We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Hotel Stadt Wien

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Stadt Wien
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Zell am See
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely week here with fantastic snow. The hotel is well kept and the staff are great, the food is great with lots of variety. Pool area is brilliant after a long day shredding the mountains, I recommend getting out and rolling in the snow and jumping back in!
Would recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    65
    9
    9
    3
See reviews for
208
108
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

this really is a great hotel, we booked with Crystal for £329 last minute..food , great ..huge.. massive selection ..veggies beware lots of meat thou !!...our room was quite small ..not enough hanging pegs for wet gear...thats my only gripe..loved the sauna/pool area...love to go back !!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Harry359gn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

As previous reviewers have mentioned, the staff & service in the Stadt Wien is second to none! The staff are all extremely courteous & welcoming which contributes to the charm of the hotel. Great location, fantastic food - you will never go hungry at meal times! The hotel is closing for refurbishment in March - I hope it doesn't lose any of the existing charm or wonderful staff, but im sure the family Kerbl will ensure that it doesn't & will continue with their attention to detail that makes the hotel such a fantastic place to stay! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClayreT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We have just returned from a fantastic skiing holiday at the Stadt Wien hotel with children aged 13-21, and we all agreed that the location was perfect...close enough to the town centre (5 min walk) but with the ski bus stopping right outside the hotel it was easy to get to the slopes too. The staff and management of the hotel definitely helped in making our stay so enjoyable by their friendliness and eagerness to ensure we were having the best time possible. Service was excellent, as was the quality of food! Our room was spacious, warm and had an endless supply of hot water - although after skiing all day, the heated outdoor pool was a perfect way to relax. The spa facilities were very good too. We would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PMD13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bois Colombes, France
Level Contributor
116 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Stadt Wien for a week last August and had a very pleasant stay!

We were 2 adults and 2 kids (5 and 8 years old) and shared a very large bedroom with balcony facing the garden (room 501 pictured on the web site).

Our kids slept in the pull-out couch which was comfortable and us parents had one double bed. Our room also had a large hallway (which would be very useful to hang coats in Winter I suppose), a big bathroom and separate toilet. Soundproofing was good, there was plenty of closet space, a hairdryer in the bathroom, in-room safe (complimentary) and a cathodic TV set. There were many electrical outlets available throughout the room. Housekeeping was good, if a bit patchy when it came to providing towels for the swimming pool.

The restaurant and food were really to our liking. All meals were always fresh and varied; we had the full board which allowed us to prepare a take-away lunch from the breakfast buffet (which we did most time) or have a light lunch served in the hotel (we did that once; it was good but we felt lonely in the restaurant as we were pretty much the only guests to do that). We also had their delicious cake everyday as a snack (watch for coffee which is charged extra)! Waiters were all really nice and service was professional.

Location was perfect, close enough to the lake (10 minutes by foot) and far away enough from the main street. The hotel garden and grounds were nice for the kids to play and we actually stayed one entire afternoon by the pool and in the garden. I think the grounds could do with a bit of a makeover to make them look more upscale but it was sufficient for our needs. The pool and sauna areas were really nice and well kept & maintained.

Hotel Stadt Wien also offered complimentary parking space and there was an amazing selection of bicycles to chose from, so we took advantage of that on several occasions to ride to the Strandbad near the lake.

Overall we had a very lovely holiday at this hotel and I would recommend it especially for families with kids. It was really good value thanks to our full board package and the complimentary tourist cards for adults & children included in our rate. I also have to commend the main reception lady (tall blond) who was ever so pleasant to our kids and us! The owners were warm and friendly too.

I have a few tiny gripes which should not deter you from chosing that property:
- internet access could be difficult to access during rush hours; also internet access applies to only 1 device (so you may have to log out of your telephone prior to connecting a tablet for example). They extended it on a complimentary basis though so can't complain too much either;
- it was impossible to block the daylight in the room (but this is due to the very nature of the room with cathedral-like ceiling);
- the donkey in the garden could be noisy in the early morning too,
- the restaurant felt a bit "segregated" as there were several dining rooms whereby German-speaking guests were separated from international guests and Arabic-speaking guests (who had "their own" room);
- you could not get tap water in the restaurant without being charged a small amount (1.20€ if I recall). I'm told it's the custom in Austria, so that's okay but I rather leave that money to my waiter everyday.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hotelmgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is a great hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed our week there. The staff and the food were excellent. I am vegetarian and the meals I got were lovely and varied, not the usual mountain of pasta that restaurants normally think I eat.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 657Yorkie29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Just spent five nights here. Really nice hotel with very welcoming & helpful staff. Food was also very good. About a five minute walk to the village centre. Only down side is that it is located on a hill so it may not be for you if walking is a difficulty. Other than that, can highly recommend it!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank YMcGrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tirolerhof
Hotel Tirolerhof
#1 of 43 in Zell am See
1,020 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Salzburgerhof
Hotel Salzburgerhof
#3 of 43 in Zell am See
323 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Zell am See
Grand Hotel Zell am See
#9 of 43 in Zell am See
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Neue Post
Hotel Neue Post
#5 of 43 in Zell am See
226 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Seehof
Hotel Seehof
#8 of 43 in Zell am See
331 reviews
0.4 mi away
Romantik Hotel Zell am See
Romantik Hotel Zell am See
#6 of 43 in Zell am See
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stadt Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stadt Wien

Property: Hotel Stadt Wien
Address: Schmittenstrasse 41, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Zell am See
#2 Spa Hotel in Zell am See
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zell am See
#2 Luxury Hotel in Zell am See
#3 Romantic Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Stadt Wien 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lots of room for lots of vacationAt Hotel Stadt Wien in Zell am See, you will experience nature up close. Both inside and outside the hotel. Enjoy the Salzburg-style hospitality. Uncomplicated, sincere and relaxed.Step inside and feel completely at home from the moment you arrive. Our openness, natural charm and attentive service greet you right there at the reception and accompany you for the rest of your vacation. Natural materials, colors and forms radiate an atmosphere of warmth and seclusion throughout the hotel.The 57 rooms and suites are beautiful furnished for an utterly comfortable stay. Room categories "Zur Ruhe" and "Zum Frohsinn" are suitable for allergy sufferers and feature solid-wood furniture. Discover renewed sources of peace and strength in the Vitality Oasis of Hotel Stadt Wien. An open-air pool provides wonderful refreshment both summer and winter. In contrast, the sauna area will quickly have you working up a true sweat. And when you are ready for total relaxation, our masseuses Anna-Maria and Victoria will be right there at your side.Of course, any relaxing vacation also includes delicious things to eat and drink. These are skillfully conjured up on your plate by head chef Hans and his team. Meals include a nutritious breakfast, afternoon snacks along with a 5-course dinner menu. Aside from self-baked bread and home-cured bacon, cooking here always emphasizes use of regional products. We completely reject the use of any flavor enhancers or ready-made products.Amenities at Hotel Stadt Wien 57 rooms and suites Free WiFi throughout the hotel Hotel bar and lounge area Smoking lounge Free Vitality Oasis Playroom and playground Basement ski storage Free bike rentals Parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, seekda GmbH, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Stadt Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stadt Wien Zell Am See

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing