We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel zum Hirschen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel zum Hirschen
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Zell am See
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A real treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

Recommened by friends who occsaionally dine there, this comfortable and accessible hotel was not only welcoming and friendly but the deal they offered us for B&B and the most wonderful dinners was superb. Our clean and spacious room was out of wi-fi range but we update ourselves in the large and under-used lounge.
Unfortunately a dodgy inner tube thwarted a fine day out on the hotel bikes...but we weren't charged for them and staff apologised and the scenery for the walk back helped it pass more quickly.
A great place for summer walking- but some careful planning may be wise as not all the ski-lift lines operate throughout the year.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smsfirecracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    64
    22
    9
    7
See reviews for
62
66
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

I am currently spending a week in Zell am See with my wife. We found this hotel on the Internet and after considerable comparison to others (the usual approach) this one won for it's combination of price, location and amenities. We have not been disappointed. The hotel is right next to the pedestrianised centre of town and only a 3 minute walk from the lake. The main bus terminal is again, 2 mins max. The hotel decor is traditional though modern, very clean, airy and light. The room we have has a balcony, is plenty big enough and the bathroom of excellent standard. it provides wireless Internet within the charge (I'm using it now).

There is a good choice on the breakfast buffet (though not extensive) and should you have dinner here, the food is out of this world! (see separate review under restaurant, it is highly recommended).

On the lower floor there is a small pool, two saunas and a relaxing area which is a lovely place to unwind for an hour or so. The hotel also provides bicycles for hire which we have used already. They re of a good standard and we're well maintained.

If there are areas of concern (and trust me these will be small) it is that on Saturday you hear the noise from the party revellers outside late into the night/next morning, which to be honest you should expect being in the centre of town. Additionally, there is a resident dog quite young and very quiet) so if you are definitely not an animal lover this could be concern.

In summary, this hotel offers a lot for the price you pay and delivers on all fronts. It has a relaxed and friendly approach, as demonstrated by all the staff. The dinner is definitely the jewel in the crown and if you don't sty here you must eat here! A strong contender for a repeat visit (we've never stayed in the sae hotel more than once) which demonstrates it's worthy 4 out of five.

Room Tip: For those who sleep lightly, request a second floor away from the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeHaycock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

Great hotel in the center of town.
You don't miss a thing.
5min walk from the amazing lake.
Breakfast was really nice and tasty.
Ask for the highest floor to get an amazing view!
Enjoy

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

My Husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon - 17 years late - but worth it. The hotel is wonderful and the vast breakfast (freshly homebaked cakes and breads; meats cheeses cereals and fruit juices) and 5 course dinners were outstanding. The staff were so attentive inparticular - Chubby- our waiter.The small swimmingpool is perfectly good enough to unwind in after a days skiing.
The hotel is situated in the town centre and handy for everything and Zell is beautiful and friendly.We love it so much that we have been 4 times, staying twice at Zum Hirschen ,once at the Berner and once at Romantik Hotel.All 3 hotels are stunning but we are going back to Zum Hirschen in Feb 13 for the excellent food

Room Tip: we travelled with Inghams and paid the extra for a room with balcony - somewhere to hang out husband...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skinut b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fife
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

We travelled on 24th March with Inghams which we were informed was one of the quietest weeks in the skiing calander with our 12 year old son. Upon arrival we received a warm and genuine welcome from the staff who all spoke perfect English.

We had a family room with balcony which had been refurbished to a high standard with a bath, separate shower, separate WC and with sliding doors to an adjoining bedroom. Rooms had mini bar, hairdryer and TV in each of the rooms.

The hotel is ideally situated with the Intersport Ski Hire shop only a few minutes walk away where again we received attentive staff and a high standard of equipment. The hotel is 100yds from the bus depot where you can travel to Kaprun (35 mins journey) or to Salzburg.

On our first night we sampled their house wine which was very smooth and reasonably priced. Dinner was simply fantastic. Beautifully cooked and exceptionally well presented. You order your evening meal from a choice of three dishes at breakfast and includes a vegatarian option. At no time did we experience any frozen foods as mentioned in a previous review. We have never eaten so well and even our son tried most of the dishes including Quail. Breakfast consists of bacon and eggs, cold meats and cheeses, lovely breads, toast, pastries, yoghurts and omlettes on request.

The hotel has a small pool and sauna which we didn't use so we cannot comment. It also has a boot room downstairs and Wi Fi is free.

To conclude this hotel is ideally situated aswell as having first class staff and cuisine and is well deserving of its Gault Maillau award. Our congraulations go to all the staff who made our stay so memorable. Thanks also to the Inghams rep Luckas and other members of staff who were equally helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrishann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

Just back from a week skiing, and really appreciated the convenient location of the hotel to all the ski services. The bus to the Kitzsteinhorn glacier area goes from the bus stop 50m across the road, and there's a 250 m walk with your skis to the City express gondola station if you want to ski the Schmitten area. Boot and ski storage area in the hotel is a bit cramped, but perfectly OK, and there are lots of hire / retail outlets if you didn't bring your own gear.
Hotel services and hospitality were first class, there's a little pool, sauna and spa area downstairs if you have an afternoon to kill, as we did, when it was snowing and poor visibility. Food is OK, but not great, and certainly not as the hotel adverts would suggest. They make far too much use of frozen ingredients, which gives little flavour to many of the meals. And a lot of the food did tend to be far too heavily salted for our taste.
Our room was very spacious and comfortable, but then we did review Trip Advisor comments before booking and paid extra for a superior room on the third floor with a balcony, which was fabulous to sit on in the afternoon after coming in from skiing, it faced south so caught the sun and the 18 /19 degC temps that we had all week. Being on the third floor also kept us some way from the noise in the street below from the late night drinking and partying activity. ( Mostly at Sat night from the weekend skiing brigade)
Hospitality, service and welcome are first class, and easy to get to from Salzburg.

Room Tip: Pay extra for superior room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weenieScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

Just got back; excellent hotel with very friendly and helpfull staff. Hotel is ideally situated in the middle of town. We had a wonderfull time

Room Tip: We were 4 adults and two kids. We took two junior suiteds which are bigger and have an extra bed for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kratig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tirolerhof
Hotel Tirolerhof
#1 of 43 in Zell am See
5.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Zell am See
Grand Hotel Zell am See
#9 of 43 in Zell am See
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Seehof
Hotel Seehof
#8 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Salzburgerhof
Hotel Salzburgerhof
#3 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Zell am See
Romantik Hotel Zell am See
#7 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lebzelter
Hotel Lebzelter
#10 of 43 in Zell am See
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel zum Hirschen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel zum Hirschen

Property: Hotel zum Hirschen
Address: Dreifaltigkeitsgasse 1, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Zell am See
#11 Spa Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel zum Hirschen 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel zum Hirschen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zum Hirschen Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing