We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Christmas Experience”
Review of Hotel Tirolerhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Tirolerhof
Ranked #2 of 42 Hotels in Zell am See
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Christmas Experience”
Reviewed January 8, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for a week over the Christmas period. We spent Christmas there four years ago and couldn't wait to return.

Frau Winter, who has worked on Reception for many years, greeted us warmly and remembered us from our previous visit. After we had checked in we were invited to enjoy a welcome drink of sparkling wine which is laid out in the Reception area.

We stayed in a junior suite on the top floor of the hotel. This was very spacious and comfortable and consisted of a combined living and sleeping area, a large bathroom and a separate toilet with washbasin. Bathrobes were provided and also a basket of six towels (replenished daily) to use in the spa.

Service at the hotel was impeccable from start to finish. Herr and Frau Posch, the friendly owners, are always in evidence to ensure the smooth and efficient running of their establishment.

The bar, lounge areas and conservatory and are open plan and are all very comfortable and beautifully furnished.

Mealtimes were an absolute pleasure. The breakfast buffet was extensive and a chef was always on hand to prepare hot food. For evening meals there was generally a choice for each course and these were selected at breakfast time. Our waitress always asked us if we were happy with the menu because the kitchen staff are willing to provide an alternative should the need arise.

We are non-skiers and enjoyed using the extensive spa facilities each day. Despite being there during Christmas week when the hotel was full they were well used but never over- busy and it was always a very relaxing experience. A few days before we arrived an additional spa had been opened on the top floor of the hotel offering extra facilities and an even wider range of treatments than before.

The hotel has a very good website, which is well worth visiting.

The week passed all too quickly, but we certainly hope to return in the future.

  • Liked — Food, comfort, service and facilities
  • Disliked — I have no complaints at all about the accommodation
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Eurojade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    907
    165
    40
    13
    5
See reviews for
252
651
28
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level 6 Contributor
694 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2009

Stayed at Hotel Tirolerhof over Christmas. The hotel is very nice, although the lay-out is a bit like a rabbit's warren--certain elevators only go to certain floors, then you cut through the dining room to get here, then you take these stairs to get to the other part of the hotel...you get the idea.
Our room was great, with a balcony and great view of the mountains and the cute town below. And spa facilities are fantastic, but be warned, they are pricey!
The morning breakfast buffet is, I must admit, like nothing I'd ever seen, with every type of breakfast and brunch food you could want. I was never hungry at my usual lunchtime! The evening meal was another matter--not sure if the food is extremely traditional or what, but I found the Christmas options of breast of duck or ravioli in tomato sauce to be unusual choices. As I don't eat duck, I was expecting something more special than ravioli for Christmas dinner! One night boiled beef was on the menu--yuck, I don't even eat boiled beef at home! Disgusting!
Can't comment on ski facilities there, as not a skier. Would not have stayed here otherwise, we went here to meet up with family for the holiday. At approx $400 a night, nice for a brief splurge if you are in the area, but otherwise.......
I would recommend, but only if someone is looking for a splurge.

  • Liked — everything is done right, but way overpriced
  • Disliked — too expensive for what it is
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1AnnieEliza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matera, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2009

Very efficiently run hotel. Rooms are a good size and very clean, with modern facilities. We stayed in a Junior Suite with a balcony which had a great view up to the mountains. Our bathroom had both a lovely rain shower and a bath; radio in the bathroom; plenty of space for toiletries. The chambre maid could not be faulted - the room was spotless everyday and fresh sauna towels supplied in your own basket which you carry down to the spa area.

The breakfast was plentiful, with an assortment of breads; cereals; hot and cold drinks and a chef available to cook omelets of your choice. Our waitress was very attentive throughout our 2 week stay. Every evening meal was a choice of starter; soup; main and desert, often with the option of a salad buffet too. The food was well presented and menus well thought out with a daily wine recommendation in addition to the extensive wine list. Be warned - wine in Austria is NOT cheap. Best to opt for the house carafe - much cheaper and not bad. Only critism I would have of the restaurant is not being able to have tap water on the table - you had to order bottled water at a price of €4,50 per bottle which we felt was excessive.

The sauna area is lovely, with a choice of 1 sauna and 3 steam rooms at differing temperatures. Our time in there was occassionally spoilt by certain groups who did not respect the Austrian custom of no bathing costumes in the saunas (despite the signage and notification in the rooms). There were 2 relaxation areas. A quiet garden room where one could read/sleep on water beds or the ceramic beds in the sauna area where you could cool off.

There is a bar on the ground floor, but this wasn't particularly lively, but there are a few bars in the town if you are looking for a bit more "life".

Ideally located for the ski area. The hotel provide a shuttle service to the gondola, although it is only a 5 min walk. There is a ski room in the basement, but lockers can also be reserved at the gondola if you don't fancy carrying your skies back to the hotel every day.

Afternoon coffee and cakes are served in the bar, but be warned - they do charge for this! We were rather surprised at being charged, since most 4 star ski hotels provide coffee and cakes from 4pm onwards free of charge for when you return from the slopes.

The hotel also has a new Spa area which is extremely modern and offers a variety of treatments. We did find this expensive though, although Katrina gave excellent sports massages.

On the whole, a very good hotel which I would recommend and definitely return to again.

  • Liked — Food and cleanliness
  • Disliked — The bar staff
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank EstherHooley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2008

my wife and i spent a week at the tirolerhof hotel zell am see in september 2008 .it is without a doubt the best hotel that we have stayed in.one could not find fault with this hotel, everything about it is so well organised.the food , cleanliness etc is second to none. the staff were all very friendly , helpful and certainly extremely efficient.a first class hotel in every repect and i would certainly recommend it to any person planning a holiday in zell am see.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kettletoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2008

This was our first time in Austria and our first package holiday for quite a while so we were a bit nervous about the quality of hotel (although reassured by great tripadvisor reports).
The hotel turned out to be one of the cleanest, hospitable and friendliest hotles we have stayed in and fully justifies it's 4 star rating. The level of service was fantastic and from the first day the staff remembed our names and preferences for drinks etc.
The food was good restaurant quality, well cooked and presented with a choice of course for each of the four course each night. The spa area and sauna was very relaxing, albeit the hotel was very quiet being the end of September, you may not get to use all the spa and hydromassage functions in the pool during the busy ski season.

Would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Liked — Friendly thorough service
  • Disliked — Not a single complaint
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Jazzae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2008

My husband and I have just spent two weeks in the Tirolerhof, and were absolutely thrilled with the beauty and decor of the hotel. We were given a "Royal" welcome by the hotel owners, who actually have a "Welcome Reception" in the hotel foyers every Sunday afternoon, when the family personally come out and make a welcome speech and then come round and speak to the guests, while welcome drinks are served. I have never seen this done in any previous hotels where we have stayed.

The breakfast was everything you could wish for. My only complaint was that I finished up eating TOO much!! Evening meals were exquisitely presented. If you appreciate beautiful
presentation, artistically arranged - Tirolerhof' is "thee place"
After 3 starters, a main course and desert, if you were still hungry it had to be your own fault. In two weeks stay, the menu was never repeated, and the food was fabulous. On the "Farmers Market" day in town, we had a "Farmers Market Buffet" that night, and I can tell you it was a feast for the eyes to behold. On another evening we had an "Italian Buffet" and the array of food was unbelievable. Yet another evening we had "Dessert Buffet" and I'm afraid it finished up being my down-fall , despite all my "good" intentions during the day !!!

As for the "Wellness" area - pool, saunas, steam rooms etc, they were spotlessly clean, and everything you could imagine or wish for.

The staff were always polite, friendly and helpful. They also arranged trips, and walks from the hotel, and having joined Hans on one of his walking trips, we had a brilliant time and quite a laugh.

We too found, that a lot of guests we spoke to were repeat visitors, having stayed several times before. As far as I am concerned, that speaks for itself. Would absolutely love to visit in winter to see the snow, and one guest told me he has stayed at Christmas, and the decorations in the hotel are fabulous - one can just imagine, as they do everything else to perfection. Waiters and waitresses in dining-room were immaculate. Girls always wore traditional dress in the evenings - very pretty, AND they were all very pleasant and helpful.

Somehow, ...... the hotel found out that it was my birthday while we were there, and at dinner, the waiter appeared at our table bearing a beautiful candle lit chocolate cake! compliments of the hotel!! Now is that service and attention to detail or what ??!!!
We were completely bowled over by the hotel. We love Austria, having been before, but the hotel was an experience of its own.

  • Liked — Interior decor and general feeling of relaxation
  • Disliked — The price of a bottle of water - but it's obviously hotel policy not to serve tap water!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BlossomAmbrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2008

We can thoroughly agree with everyone who has previously said that this is a lovely hotel. All the staff are friendly and we had a very relaxing stay there for 11 nights.

Our deluxe room was a pleasure to spend time in and our son's room was also well appointed. Both had balconies and were very well served by the cleaning staff. We realy couldn't fault the accommodation in any way.

The hotel is very well situated in Zell am See, being only a couple of minutes walk to the lake and right next to the town centre. There was plenty to do and see and we wished we had stayed for another week.

The food at the hotel is excellent. The only problem is that there is too much and we started to put weight on :-) I loved the Italian buffet and we all, of course, enjoyed the dessert buffet night!

We had very few complaints indeed. We did agree with all the people who complained about charging for water at the dinner table. You should always be able to have a jug of water on your table.

It would have been nice to have free cakes more than once in the week, but then we would have put on even more weight!

We would now like to go in the winter to see how it changes and would definitely consider going to this hotel again.

  • Liked — Comfort
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slartibartfast3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Zell am See
Grand Hotel Zell am See
#10 of 42 in Zell am See
576 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Neue Post
Hotel Neue Post
#5 of 42 in Zell am See
231 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Stadt Wien
Hotel Stadt Wien
#1 of 42 in Zell am See
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Seehof
Hotel Seehof
#8 of 42 in Zell am See
334 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Salzburgerhof
Hotel Salzburgerhof
#3 of 42 in Zell am See
345 reviews
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Zell am See
Romantik Hotel Zell am See
#7 of 42 in Zell am See
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tirolerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tirolerhof

Property: Hotel Tirolerhof
Address: Auerspergstrasse 5 | 5700, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Zell am See
#2 Spa Hotel in Zell am See
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zell am See
#2 Luxury Hotel in Zell am See
#2 Family Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Tirolerhof 4.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tirolerhof is a quietly located spa hotel in the centre of Zell am See, at the foot of the Schmittenhohe mountain and only a few steps away from Lake Zell.The newly renovated Elements Panorama Spa on the fourth floor offers a wide range of wellness applications and beautiful views of the mountains and the lake.Bathing and sauna pleasures are also offered in the 1,000 m² Tirolerhof Aquarena, which features a swimming pool, a Jacuzzi, a relaxation room with water beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Tirolerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tirolerhof Hotel Zell Am See
Tirolerhof Zell Am See

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing