We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great New Year !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Tirolerhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Tirolerhof
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Zell am See
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great New Year !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

My Wife and I and a few friends stayed at Zell am See in the hotel Tirolerhof for 4 nights over new year.

All I can say is FANTASTIC. The hotel the town and the people.

The hotel was very clean and all the staff was very friendly and polite.

We had our own table for breakfast, there was a large variety in what you want to eat.

The double bedroom was large with a view up the mountain. It had large bathroom with separate bath and shower.

We only had dinner in the hotel one night but the food was first class and also reasonably priced.

We flew to Salzburg airport and caught the train to Zell am See. We could not believe how cheap the fare was compared to the UK. The taxi driver at the airport wanted to charge us 140 Euros but the train cost Us 35 Euros (for 5 adults)
.
The centre of Zell am See is quite small with a few shops (mostly ski shops) and restaurants which are very clean.

We are novice skiers but still enjoyed the skiing up the mountain even though they were desperate for snow (most of it was man made).

An excellent restaurant which we frequented regularly was CRAZY DAISY'S which was a restaurant and après ski bar with an outside bar with Gas heaters.

We celebrated New Year in here, and it was a fantastic night.

I would definitely recommend this resort and hotel to others thinking of coming.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hotgloveEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    785
    130
    30
    7
    5
See reviews for
223
539
22
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

We have stayed here on now 5 occasions both winter and summer holidays over the past 10 years or so. In fact we are in the hotel as I am writing this review.
Firstly, this undoubtedly the cleanest hotel we have ever been too. The decor we absolutely love and staying in a junior suite the room is also excellent. On this they get more than 10 out of 10.

However, as another recent lengthy reviewer (accurate) has said the menu is all awash with strange mixes. They have lost the authentic Austrian bent and seem to be into some sort of Austrian fusion with other foods. It doesn't work and even if it did they are poorly cooked. The lamb for example last night was cold and stringy. The deserts the other evening looked amazing but were tasteless.

The restaurant layout has also changed. This doesn't work and feels more like a corporate type restaurant than a high class intimate Austrian hotel. Before each table had a waiter dedicate to take orders, plates etc, now there is is swarm of people in and out of your table without any idea what course you are and whether you have finished your course or not. My consume soup last night almost got whipped away right from under my nose and I had even started it! ......
The explanation may be in their hotel video made I guess in the last couple of years. It is corporate and frankly if I had seen it before ever having stayed here i might have been put off. It seems to want to attract the 'WAG' type brigade which if that was the aim its working because there were a number here of that ilk not seen before!

Room Tip: Junior suite if you can afford it. Summer prices are much more reasonable than winter ski season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thameslink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We are just on our way home from the hotel tirolerhof after a weeks skiing. From the moment we arrived the welcome was warm and friendly. Very clean, spacious and comfortable rooms. All of the staff were so friendly and helpful especially after my husband had an accident on the slopes and needed to go to the hospital for an x-ray, Taxies were arranged and the service at the hospital was second to none, we were literally in and out of the hospital and back to the hotel in an hour! A little different to home.
As for the food - well what can I say - you will never ever be left hungry, variety of breakfast was superb and delicious, evening meals were a culinary extravaganza! Keep an open mind and try everything, there are some strange combinations but our favourites were the pasta starters ( which were a whole meal in themselves) the Friday night dinner of mixed roasted meats - wow! The allocation of a set table for the week was a nice touch. Now, we were looked after by Elizabeth on our table what an amazing efficient, friendly lady - your coffee or chocolate was there waiting for you as soon as you made your first trip to the buffet ( you will make more than one I promise!) I must also say that Adrianne was lovely,bubbly and always asking about your day.
The pool sauna and wellness area was superb - spotlessly clean - water quality clean and clear, having extra towels and robes in your room made using these facilities a very easy and pleasant experience.
Now to the skiing - winter is a little late coming and very mild, so snow was needed, it has snowed twice in the week so we have been fortunate. The trek through the town to the gondola and inter sport wasn't too bad but found to catch the bus for ski school was a little stressful as it would get so busy and the busses run at half hour intervals. We only realised on the last day that the tirolerhof does run a bus with your ski equipment to the ski school area ( this would have made life much easier in the mornings). We booked with crystal and I have to say the ski school was brilliant, for a not confident skier,the instructor Luke made learning fun and now confidence and technique is the best ever, so can highly recommend.
The slopes offer something for everyone at every level even with little snow.
The only downside to the holiday was the crowded busses and mass bundle for ski equipment on the first morning - as ski school meets at 9.50
Zell is much quieter than I imagined, but very pretty. All in all a brilliant holiday and would definitely return to the tirolerhof for cosy comforts and a very relaxed atmosphere.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Mel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

From start to finish the entire experience at Tirolerhof was amazing. EVERY member of staff was polite and helpful, we genuinely felt that they wanted us to enjoy our stay. Claudio and Rosa who looked after us in the restaurant were so friendly and professional. Bar prices for a hotel of this calibre were reasonable and the food served day after day was exciting and delicious. Word of warning; some of the english translation on the menu are iffy. Go with an open mind and you won't be disappointed. We will certainly come back to this hotel. If hotels could have a rating just on service this would be 6*. Thank you.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Very nice cozy hotel with convenient access to city center.
Great, friendly, English speaking staff and wonderful local food.
Clean rooms. We were even able to watched the nfl football game at the hotel.
We were within walking distance to many businesses in town right by the main street, very close to a couple of the malls, even post office is two doors down for mailing.
Train Station is minutes away for access to many cities.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank niceday_worldtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed at the Tirolerhof for a week in September, and what a week it was! The weather was a bit mixed, with our trip to Grossglockner being cancelled due to snow, which was a bit disappointing, but the fact that we were in such a fabulous hotel we soon forgot about that.

The food is fantastic, the breakfast choice is amazing, with smoked salmon and fresh honey comb each morning, plus a good selection of cereals, yoghurts, fruit, meat, cheeses etc. we were spoilt for choice. There is also a vast range of tea's including fresh leaf and bags.

The evening meals (which you choose at breakfast) are varied and beautifully presented, not enormous portions but adequate. There is a wide selection of salads and breads on offer each night. One night the evening meal was a buffet with every type of meat you could imagine including suckling pig which was delightful.

The drinks are little on the pricey side, but there are a number of supermarkets in Zell Am See to stock up on (very cheap) wines/aperitif's.

The rooms are very comfortable and well serviced, towels a bit thin/small but clean every day.

All in all a very comfortable, quiet hotel with very helpful and pleasant staff.

Zell Am See is a very nice resort with good transport links, watch if you go late September as the city express lift and the ferry stop running around about the 15th of the month.

The spa facilities are excellent, can' speak for the treatments as did not have time to sample any, but will next time!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Helgar6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

We absolutely LOVED this hotel! The moment we walked in the lobby we were very impressed by the beautiful wood trim, fireplace, and romantic lighting by the front desk. Then we were served a much-needed complimentary glass of wine while we checked in, offered some amazing afternoon cake, and offered a hand to take our bags to our room. Our room was very nice, modern, and clean, and we were even greeted with a complimentary bottle of wine, which was a very nice touch. We were able to enjoy the wine on our own private balcony, before we went and enjoyed the the fantastic 5 course dinner, a wonderful cake that was given to me for my birthday, all that came with our stay! Amazing! Let's not forget the Spa! Wow! The next morning we also enjoyed a wonderful full breakfast that was not your typical European breakfast. There were plenty of choices! Lastly, as we were checking out we were given a little cake to take to go, equipped with a nice little decorative bow. Lots of personal touches! This hotel just makes your stay in Austria completely amazing and we highly recommend it! While it's not on the lake, it's still in a great area! I'm almost afraid to write this review, for fear that everyone will go here and I'll have trouble getting a room next time! We'll definitely go back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Salzburgerhof
Hotel Salzburgerhof
#3 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Zell am See
Grand Hotel Zell am See
#10 of 43 in Zell am See
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Stadt Wien
Hotel Stadt Wien
#2 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Zell am See
Romantik Hotel Zell am See
#8 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Seehof
Hotel Seehof
#7 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.2 mi away
AlpenParks Hotel & Apartment Central Zell am See
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tirolerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tirolerhof

Property: Hotel Tirolerhof
Address: Auerspergstrasse 5 | 5700, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Zell am See
#1 Romantic Hotel in Zell am See
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zell am See
#1 Spa Hotel in Zell am See
#2 Family Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Tirolerhof 4.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tirolerhof is a quietly located spa hotel in the centre of Zell am See, at the foot of the Schmittenhohe mountain and only a few steps away from Lake Zell.The newly renovated Elements Panorama Spa on the fourth floor offers a wide range of wellness applications and beautiful views of the mountains and the lake.Bathing and sauna pleasures are also offered in the 1,000 m² Tirolerhof Aquarena, which features a swimming pool, a Jacuzzi, a relaxation room with water beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Tirolerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tirolerhof Hotel Zell Am See
Tirolerhof Zell Am See

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing