We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous scenic quiet location and good food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of AlpineResort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
AlpineResort
Ranked #31 of 43 Hotels in Zell am See
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous scenic quiet location and good food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Chose this hotel due to Thomson customer feedback and because as it was all-inclusive, family friendly and included Zell/Kaprun Summer Cards giving free access to surrounding amenities.

Travelled as a family (2 adults, 2 children). Arrived at the hotel at lunchtime after an early morning flight. Was disappointed and annoyed to be told that the all-inclusive package did not began until 3pm. We accepted this due to tiredness and hunger and were led to the outside terrace to eat where we were met with stunning views of Schmittenhoe and passing cable cars. It was beautifully quiet, sunny and relaxing and we soon forgot about our initial disappointment. We had a small soup (no bread) and a cake with an apple juice each but more fool us for not asking the price! We were later charged a total of 58 Euros for this lite lunch!! What a rip off! On questioning this at reception, we were told 12 Euros each was the price for a 2 course lunch even though we weren't given a starter and main meal. Plus 10.80 Euros for 4 apple juices. They would not budge - SHAME ON YOU HOTEL SCHWEBEBAHN, all-inclusive is all-inclusive. We have never been to a resort before where we've paid 1000s for all-inclusive to be told it starts a few hours after you arrive!

That said, the rest of the holiday was fab.

Our room was a spacious airy room (junior suite) with a large balcony and fabulous views. There was even a porthole window giving a view of the Sonnenalmbahn cable car climb behind the hotel. The room was quiet at night and serviced everyday as soon as we left for breakfast.

We were given a set table in the restaurant but requested to be moved to a window table which was accommodated after a couple of days. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the maitre d' was fab with the children - entertaining them with his wide knowledge of English tongue twisters and making them laugh.

The food was delicious although there wasn't a wide choice. At breakfast there was the usual continental fare but a lack of croissants, lots of cooked eggs but bacon was scarce. Being all inclusive we were asked daily if we wanted a packed lunch from the breakfast buffet or to eat in the restaurant. We chose to take packed lunches but the cheese/ham rolls did become a little repetitive. Also we chose our evening meal at breakfast from a choice of 3 mains, one of which was vegetarian, which were freshly cooked, served at the table and always delicious. There was plentiful breads and salads and also a soup each evening. Desserts were also gorgeous. Some nights we had a gala dinner where we could help ourselves to a wider selection of food - much like the style of all-inclusive hotels in Minorca, Tenerife, etc. On the whole the food was very tasty but lacked choice for fussy eaters like my son or those who eat little meat like myself.

Each afternoon 4-5pm was afternoon tea on the terrace but there was no choice, we were just served a cake. This said, the cakes were always delicious. I read that children could also have daily ice cream at this time but I never saw any.

We were lucky in that the weather was excellent during our 10 day stay and so we got up early and went out to do one of the many things Zell or surrounding areas had to offer; cable cars, walking, lake trips, hiring bikes, white-water rafting, day trips to Leichtenstein Gorge, Salzburg, Krimml Waterfalls etc. and would return to the hotel for late afternoon for a rest on the sun loungers whilst the kids went in the indoor small pool.

I read that there were activities run by the hotel such as guided walks, trip to a nearby farm etc but I didn't see or hear anything about these and there is so much to do in the area anyway that we didn't need these.

The hotel only has a small bar in the lobby area with a few chairs so if you like a chill in the bar in the evening you would need to head there straight after dinner.

The hotel is a long, steep climb out of Zell (around 2km) on a winding road and takes about 20 mins downhill and 40 mins uphill. Not for the fainthearted! There is a local bus service just a minute from the hotel that runs twice an hour (takes 5 mins) and is fairly cheap if you show your Summer Card. However, this stops just after 6pm so we tended to stay at the hotel in the evenings. Again, I read that the hotel offers a free shuttle bus but guess what? - we never saw this!

On the whole (despite the odd gripes) we had a fantastic holiday in an amazing resort with such a lot to offer. I looked at many other hotels around the resort but would choose ours owing to the wonderful, peaceful setting and tasty food. The kids are already asking to go back next year.

Room Tip: Hotel is surrounded by scenery so a good view should be had from any room. Junior suites are large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stedots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    37
    16
    19
    9
See reviews for
62
41
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

We chose this hotel purely by accident, but couldn't have been more thrilled. Comfortable, friendly and helpful staff. The ski hire place is practically in the basement and the hotel less than a minute walk to the lifts and gondolas and a small cafe/bar. Perfect for families or couples who want a quiet break. Night life or dining out is a short bus/taxi ride into Zell am See. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Not really a package deal kind of guy, but after having to cancel our holiday earlier in the year, had to do a bit of a last minute thing via teletex. Bit worried about booking so used trip advisor to get some ideas.
Hotel was great, really pleased with everything, staff were always helpful. I found that the resort, unlike france was not a place just for brits, so when someone looked confused or seemed a little distant it was often because English was there 3rd or 4th language!
Room was spacious and much bigger than expected, ours had a small balcany which although i could not sit on, i liked standing out on and looking at the snow.
I came armed with a kettle thanks to "ryantalks", so that was good. All rooms had a fridge which had a note on them to say it was for hotel bar stuff only, but none of our stuff was ever moved.
TV only had German channels, which was no real suprise, we were planning on down loading films from love film in resort and plugging them into the TV, but i was unable to down load anything larger than a book, so down load before you go!
Room was regularly cleaned to a very good standard.
It was nice to have a pool, although a little small, its the largest pool i have ever had on a ski holiday (never had a pool before). They also had a Jacuzzi bath, which was just that. Seemed a little odd when another lady climbed into the bath with my wife, but as they say, when in Austria! There is a larger pool in town, but it seems to be a teenager hang out point so no swimming here.
Food was fantastic, only gripe was that after washing clothes, showering amd going to the toilet in mineral water, i was unable to have a jug of tap water on the table and 750ml bottle cost 6 euros. Other than the price of water, beer (3.80 euro) and soft drinks (2.40 euro) were very reasnable and if you think thease are exspensive, please dont go skiing in france!
Nice bar downstairs with WIFI, drinks were a little bit more exspensive but unfortunately people are able to smoke in the bar, like most oher bars, rRestaurents and cafes in Austria.
Location for skiing was great and you could actually ski in and out.
The hotel was 2km to town centre which was a hike, busses did run later than advertised but as i often left my lift pass in my ski jacket i had to walk, was asked to pay 5 euros for a trip from town to resort, no thanks!
On the occasions we did venture into town, often found brits on tour pushing each other over in the streets so was reminded how lucky we were to be up high.
Over all very happy with the stay would highly recomend to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in February 2013. When we checked in the staff were very helpful and all spoke very good English. We then went up to our room which was very spacious and had almost all the facility's you could need, except a kettle which coming from England was quite a problem, although you can buy tea and coffee from the bar. A café latte costs about €2,40. The restaurant alternates between buffet (we had an Italian, barbecue and farmer's buffet) and a 3 course menu which you get to make a choice on what you want at breakfast. The waiters were the best i have ever been served by! Underneath the hotel is a ski locker room which opens up right onto the slopes. The pool is pleasantly large but can be busy at time.If you go to the pool at about 6:10pm it is usually quiet because the kids buffet is on from 6pm to 6:30pm.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryantalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Great hotel with it's location very close to the slopes and lift systems. The rooms have delightful views. They are very clean and comfortable. The staff are smart and very helpful and they smile. The buffet breakfasts are very good and dinner alternates between buffet and choice of three mains. The food was excellent. This is a well looked after hotel where they have put a lot of thought into the comfort of the guests. I would go again any time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chianti1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed at the hotel “Alpine resort – schwebebahn” from 2-2-2013 until 9-2-2013. The location of the hotel is GREAT. You walk out of the door and you are on the ski slopes. Also the ski facilities within the hotel are great. The other facilities (e.g. welness, pool) are on par. Just what you would expect from such a hotel but nothing more. The food (breakfast and diner) were very good. Prices for the drinks a bit to high. The skisnack was poor. Most of the hotel staff is very friendly but not all of them. You can clearly see the differences. I also had the feeling that the objective of the hotel staff is to sell as much drinks as possible. Overall we were very happy with our stay at this hotel but the main reason for this are its location and its ski-facilities.

Room Tip: Don't take a room on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Koenraadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a week of skiing. As it was my first time it was the perfect location as you can ski in and out and the ski Schule and ski hire is basically joined to your hotel via a locker room which is perfect to keep ski equipment in!!! Not even a minutes walk to 3 gondolas and a t-bar lift right outside! Only a 2min walk to bus station and a 5 min bus ride to the town! I went with advanced skiers so while I was on the nursery slopes there was still a lot of skiing for them that the gondalos take you straight to!!

The hotel itself is very warm and staff are very friendly, welcoming and happy to help! The room was clean when we arrived and had the most amazing view of the mountains and slopes with a great balcony!! Was a bit dissappointed that a tv was advertised but couldn't get one single English speaking channel! The cleaners could do a better job as all they seemed to do was fold the duvet, plump the pillow and empty the bin! The meals were lovely - especially the buffet nights!!! Desserts were amazing!! Drinks were slightly over priced and they charge €4 for tap water!!!!!!!!

Would definately recommend this hotel! Had a great time!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Tirolerhof
Hotel Tirolerhof
#1 of 43 in Zell am See
5.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
1.2 mi away
AlpenParks Hotel & Apartment Central Zell am See
1.2 mi away
Hotel Neue Post
Hotel Neue Post
#5 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sporthotel Alpin
Sporthotel Alpin
#22 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Fischerwirt
Hotel Fischerwirt
#17 of 43 in Zell am See
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Berner Zell am See
Hotel Berner Zell am See
#12 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AlpineResort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AlpineResort

Property: AlpineResort
Address: Schmittenstrasse 125, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — AlpineResort 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your AlpineResort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schwebebahn Hotel Zell Am See

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing