We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A super hotel with great food (including for vegetarians)”
Review of Hotel zum Hirschen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel zum Hirschen
Ranked #15 of 43 Hotels in Zell am See
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A super hotel with great food (including for vegetarians)”
Reviewed February 2, 2011

This is a super hotel with very friendly and helpful staff who provide excellent service. The hotel is very comfortable and feels very welcoming. The food was excellent and included the most impressive vegetarian food that we have encountered in any hotel that we have used in Europe. We were rather surprised to read the negative comments about vegetarian food in a previous report as this was completely different to our experiences.

The après ski bar located outside the hotel during the late afternoon is very popular and seemed to attract many regulars enjoying the relaxed atmosphere. Certainly we found this a great way to round off a day's skiing.

The hotel is well located (albeit bordering the main road through the town) and handy for the ski lift, bus station and the town centre. The owner of the hotel was very friendly and always seemed to be around and keeping an eye on what was happening.

We had a fantastic holiday at Zell am See and are hoping to return next year. If we do we shall certainly be looking to book in at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CW88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    65
    23
    10
    7
See reviews for
64
66
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2011

What a fabulouse trip - we have just returned from a week at the Zum Herschen Hotel Zell am See - I cannot fault this hotel - the rooms, cleanliness and frendly atmosphere was second to none - and as for the food !!! well it was absolutely brilliant, 5 course dinner each night which was a "fine dining" experience - fantastic choice at breakfast too and the service was very good. In fact it was a perfect trip all round - just a couple of hundred yards to the gondola to brilliant slopes for all levels - good value restaurants on the mountain - apre ski was the best in fact I think this was the best skiing trip we have had in a few years , and the hotel definately made it for us. Pool and sauna great after a hard day skiing. We will definately go back and recommend it to friends. Travel from Salzburg is about an hour and half - and if you fancy a trip to Salzburg to break up your week - if there is a party of you (2 - 5 people) try the Enfach-Raus ticket which is a day pass on the trains covers all of you for only 28 euros which is a fantastic saving. There was 4 of us so for only 7 euros each we had a day at Salzburg which was a really nice break in the week.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryChristmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 29, 2011

This is the first time I have been to austria,and it certainly will not be my last!

After landing in Salzburg late morning, we arrived at Zell am See just an hour and a half later. The Ighams rep on the cozch was very helpful, issuing the lift passes on the coach and helping with any other queries we had.

The hotel reception was very welcoming and homely. On arrival we were greeted by the hotel and families pet labrador Hannah, the most dorsile and adorable dog I have ever come across! shes lovely! we were giving a welcome pack wrapped with gold ribbon (this was a lovely touch), containing piste maps, townmaps,the evening menu etc.

On the first night, we were given just one option for our main course, of the 5 course meal but every other evening we were given a fish, meat or vegetarian option, all of which were of a very high standard. The starters were small but perfectly presented in a michelin star style, then came soup, then there was a salad bar, followed by main course and dessert. (I highly recommentd the apple strudel!!)

The room were spotless, with the bedlinen and towels changed, bath and shower cleaned and carpet hoovered etc daily. Housekeeping was impecable (although theres no 'Do not Disturb' signs)

Every evening, we went to the Gin House which is under the hotel. It is a small atmospheric club, suitable to sit with groups of friends or as a couple. The Bar Staff and owners are exceptional, and cant do enough for you. You can open a tab, or pay per drink, cash only. The cocktails they make are out of this world, an th way that they make them is ven more impressive! juggling icecubes, glasses, shakers and bottles! it was mesmorising to watch!!

Going to the Zell am See balloon festival is also a must if you go in january!

This is by far the best holiday ive had! (save the visibility on the mountain the second day)
I can also see how this resort and hotel would suit ramblers and more summer activity holiday makers, aswell as those with a love of fine food and wine.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank metallena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2010

I booked this hotel with Inghams ireland. When our plane arrived late in Salzburg and it was apparent that we would miss dinner in our hotel, our tour guide told us that there would be a 'cold plate' left in our room. The 'cold plate' was exactly that, a plate with cold meats on it, a bread roll each and nothing else. Drinks were to be found in the minibar..at a charge.... What good saving for Inghams and the hotel.Had we arrived on time we would have had a four course meal but we were penalised for being late. I would have thought the hotel could have at least supplied soft drinks and some sort of dessert, after all, we had paid for 7 evening meals. Rooms were of the four star variety but on those evenings when we needed our windows open there was noise on the streets below, loud enough to wake us.Overall food was of the typical Austrian four star variety which would compare favourably to many a gourmet restaurant here in Ireland. I felt that the breakfast buffet was a bit 'skimpy', i would have liked a better variety of breads( have stayed in other fourstar hotels in Austria where this was the case) and as in most austrian hotels they do not serve marmalade. There was no hot food offered at breakfast, however on about the third day we noticed a man at the next table eating scrambled eggs. We enquired and were told that , yes, we could request an omlette or scrambled eggs. We felt that this should have been obvious from the start.
The hotel interior was very clean but I thought that it needs a bit of a revamp, i.e. repainting and removal of the plastic flower arrangements at regular intervals on the stairwell. The pictures on the walls were a bit generic( boring etchings of 'old' Zell) and tired looking. We dined each evening in a wonderful section of the restaurant, probably the oldest part and therefore the most atmospheric. I noticed that there were several less desirable areas in the restaurant where one would feel uncomfortable due to the constant passing diners, to and from the morning buffet.
There is a tiny spa area in the hotel where if there were four people using it, there would be a crowd. This is unfortunate and not in line with many other larger, state of the art spas in other four star hotels in Austria. We used it one day but were not attracted back.
Blcycles can be used gratis in this hotel which is a big plus. The outdoor cafe is excellent for service, comfort , food and people watching (as it is on the main drag).
Cycle paths are excellent in Austria and in particular around Zell, the Tauernradweg in particular. Championship golf course is nearby and hotel guests get a 20% reduction (44 euro each for 18holes). A staff member will deliver and collect you for free. The golf club serves wonderful food. Overall I would not be in a hurry back to this hotel as I know that there are many more four star hotels offering a quieter location, better food, better spa facilities and better attention to detail.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DublinClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2010

I stayed in this hotel 4 nights, the hotel offers high services, excellent in cuisine, friendly and helpful staff, being ready to help you with everything, smiling, still check if their guests are satisfied ....rooms are nice and spacy, very clean and lovely bathroom. If travelled next time, certainly will book this hotel again. All the staff deserve great thanks for being kind and taking care for their guests.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MirkaPrague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2010

Lovely hotel and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewCM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2010

After reading the hotel literature before booking I was looking forward to this stay and after a couple of days I was dissapointed with this hotel. My reasons are:
1. Very poor alternative to meat at restaurant. Vegetarian option was an omlette. Pathetic in this day and age.
2. Poor service at restaurant - we waited around 40mins for each course, with no apology.
3. The hot water supply was empty to make drinks at breakfast on three occasions. Poor self service facilities.
4. There seemed to be nobody in charge checking any standards throught our stay.
5. A few errors with payments at the bar.
6. Changing tables for meals at restaruant which was confusing to guests.
They seemed to be cramming in business with other passing trade rather than concentrating on maintaining standards for existing guests. On a positive note, hotel cleanliness was good.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tirolerhof
Hotel Tirolerhof
#1 of 43 in Zell am See
5.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Zell am See
Grand Hotel Zell am See
#9 of 43 in Zell am See
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Seehof
Hotel Seehof
#8 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Salzburgerhof
Hotel Salzburgerhof
#3 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Zell am See
Romantik Hotel Zell am See
#7 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lebzelter
Hotel Lebzelter
#11 of 43 in Zell am See
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel zum Hirschen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel zum Hirschen

Property: Hotel zum Hirschen
Address: Dreifaltigkeitsgasse 1, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Zell am See
#12 Spa Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel zum Hirschen 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel zum Hirschen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zum Hirschen Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing