and home from home feeling, a great mix of young and old sharing stories of events on the slopes. Nell & Margaret are always at hand full of sound advice and recommendations. You won't do better by choosing Haus Aisling - the steep walk up didn't stop our 5 yr old any day. It was recommended to us and surpassed our expectations on all levels

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Una2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2010

Haus Ashling has to be one of the best places we have ever stayed. My husband and I are true ski- aholics and we were recommended this guesthouse by a friend. We took our first trip in January of 2009 and from the word go, straight into holiday mode. We went on a self drive holiday and the minute we got off the plane Eugene was on the phone making sure we were okay to find the place. When we finally arrived in Zell we were greeted by our hosts Margaret and Eugene who kindly took us to the ski hire shop to organise our skis and ski passes for the week and stayed with us until we were sorted. They are both from Ireland so you are guaranteed the friendly "cead mile failte" Irish welcome. We arrived at the guest house and my what a place, after a short ascent up the hill you're greeted by a breathtaking back drop of fabulous slopes. The house is nestled nicely on the side of the ski slope which makes for easy access to the runs. The gondola station is just 100 metres away down a short run from the house. You can literally ski out of the back yard of the guesthouse in the morning down an excellent man made track which makes skiing out on to the main slope perfect. After your day on the slopes you can ski right back to the back door with ease. There is a boot room down stairs where your boots can dry overnight and your skis can be securely stored. This is a meticulously maintained guesthouse. Its rooms are very spacious, spotlessly clean and some boast balconies which have lovely views over Zell am See. Breakfast in the morning is continental with a selection of cereals, fruit juices, homemade bread, preserves, and fresh fruit. An Irish breakfast can be requested the night before for the following morning if you'd prefer.
There is an "Honesty bar" in the guesthouse where you can get yourself a drink when the owners are not around and you write on a notebook what you get. There is a huge lounge area with large cream leather couches where you can chill out and relax and take in the spectacular views of the surrounding mountains and it gives you a chance to mix with the other guests if you feel like it.
During our stay our every need was attended to and nothing was too much trouble.
This guest house in our opinion was quite literally " home away from home".
We find this place so good that we are now back from our third trip there and are really looking forward to our next trip next winter!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Irish_Ski_Addict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2010

We stayed in Ashling Haus June 2010, we had a great time, enjoyed sitting out on our blacony taking in the views ,
Margaret couldnt have been nicer or more helpful, Zell was amazing too , best B&B ever !

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 898dec898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2010

We have just returned from a skiing holiday in Zell am See we stayed in Haus Ashling a highly recommendable B&B. We arrvied to a wonderful irish welcome. The house was like home from home and the hosts Eugene and Margaret were attentive to our every need. We had door step skiing with a wide variety of piste. A must is a visit with Eugene to the local mountain watering hole "Gunthers"!!!!! usually followed by some night skiing. There is a short steep walk down into the town which helps to build up the stamina for skiing. They had pre-booked a fabulous restaurant for all of the guests for New's Years Eve which began with Fireworks at Haus Ashling and ended with a spectular display from the Lake. In the words of my son why would you want to spend New Years Eve at home.!!!! I would highly recommend a trip to Haus Ashling for a skiing holiday.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fionamcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tirolerhof
Hotel Tirolerhof
#2 of 42 in Zell am See
1,117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Stadt Wien
Hotel Stadt Wien
#1 of 42 in Zell am See
394 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Zell am See
Grand Hotel Zell am See
#9 of 42 in Zell am See
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Seehof
Hotel Seehof
#8 of 42 in Zell am See
332 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Neue Post
Hotel Neue Post
#5 of 42 in Zell am See
230 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Traube
Hotel Traube
#20 of 42 in Zell am See
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haus Ashling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haus Ashling

Property: Haus Ashling
Address: Nikolaus-Gassner-Promenade 4A | via Mozartstrasse, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Zell am See
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Haus Ashling 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only ski out-ski location in Zell am See within 5 minutes walk to the town centre, (others claim it but we deliver it). Haus Ashling has panoramic views of the town, the lake and mountains. Small and friendly Bed &Breakfast owned and operated by Eugene and Margaret from Ireland who offer their personal service to all guests. During the ski season Haus Ashling has an excellent location for ski-ing in and out. 99% of the time the snow is cleared from the road so it is possible to drive all the way to the house. Quiet and peaceful in summer, wake up to the sound of cow bells, ideal for hill-walkers and families. Summer activities include, river rafting, paragliding, mountain biking, road biking, swimming in the lake, sailing, wind-surfing, hill-walking or just relaxing by the lake or one of the many coffee shops or bars in the town. You can also relax on our terrace and enjoy the views of Zell am See. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Haus Ashling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing