We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in an even better location.”
Review of Hotel Traube

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Traube
Ranked #23 of 42 Hotels in Zell am See
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2014

My husband, son our friend and myself stayed here in rooms 406 and 407 9th March 14 to 15th.
All I can say is where do I start. As the heading suggests we absoloutely loved the hotel and zell am see is the most fabulous place in Austria that we have stayed in and after 20 yrs plus we have seen a lot of Austria. The hotel was clean and welcoming. Our rooms although smallish had lake views and were very comfortable. The bathroom had a nice sized shower with plenty of hot water.
FOOD:- was plentiful, lots of choices and served with a smile every morning by Anna and her fiance. Breakfast included 6 different cereals, eggs, bacon, croissants, bread rolls different breads for toasting, yoghurts usual continental fayre, different fruit juices including a mineral drink, fresh fruit and fruit salad and best of all you could if you wanted to take it to your room.
The bar downstairs gets really busy but is nice and food is of good quality, just make sure that if you reserve a seat go down early and make sure with Lars the owner that it is actually yours. We were told by staff our table was ready at 9pm then some locals that Lars knew came in and he gave them ours when we asked him why he actually was really rude and told us that we could always give the menu back and go elsewhere!"!! we would have done and even contemplated ordering the food and then just leaving as it came but felt we were getting to his level and the time at this point was 10.10pm . This was the only blip of the holiday and would defo not stop me returning. Very jealous to you people who are going out there now.

Room Tip: Choose higher floor and in the dining room ask to sit where there is a light over your table as it i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 130 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2014

7 of us stayed for a week, age ranging from 28-58. Food was amazing three courses every night and a fondue on the last night. Food including vegetarian option was superb. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Rooms although basic were very clean. Rooms on first floor had been refurbished and were of a higher standard. Hotel in perfect location in the centre of town next to bars, restaurants. Shops. Ski lift and ski hire places a few minutes walk away. Ski areas were also excellent

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanneosborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We went to this hotel with Neilsons for n.year 2014. Would recommend this hotel. Central location. Clean and tidy. The food was excellent, Jamie and Emma who served us made it perfect, very polite and helpful. The only downfall is that you need to request for rooms on the 3rd and 4th floor. As the 1st floor is a bit noisy from the bar below. The walk to the lift was about 10/15. Mins. If you have skis I would recommend to try to get a ski locker or even if its just for the boots, makes it so much easier.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank 19barney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Hotel Traube is a small hotel with a great location in the centre of town. The staff was really friendly and helpful. The room was small but clean and cosy. We stayed there in the summer and had a great time. Nearby are some restaurants and bars, where you can go for a drink or eat.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Midva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Great location, right in the middle of town. Five to ten minute walk up to ski lift. Rooms were basic but clean and warm, along with the showers. The owner isn't the type to smother guest's with pleasantries but was always available for help or advice. Now the best bit, the food. Plentiful and well made. Breakfast was always warm and ingredients fresh, evening meals an absolute delight. I would recommend this hotel for couples and single travellers although there were families with children who seemed to enjoy the hotel.

Room Tip: Try and get one of the apartments on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ian j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed 28.12.2013-4.01.2014. The hotel is located in a very loud place-music, drunk screams and shouts all night long! The street sounds are not heard only with tightly closed window. iIn this case you will sleep in a small room without fresh air (there is no air conditioning)
There is no escape from the music and law-bass "boom-boom-boom" from the hotel"s night bar in the same building.
We asked for other room but since it was a high season, everything was booked. When you can"t normally sleep at night, neither tasty food nor good location matters.

Room Tip: I am not sure if all the rooms are adjacent to the bar with night music. And also which principle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tatiana E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

A really good Hotel in the center of Zell am See with great service, friendly staff and a wonderful restaurant. We stayed In July and had a really great familyroom including a really good breakfast. The room was large with nice interior and a wonderful bathroom.
The Hotel stays close to restaurants, shopping, bus/trainstation and the lake with swimmingarea. You also reach the cabin/lift In a couple of minutes If you want to take a hike around the mountains. We had a really pleasant stay and will return In the winter for some skiing and just having a great time again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria123Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
0.2 mi away
AlpenParks Hotel & Apartment Central Zell am See
0.1 mi away
Hotel Neue Post
Hotel Neue Post
#7 of 42 in Zell am See
255 reviews
0.1 mi away
Feinschmeck
Feinschmeck
#19 of 42 in Zell am See
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel St. Georg
Hotel St. Georg
#14 of 42 in Zell am See
402 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Fischerwirt
Hotel Fischerwirt
#17 of 42 in Zell am See
229 reviews
1.4 mi away
MAVIDA Wellnesshotel & Sport Zell am See
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Traube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Traube

Address: Seegasse 4, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 42 Hotels in Zell am See
Price Range: $123 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Traube 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Traube reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traube Hotel Zell Am See

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing