We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An almost perfect experience”
Review of Hotel Heitzmann

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Heitzmann
Ranked #9 of 63 Zell am See B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An almost perfect experience”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Having arrived during the evening mealtime, we were quickly checked into our room so that we could make it back into the dining room in time for dinner. The room was spacious, comfortable, clean and well furnished. The bathroom was well-equipped, and although there are notices saying that towels will be changed on request, we found they were changed daily. The staff throughout the hotel were helpful and courteous, particularly in the restaurant. The meals were of a high standard, and there was always a vegetarian choice on the menu. At night time, because of the proximity of the main road, when sleeping with the window open, traffic noise was a disturbance.The only unfortunate issue was that of the smoke which drifted out from the bar. To those of us who cannot tolerate smoke, for medical reasons or otherwise, this was the only downside of what would have been an almost perfect hotel stay.

Room Tip: Rooms are all individually decorated. Beware of traffic noise from the main road if you like to have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IngridNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    61
    16
    9
    4
See reviews for
57
57
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

A weeks ski holiday, first time ski austria, hotel was of a high standard, food excellent, great choice, staff very friendly and helpful, room very comfordable, great shower, safe in room, no extra charge. warm storage for boots and ski's. The restaurant had a good choice of breakfast fare and the evening meal was excellent. The service from the staff was faultless.
The big failure was the bar and lounge , smoking!!, being a non smoker it became a no go area, during the evening the smell even spread up the stairs to the halls leading to bedrooms. If one returned early from skiing in the afternoon and wanted to sit and relax in the bar area and perhaps have a drink, the bar staff and other staff members would light up, time to leave.
I had heard that bars in Austria had a smoking problem, only one non-smoking bar in Zell, but expected the hotel to be non-smoking.Wrong!
Could have been a great hotel? Will not be returning.

Room Tip: with windows open can be very noisy, by main road through town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank btto2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Hotel Heitzmann is situated bang in the middle of the wonderful town and ski-resort of Zell am See. It is very comfortably furnished, homely yet modern, very good half-board menu and friendly, helpful staff.

Having got out of Salzburg airport and onto the 1hr 20min transfer to Zell am See, we arrived at Heitzmann travel weary and hungry. Walking into reception we were immediately comforted by the warm and friendly atmosphere, the clean well-maintained decor.

We were greeted by the owner-manager - Rudi, who took personal charge over explaining everything we needed to know about the hotel and resort. We were given our keys and invited to come back down for dinner (it was 20:30 local time).

The room had a comfortable bed, good bathroom, storage, safe and warm - in fact the entire hotel was always warm despite the freezing outside temperatures. The hotel comprises of separate restaurant, bar, private dining area/function room, air-conditioned basement ski/boot locker and sauna/steam room.

Breakfast and dinner are served in-between very accommodating times. The breakfast is usual European fare including, cooked meats, cheeses, bread rolls, fruits, fruit-salad, cereals, juices, etc. plus the provision of cooked to order omelette which is prepared in full view from the restaurant. Without fail, almost as soon as the seat was warm, we were asked what we'd like to drink. To improve efficiency, guests are invited to choose their choice for the evening meal during breakfast - dinner is four/five-course usually consisting of entree, soup, salad, main (of your choice) and a desert. Drinks are paid-for extras. Both breakfast and dinner was always fresh, well prepared and good to eat - the only course that was not always in line with my tastes was pudding.

Left feeling very happy and content planning a return visit - we left them a generous tip at the end of our stay. 9.9/10

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jam_JB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My family and I went to Zell am See over the christmas period, the rooms are very clean and everything is of a high quality. The food is superb, wonderful variety and execution of dishes. Throughout our stay it became ever more apparent how personal the hotel is, the staff become like family, and no other hotel i've stayed in has tried so hard to help out any requests you have..
Rudi (and his staff) are very warming and considerate. Not to mention that it's 2 minutes from the ski lift (City Xpress.) I would stay no where else.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Arrived for a friends wedding in August, upon arrival initially noticed how pleasant the staff seemed to be, this actually continued and got even better throughout the week, leaving on first name terms with the majority of the staff. Each room was totally individual, all with its own unique charm and appeal. The food was absolutely stunning, with great diversity in the menu, leading you to try (and enjoy) things you usually would skirt around. It was a really memorable holiday, and a brilliant wedding we attended in such a beautiful location. Only slight downside was the lack of aircon In the rooms p, which lead to a slightly noisy room having to leave the window ajar. We did mention it and the hotel did provide fans the night after... Overall brill, would return without a doubt.

Room Tip: Definitely try to get a room with a bath, and on the rear of the hotel as it is a bit quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We were married in Zell am See on 9th August 2012 our accomadation and wedding was organised by Hotel Heitzmann.

We were a party of 20 adults and 4 children with an age range of 2 to 78. Each one of us thouroughly enjoyed our stay and were so sad to leave.

Our wedding was arranged down to the finest detail with absolute professionalism and care by Rudi and Miriam. Nothing was too much to ask and they made sure everything was perfect for us.

The hotel is spotless and decorated with beautiful handpainted murals making it quirky and individual. Each room has its own individual style and decoration.
It is located in the heart of Zell am See which is perfect for popping out for a coffee or a wander down to the lake. Everything is right on the doorstep.

The food is absolutely beautiful, it is what you would expect from a very expensive award winning restraunt and it is served by lovely staff making it even more enjoyable.

I have now come back down to earth after a fabulous summer and I can honestly say that I am really missing the hotel and the staff and we will deffinately be returning for years to come.

If you are considering a wedding in one of the most beautiful locations I would highly reccomend Hotel Heitzmann.

Room Tip: As the hotel is in an ideal central location this brings with it traffic noise. Ask for rooms at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesolo, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

The room was not as in the pictures.
There is not parking.
There is not the remote control for the television.
The towels are small.
The breakfast is poor.
The hotel is not a four star.
The international requirements for a four star is very clear and travelers know very well it.
The Hotel Heitzmann at Zell Am See, is more o less three star.
If you want to stay in this hotel .......... good luck

Room Tip: If you want to stay in this hotel .......... good luck
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank giorgioforzato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tirolerhof
Hotel Tirolerhof
#2 of 43 in Zell am See
1,087 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Zell am See
Grand Hotel Zell am See
#9 of 43 in Zell am See
569 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Neue Post
Hotel Neue Post
#5 of 43 in Zell am See
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Seehof
Hotel Seehof
#8 of 43 in Zell am See
331 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Stadt Wien
Hotel Stadt Wien
#1 of 43 in Zell am See
389 reviews
0.1 mi away
Feinschmeck
Feinschmeck
#18 of 43 in Zell am See
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Heitzmann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Heitzmann

Property: Hotel Heitzmann
Address: Weissgerbergasse 1, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Zell am See
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Heitzmann 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Heitzmann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing