We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of Hotel Stadt Wien

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Stadt Wien
Ranked #2 of 42 Hotels in Zell am See
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed here for two weeks from the 8 June and had a really lovely holiday. The staff are all so friendly and helpful. The food was excellent, plenty of choice and all to a high standard. It was great to be able to make a packed lunch at breakfast, which we did most days.( saves a few euros!!) We stayed in room 204 which was a good size, with two balconies and a view of the pool and garden, our daughter was in room 201 which was a good sized single, not quite such a nice view though. The pool and spa area was kept lovely and clean, plenty of sunbeds.
We made use of the free bikes, and had some good trips out on them.
Zell is only a 5/10 mins walk down the road and there seemed to be quite a lot of different things happening there. A classic car rally, a Vespa Alps meeting, light show etc.
We didn't want to come home and our trip was finished off with a visit to the hotel cellar with Klaus the owner to enjoy a few glasses of schnapps.
Thanks to all at Stadt Wien.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (410)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 410 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed in this hotel at the beginning of June 2013. All of the staff were all very friendly and very helpful.
The hotel was very clean and tidy. The decor throughout the hotel was lovely and very welcoming. Our room on the (310) on the 3rd floor had a lovely view across the town and onto the lake and mountains. The bed was very comfy and the shower was good too.
There are very good spa facilities and a nice outdoor swimming pool.
The food was always delicious. At breakfast there was a huge selection of cereals, bacon, eggs, bread, rolls, toast, cheese, ham, tea, coffee, fruit juices, cakes and pastries. You can also take a packed lunch from the breakfast food which is great if you are out and about. The food at dinner time was fantastic, something different every night and always delicious.
A super hotel, would love to go back. No complaints at all!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SusieLW1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed this Easter for 7 days when on a Skiing holiday.
We exchanged a number of emails before our arrival and Elizabeth
was very helpful arranging ski hire and passes which was done in the hotel.
The hotel is well located a short walk from the bus stop to the slopes(5 minute ride).

Klaus and his team where very friendly.
We ate at the hotel each evening and the food quality was very good.
Part buffet with main course being chosen from a menu.
The food choice was plentiful and of high standard.
Alcohol was extra and reasonably priced.
As we were a large group we were allocated our own waitress.
She was if I recall correctly Hungarian and a tourism student, she was great,
Always smiling and helpful.
The room was comfortable although the shower was tired it was spotless and had
A great water pressure.
The bar lady, sorry I've forgotten her name was so friendly and helpful.
On our last night Klaus "imprisoned" us in his cellar, plying us with loads of schnapps
and talking with us.
This was a generous gesture and we enjoyed talking with you that night.
Thank you Klaus, Christina and all the staff for making our stay
So comfortable.
NB I have it on good authority from Klaus,that many of the bathrooms are to be upgraded.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Beautifully done throughout and food was excellent. Rooms were clean and nicely done. Bed a bit soft and shower a bit gentle but perfectly usable. Location good, a five or so minute walk downhill to the gondola and ski back to door - providing there's plenty of snow, bit of a rocky path otherwise! Wi-fi a bit unreliable and costs extra, and if you don't have an alcoholic drink with the evening meal, you are charged a €1.10 pp for tap water. The spa was mostly good, outdoor pool could have been a touch warmer!! All the staff were pleasant and friendly but Christine behind reception is the queen of charm! She is absolutely lovely, speaks excellent English and very willing to assist with anything. Would definitely recommend.
P.S. The hotel doesn't have a fitness centre but having clicked and selected the ratings by accident it won't unselect, so I've left it as average.

Room Tip: We booked a small room and got 310 which was smallish but not a bad size for two people and very qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth and Guy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a week from 16 March. Overall this a great hotel. From the moment you walk in and meet Klaus and the team you are made to feel very welcome. This continued throughout the week. The food is very good at both breakfast and dinner. Would definetley recommend the hotel if you are coming to Zell. Also you must play the nail game with Klaus in the bar one night its great fun! :-)

Only point to note is if you do ski later in the season when the lower slopes get unskiable you do have a 5 min walk up the slope back to the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sjhulme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed at the Stadt Wien in March 2013. A family holiday with two boys age 7 and the hotel was perfect for allof us . Klaus and Christina and their staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was excellent - 5 course dinner with excellent salad bar. Our room 401 was very spacious. We all enjoyed the outdoor pool every night after sking. Bus to slopes stops just across the road from the hotel. City Express gondala is only a short walk downhill. We will definately be back.

Room Tip: Room 401 is excellent. Balcony and very quiet. Boys had pullout bed which was spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Liked this place a lot. Clearly a well-run place, with very good service and operations. Rooms were clean and nice. The breakfast buffet was excellent and dinner was consistently good as well. Very handy for skiing since there is a path behind the hotel that you can ski down to. Getting to the slopes is via a walk to tram or the bus.

Only small knock is that the wireless internet was 20 EUR per week and often disconnected. When you pay for internet it should be reliable and easy.

Overall though, -would return for sure.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tirolerhof
Hotel Tirolerhof
#1 of 42 in Zell am See
1,199 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Zell am See
Grand Hotel Zell am See
#11 of 42 in Zell am See
602 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Salzburgerhof
Hotel Salzburgerhof
#3 of 42 in Zell am See
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#7 of 42 in Zell am See
168 reviews
0.3 mi away
Feinschmeck
Feinschmeck
#19 of 42 in Zell am See
132 reviews
0.3 mi away
AlpenParks Hotel & Apartment Central Zell am See
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stadt Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stadt Wien

Address: Schmittenstrasse 41, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Zell am See
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zell am See
#2 Luxury Hotel in Zell am See
#2 Spa Hotel in Zell am See
#3 Romantic Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range: $203 - $442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Stadt Wien 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lots of room for lots of vacationAt Hotel Stadt Wien in Zell am See, you will experience nature up close. Both inside and outside the hotel. Enjoy the Salzburg-style hospitality. Uncomplicated, sincere and relaxed.Step inside and feel completely at home from the moment you arrive. Our openness, natural charm and attentive service greet you right there at the reception and accompany you for the rest of your vacation. Natural materials, colors and forms radiate an atmosphere of warmth and seclusion throughout the hotel.The 57 rooms and suites are beautiful furnished for an utterly comfortable stay. Room categories "Zur Ruhe" and "Zum Frohsinn" are suitable for allergy sufferers and feature solid-wood furniture. Discover renewed sources of peace and strength in the Vitality Oasis of Hotel Stadt Wien. An open-air pool provides wonderful refreshment both summer and winter. In contrast, the sauna area will quickly have you working up a true sweat. And when you are ready for total relaxation, our masseuses Anna-Maria and Victoria will be right there at your side.Of course, any relaxing vacation also includes delicious things to eat and drink. These are skillfully conjured up on your plate by head chef Hans and his team. Meals include a nutritious breakfast, afternoon snacks along with a 5-course dinner menu. Aside from self-baked bread and home-cured bacon, cooking here always emphasizes use of regional products. We completely reject the use of any flavor enhancers or ready-made products.Amenities at Hotel Stadt Wien 57 rooms and suites Free WiFi throughout the hotel Hotel bar and lounge area Smoking lounge Free Vitality Oasis Playroom and playground Basement ski storage Free bike rentals Parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, seekda GmbH, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Stadt Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stadt Wien Zell Am See

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing