We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Skiing Holiday Ever”
Review of Living Max Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Living Max Hotel
Ranked #31 of 42 Hotels in Zell am See
Reviewed February 4, 2012

Hotel was brilliant, very trendy bar, with excellent chill out area. Wellness centre is amazing. The Food was excellent. Room was a bit small, but really comfy beds and clean bathroom. Minibus to and from the lift everyday so no walking in ski boots. I would definitely recommend this hotel and I cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 118 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2011

It´s a family hotel with very nice lobby,restaurant and bar. Rooms are half wooden and very nice. Food was FANTASTIC. Congratulations to chef. I travel a lot but I can tell for sure both dinners were the best I have ever tastied. The problem with the hotel was that the rooms were cold due to unexpectef snowing. We tried to persuade the owner and receptionist to put the heat on but she was telling excuses. Finally after complaints half of our group rooms were warm. Kathrin (owner), you have a really nice hotel but whenever a client has a complain you have to listen to them in patience and always smile to them in order to feel comfortable. It is not good to lose patience! It is better solve the problems.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leader T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maga1986, Leiter Front Office at Living Max Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2012
Google Translation

Wir sind die neuen Betreiber des Hotels und freuen uns über die gute Bewertung.
Wir haben in den meisten Zimmern Fussbodenheizung und manchmal ist diese von den abgereisenden Gästen verstellt. Wir entschuldigen uns dafür, aber es ist schnell gelöst wenn wir es wissen. Einfach zur Rezeption kommen und unsere Housekeeping löst das Problem.
Wir haben einen eigenen Hausmeister selbst im Falle von kleinen Reparturen oder technischen Problemen.
Wir freuen uns immer wenn wir Ihren Aufenthalt so angenehme wie möglich gestalten können.
Danke für das Feeback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2010

good to very good hotel, great service and excellent food, very trendy, top wellness and high end bar/lounge. Room are very well kept but smal, bathrooms are clean but basic. rest is toppie

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KRISLONDON100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2010

We stay in Zell am See for 3 days, and everything was great. Yes, the rooms are not so big, but they are very cozy. Spa and restaurant look fabulous and they really are! We travel a lot in Europe and visit many mountain resorts. That`s why I can confirm: this hotel offers luxury service for reasonable price (especcially in low-season).

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moriss6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2010

Recently I have stayed in Austria, Zell Am See Living Max hotel on vacation with my husband and two of our friends. This hotel looked like paradise from their website, with great hotel rooms and tasty dinners. I planned to stay their three nights before moving to Pisburg. I paid for three nights. When I got there I knew I was in trouble just from the outside look. It looked like a third- world shack. We went up to our rooms and the first thing we noticed was the smell. Our two friends are asthmatic and immediately started coughing. The smell was toxic mold, which had been covered up with paint, paintings, decorative cushions on the bed wall, but the smell was impossible to smell. On further examination we noticed dirt, and blood in the bathtub, the sink, and under a pillow on our bed. One bunk bed in the room, the top one, had so little space between our friend and the ceiling, every time he wanted to get out he bumped his head. The shower was transparent, and also the bathroom, so we had nowhere to shower unless our friends went to the hall, the room was so small. We went down to complain, and there were ‘no rooms available.’ They were very rude to us, swore and insulted us, gave us hell, and ruined most of our vacation. They charged us for one more night and refused to translate the bill to us. The dinner was downright awful. This is the worst hotel I have ever been in. Avoid at all costs. Many other reviews about this hotel look fake. Please DO NOT go to this hotel, it is just awful.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank JhonfromUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maga1986, Leiter Front Office at Living Max Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2012

We are the new owners of the Hotel and heart of this complain from the previous Management.
We are deeply sorry that you had such an experience. As we got to know the travellers have been very religious and had special expectations which the Management didnt know nor expect. They tried to sort it out to place the guests in a nearby 4 star Hotel but still the guests have not been satisfied.
So in this case there is no real solution at hands.
In general, if we know if guests have special needs, we are able to sort it out as quickly as possible are can pre-arrange anything up to their expectations.
Many thanks in any case for this feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2010

I stayed in Living Max while on a weekend skiing trip with friends recently. It has been recomemnded highly to us by some friends who stayed there previously and it did not disappoint. Lovely bar & restaurant, great breakfast, super pool & spa area, only 10 mins walk from ski lifts & city centre. I will definitely be back - if Dirk & Katherine will have us!!
Stephen, Dublin

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrystalSwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2010

What a wonderful gem to find in the ski resort of Zell am See. Fantastic facilities and great food. Staff went out of their way to help with any queries. Will definately be staying again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heaton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maga1986, Leiter Front Office at Living Max Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2012

This is actually a standard feedback, which er receive from our guests.
Many thanks for this wonderful comment.

Would ike to have you back any time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
0.2 mi away
Romantik Hotel Zell am See
Romantik Hotel Zell am See
#6 of 42 in Zell am See
391 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tirolerhof
Hotel Tirolerhof
#3 of 42 in Zell am See
1,178 reviews
1.6 mi away
MAVIDA Wellnesshotel & Sport Zell am See
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Neue Post
Hotel Neue Post
#5 of 42 in Zell am See
235 reviews
0.3 mi away
AlpenParks Hotel & Apartment Central Zell am See
0.1 mi away
Seevilla Freiberg
Seevilla Freiberg
#28 of 42 in Zell am See
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Living Max Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Living Max Hotel

Address: Hafnergasse 4, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Zell am See
#24 Luxury Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range: $118 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Living Max Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Living Max Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Living Max

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing