We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of AlpineResort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
AlpineResort
Ranked #31 of 43 Hotels in Zell am See
Brampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Great hotel with it's location very close to the slopes and lift systems. The rooms have delightful views. They are very clean and comfortable. The staff are smart and very helpful and they smile. The buffet breakfasts are very good and dinner alternates between buffet and choice of three mains. The food was excellent. This is a well looked after hotel where they have put a lot of thought into the comfort of the guests. I would go again any time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chianti1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    37
    16
    19
    9
See reviews for
62
41
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed at the hotel “Alpine resort – schwebebahn” from 2-2-2013 until 9-2-2013. The location of the hotel is GREAT. You walk out of the door and you are on the ski slopes. Also the ski facilities within the hotel are great. The other facilities (e.g. welness, pool) are on par. Just what you would expect from such a hotel but nothing more. The food (breakfast and diner) were very good. Prices for the drinks a bit to high. The skisnack was poor. Most of the hotel staff is very friendly but not all of them. You can clearly see the differences. I also had the feeling that the objective of the hotel staff is to sell as much drinks as possible. Overall we were very happy with our stay at this hotel but the main reason for this are its location and its ski-facilities.

Room Tip: Don't take a room on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Koenraadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a week of skiing. As it was my first time it was the perfect location as you can ski in and out and the ski Schule and ski hire is basically joined to your hotel via a locker room which is perfect to keep ski equipment in!!! Not even a minutes walk to 3 gondolas and a t-bar lift right outside! Only a 2min walk to bus station and a 5 min bus ride to the town! I went with advanced skiers so while I was on the nursery slopes there was still a lot of skiing for them that the gondalos take you straight to!!

The hotel itself is very warm and staff are very friendly, welcoming and happy to help! The room was clean when we arrived and had the most amazing view of the mountains and slopes with a great balcony!! Was a bit dissappointed that a tv was advertised but couldn't get one single English speaking channel! The cleaners could do a better job as all they seemed to do was fold the duvet, plump the pillow and empty the bin! The meals were lovely - especially the buffet nights!!! Desserts were amazing!! Drinks were slightly over priced and they charge €4 for tap water!!!!!!!!

Would definately recommend this hotel! Had a great time!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

We have just returned from a weeks stay at the Alpine Resort. We travelled with my parents and two boys aged 5 and 7 (with Crystal Ski). It was their first ski holiday and it was very important for me to choose a hotel right on the slopes, next to ski hire shop, ski school (no walking for miles in ski boots, lugging skis) etc and the Alpine Resort ticked all these boxes.

1. In house ski hire shop - quick, helpful and efficient
2. In house ski school - stepped out of hotel onto slope and a skidoo whisks them up the mountain to their lesson. Their ski instructor (Marc) was superb and they loved the lessons with him so much that they were really upset that there was no lesson on the Friday and that they had to ski with mum and dad instead!
3. You can ski back to the hotel, but only using one of the three black runs (which aren't too bad as long as they aren't icy) and the number 12 blue, but you do have a bit of a trek lugging skis up hill.
4. Loved the hotel. Our family room was huge and comfortable. Boys had their own separate sleeping area.
5. Meals were good - mostly buffet and occasionally a choice of main course. Childrens food wasn't great, but you can always ask for a smaller version of the adult meal if it isn't a buffet night. We had a great table, which overlooked the slopes. The boys loved watching the snowploughs doing their job every night!
6. Yes the drinks are expensive, so you need to factor this in to the cost of the holiday. They do have a fridge in each room, so you can store your own drinks. We took our own travel kettle, tea bags etc and helped ourselves to some milk at breakfast and kept in the fridge.
7. Lovely pool (a bit fresh), but you can warm up in the small spa bath. Great views from pool over nursery slopes and black runs.
8. Great for my parents, who were able to sit/stand outside hotel and watch boys ski down the nursery slope.
9. If you are looking for après ski and good night life, the Alpine Resort won't be for you as you need to take the bus into Zell and the last bus back is around 1830!

We had a brilliant week and the boys absolutely loved the ski school - they can't wait to go skiing again! We highly recommend the Schwebbebahn to families with young children, who are skiing for the first time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mumbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed here for a week's skiing and it's great to be able to ski in and out. We had a spacious, clean room with great views of the slopes and lifts. The food was very good especially the dessert buffets. However the drinks were expensive, coffee tiny and they charge for water. A lot of this hotel is definitely upper 4* but other bits are 3* (such as no bin in the bathroom, no tissues, unheated ski room). The swimming pool was very cold, the sauna / steam room is not great, the stairs between the hotel and wellness area can be dangerous when wet, especially with silly leather straps for a handrail, so forget this area if you are not young and fit.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K_Ken_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ninove, Belgium
Level Contributor
175 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

We visited the hotel beginning of April. It's a very nice and comfortable hotel.
The hotel is just near the ski slopes. The hotel also has a swimming pool and sauna. Nice for after-ski.
We had all-in for the price of half board.
Reception: very friendly and helpful.
Rooms: large and comfortable rooms. Also very clean.
Food: every morning and evening: very good.

I would really recommend this hotel.

The only less positive:
- the mattress was not comfortable

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GuyCau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussel, België
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

While the hotel itself is nice, the staff tries everything to annoye you during your stay. How else to explain that you loose your starter when arriving half an hour before the kitchen closes. We could even have lived with it but on other days, there was not enough food to serve all of us. But the worst of all Is the barman who decides when you will have a drink and when you will sleep. Just because he rather focusses on his friends and closes when he wants to sleep not at the closing time.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frederikding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Tirolerhof
Hotel Tirolerhof
#2 of 43 in Zell am See
5.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
1.2 mi away
AlpenParks Hotel & Apartment Central Zell am See
1.2 mi away
Hotel Neue Post
Hotel Neue Post
#5 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sporthotel Alpin
Sporthotel Alpin
#19 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Fischerwirt
Hotel Fischerwirt
#17 of 43 in Zell am See
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Berner Zell am See
Hotel Berner Zell am See
#12 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AlpineResort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AlpineResort

Property: AlpineResort
Address: Schmittenstrasse 125, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — AlpineResort 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your AlpineResort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schwebebahn Hotel Zell Am See

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing