We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A superb hotel in a fantastic resort!”
Review of Hotel Tirolerhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Tirolerhof
Ranked #2 of 42 Hotels in Zell am See
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We arrived early afternoon and were greeted with a glass of sparkling wine. A nice welcome touch whilst we completed our registration documents.
The hotel is superb. Nothing about the hotel could be faulted.
The food in the restaurant was some of the best we had eaten and we do like good food !
The location was ideal. Just away from the village buzz. 5 mins away from the lake.
We hired a car for 3 days. This was expensive. Would hire one from the airport the next time we visit as it was cheaper to do this than hire for a few days in the resort. The hotel did organise excursions however we preferred the flexibility of our own car.
The drinks in the hotel were a bit more expensive than in the town. There is a small mini bar fridge in your room with plenty of spare space to add your own drinks. We took a travel kettle for our morning cuppa and the fridge was ideal to keep our milk fresh.
This hotel is one of the nicest hotels we have stayed in. The staff are very welcoming and look after your needs. Zell am Zee is a perfect resort with lots to do for all age groups.
We strongly recommend this hotel in Zell and we will return

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlueTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

574 - 580 of 1,188 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

We had HB and it definitely was worth the money. Amazing food evening after evening, I could even refer it to fine dining. The atmosphere was relaxed though in the restaurant so just the way dinners on holiday should be. Each evening there were 5 courses, in the mornings when you had your breakfast you chose the starters, main course etc. for the evening. Couple of times there was a buffet for the starters, main course or desserts, but most of the courses they served to the table. They did ok with different diets except lactose free, I mean they just took the elements which included lactose away and din't bother to make them ie. sauces out of lactose free products. So for lactose intolerants the courses were also dairy free. The sun deck in the hotel was nice and also the pool, though it's quite small. The gym isn't very good, it's a small open space next to the relaxation room and sitting area were people were having tea. The sauna's are relaxing and not crowded at least when we were at the hotel. Nice small touches were delivered during the stay but staff could be more friendly. One of the great things would have been the free cakes in the afternoon at the hotel lobby, the hotel staff just forgot to told us that and it wasn't were clearly stated anywhere. You can rent bikes 5-7€/day depending on what time you rent them. It's good to book the bikes previous evening as they all might be already booked. The hotel's private beach is cosy and the lake is shallow from that side so it's good for kids too. There's free parking places for 7 cars next to the hotel and there's also garage which costs. Would definitely go there again and recommend it!

Room Tip: There's a small stream running next to the hotel so I found the sound of that relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saima11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My wife and I were in Zell Am See for the Ironman 70.3 Race and we stayed at the Tirolerhof Hotel for 4 nights. We liked the hotel very much. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the rooms were clean and relatively spacious for European hotels. We particularly enjoyed the open area on the 3rd floor near our room where we could sit outside and relax.

Meals were good, and the despite dinner being a set menu the kitchen were willing to cook off the menu for us after the race when we were in need of carbs! We also appreciated the hotel opening breakfast early on race day.

Its hard to find many negatives and we really would recommend this hotel to others. The only areas for improvement that we would point out are 1) the rooms were very hot at night. We had to sleep with the windows wide open to cool the room down meaning that we were woken at first light each morning. 2) The hotel forgot our early morning wake up call on check out morning and despite the offer of coffee to the room before we left, they forgot to deliver it!

We would definitely return to this hotel if we were in the area again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SJL1605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Late booking for us as we could not make our minds up for a short break destination. Therefore decided on Zell am See as a more subtle alternative to Wengen and Zermatt, where we’ve been for the last few years, but with all the high standards of Austria.
We were not disappointed as this is a great hotel and village with plenty to do and see. Hotel was to high standard with excellent food, facilities and service. The bar area makes for a very nice location either for pre or post dinner drinks. Same excellent levels as any hotel you would find in Switzerland. We were on half board but found plenty of good eateries in the village or around the mountains for lunch during our hiking expeditions.
Couple of wobbles on handling gluten free diet at dinner and they got very mixed up over another couple with the same surname as ours on some of the admin. I think we came to the conclusion that the hotel staff did not really speak nor understand English as well as they made out. But no big deal overall and it was quite funny at times trying to sort it out.
However the hotel came up trumps when they sent a pair of trousers to our home address we had forgotten to pack!

Room Tip: Don,t book on river side if you want to sleep with window open but don,t like sound of torrents of r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This hotel was excellent in every way.Warm welcome from the owners. Helpful, friendly staff excellent food and plenty of it. Pleasant light and clean rooms. Beautiful indoor pool. We loved it. If it wasn't so far away I would return again and again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vjp413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Booked this hotel for mysefl, wife + mother-in-law on basis of the dining menus and having been to Zell am See before, knowing it was in a good location. Having come back and reflected on it, am amazed and not sure why it's only rated a 4 star as I cannot think of anything to fault about it.

We were the first after it re-opened (it just had a refurb after the ski season ended) and both rooms were upgraded (we had a junior suite, the single became a large double across the corridor).

Having stayed in many Austrian hotels, the theme is largely the same of pine-based furnishings, crisp sheets (albeit with individual duvets, not a king size to share, but that's common in Austria) and impeccable build/quality. In this hotel's case it was just that little bit nicer, with finer woods beautifully finished and stunning workmanship. The bathrooms had large showers, marble counters and gorgeous Elemis toiletries including room fragrances. Balcony was large and with a beautiful view over the lake off to our left.

Food was fabulous and inventive without being fussy (wild garlic foam on a lovely asparagus soup and plenty of it) and you always left the table a little stuffed but grinning and satisfied. Never did ourselves but other guests with allergies/etc were having special versions made or simply had their ask made on the fly. For breakfast they have a chef cooking bacon, sausages and eggs to order plus the usual extensive help yourself bit. Jams were a bit mad - I counted 9 flavours - and almost as many breads to put them on, all baked in the kitchen.

Reception and lounges are all very welcoming with big fires, comfy chairs, etc and I imagine is a very welcome sight after a day on the piste, certainly was for us! Owner's dog (lab) was very welcoming as were his owners and all the staff - all clearly professional staff and trained well and willing to let me try my broken german with plenty of patience when asking for something.

Last but not least the spa/pool section is amazing. Simply that. They have a spa on the roof (Elemis & other lotions 'n potions) with all the services you expect, and below ground level is a gorgeous pool, 2 jacuzzis and 5 (!) sauna rooms, all different. Nice touch is the cold room if you like the Nordic suana thing is where they dug down from the garden amongst the shrubs, so you're actually going outside, albeit 1 level below ground and completely private. They also had a lovely relaxation room for in-between rooms/sessions with heated beds and recliners, and have a hot water still with fancy teas plus iced lemon water to help yourself to. Overall we were flabbergasted at just how big and well-done the sauna area was.

Lastly, I remember the website being particularly good, with plenty of pics plus very usefully plans and those 360 degree views of all the room types so you know what you're gonna get. Take a look as that's what cinched it for us and enjoy

Room Tip: Rooms to the north overlook the stream so depends if you like the sound of water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NotDanDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed here for a week over new years in 2012-2013. It was fantastic - a real family run place, with comfortable rooms, a great spa in the basement, good service and a tasty breakfast (as well as nice looking dinner but we didn't eat there). The location is good, quiet, but three streets from the main attractions, close to the lake, the bars, and the ski lifts. We loved it and will return, hopefully to try it in the summer.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RomeKedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Zell am See
Grand Hotel Zell am See
#10 of 42 in Zell am See
597 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Salzburgerhof
Hotel Salzburgerhof
#1 of 42 in Zell am See
367 reviews
1.5 mi away
MAVIDA Wellnesshotel & Sport Zell am See
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Neue Post
Hotel Neue Post
#5 of 42 in Zell am See
235 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Stadt Wien
Hotel Stadt Wien
#3 of 42 in Zell am See
406 reviews
0.3 mi away
AlpenParks Hotel & Apartment Central Zell am See
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tirolerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tirolerhof

Address: Auerspergstrasse 5 | 5700, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Zell am See
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zell am See
#2 Luxury Hotel in Zell am See
#2 Family Hotel in Zell am See
#2 Spa Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range: $191 - $574 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Tirolerhof 4.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tirolerhof is a quietly located spa hotel in the centre of Zell am See, at the foot of the Schmittenhohe mountain and only a few steps away from Lake Zell.The newly renovated Elements Panorama Spa on the fourth floor offers a wide range of wellness applications and beautiful views of the mountains and the lake.Bathing and sauna pleasures are also offered in the 1,000 m² Tirolerhof Aquarena, which features a swimming pool, a Jacuzzi, a relaxation room with water beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Tirolerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tirolerhof Hotel Zell Am See
Tirolerhof Zell Am See

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing