We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazed it isn't priced higher”
Review of Hotel Tirolerhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Tirolerhof
Ranked #2 of 42 Hotels in Zell am See
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Booked this hotel for mysefl, wife + mother-in-law on basis of the dining menus and having been to Zell am See before, knowing it was in a good location. Having come back and reflected on it, am amazed and not sure why it's only rated a 4 star as I cannot think of anything to fault about it.

We were the first after it re-opened (it just had a refurb after the ski season ended) and both rooms were upgraded (we had a junior suite, the single became a large double across the corridor).

Having stayed in many Austrian hotels, the theme is largely the same of pine-based furnishings, crisp sheets (albeit with individual duvets, not a king size to share, but that's common in Austria) and impeccable build/quality. In this hotel's case it was just that little bit nicer, with finer woods beautifully finished and stunning workmanship. The bathrooms had large showers, marble counters and gorgeous Elemis toiletries including room fragrances. Balcony was large and with a beautiful view over the lake off to our left.

Food was fabulous and inventive without being fussy (wild garlic foam on a lovely asparagus soup and plenty of it) and you always left the table a little stuffed but grinning and satisfied. Never did ourselves but other guests with allergies/etc were having special versions made or simply had their ask made on the fly. For breakfast they have a chef cooking bacon, sausages and eggs to order plus the usual extensive help yourself bit. Jams were a bit mad - I counted 9 flavours - and almost as many breads to put them on, all baked in the kitchen.

Reception and lounges are all very welcoming with big fires, comfy chairs, etc and I imagine is a very welcome sight after a day on the piste, certainly was for us! Owner's dog (lab) was very welcoming as were his owners and all the staff - all clearly professional staff and trained well and willing to let me try my broken german with plenty of patience when asking for something.

Last but not least the spa/pool section is amazing. Simply that. They have a spa on the roof (Elemis & other lotions 'n potions) with all the services you expect, and below ground level is a gorgeous pool, 2 jacuzzis and 5 (!) sauna rooms, all different. Nice touch is the cold room if you like the Nordic suana thing is where they dug down from the garden amongst the shrubs, so you're actually going outside, albeit 1 level below ground and completely private. They also had a lovely relaxation room for in-between rooms/sessions with heated beds and recliners, and have a hot water still with fancy teas plus iced lemon water to help yourself to. Overall we were flabbergasted at just how big and well-done the sauna area was.

Lastly, I remember the website being particularly good, with plenty of pics plus very usefully plans and those 360 degree views of all the room types so you know what you're gonna get. Take a look as that's what cinched it for us and enjoy

Room Tip: Rooms to the north overlook the stream so depends if you like the sound of water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NotDanDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

603 - 609 of 1,214 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed here for a week over new years in 2012-2013. It was fantastic - a real family run place, with comfortable rooms, a great spa in the basement, good service and a tasty breakfast (as well as nice looking dinner but we didn't eat there). The location is good, quiet, but three streets from the main attractions, close to the lake, the bars, and the ski lifts. We loved it and will return, hopefully to try it in the summer.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RomeKedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed at this hotel last year and loved it so much that we decided to go back again this August. Our concern was that it would not be able to live up to the standards we experienced last time. Our worries were unfounded. It was, once again, superb. The hotel itself is beautiful and immaculately clean. The staff are helpful, polite and friendly and always willing to give you time. A special note to Alex on reception here. It is by far the best hotel we have stayed at in Austria and I have visited this country over 70 times! A very special hotel. We are expecting it to be the same next year too.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linrob2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We recently spent 11 nights at the hotel Tirolerhof, and it was a very enjoyable stay. We had a junior suite, which was huge with a lovely balcony. The meals are very good in the hotel, probably some of the best I have had while eating in a hotel. The spa area is good, although I would say I have been in better spas. The location of the hotel is very good, very centrally located to everything but in a quiet spot.

It is very easy to get about while staying there, the train and bus stations are very close to the hotel, and both are very easy to use and very punctual. We got a 6 day hike and swim pass, which was very good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GemmaLouiseS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We have just returned from a week in the Tirolerhof and talk continually about the fabulous time we had there. This was our second visit to this hotel and our third to Austria. There is just something about the country that draws you back again and again. This hotel is just wonderful, ....both interior decor. and the food.... not to mention the pleasant, helpful staff. We stayed in this hotel 5 years ago and loved it so much that we longed to stay again. We have been to Italy in between times and though ok..... we kept comparing everything to our stay in the Tirolerhof, and there just was no comparison!!

If we had any complaint it would be the fact that our bathroom was tiny, and the shower SO small that my tall hubby found it impossible to move from upright position without banging his back on the shower control lever which stuck out into the shower space, minimising even more, what little space there was. Also, one side of the shower door was actually detached from the bottom runner which allowed a little water to escape onto the floor. We sorted this by putting a towel on the floor. However, we did not complain about this to management, as every other aspect of the hotel was perfect and we were just SO happy to be there. Possibly we were spoiled by the fact that the last time we stayed , we were up-graded to a suite, and had a fabulous big bathroom.

We took a guided walk with Wolfgang - the hotel guide / night porter, - and found him to be an absolute meticulous, delightful gentleman, and a true asset to the hotel staff. We also enjoyed a tour of the hotel kitchen and found it to be very typical of the rest of the hotel.......... spotless clean and perfectly organised.

We would not hesitate to recomment this hotel to others, and the parting gift from the Hotel of a recipe book was delightful....... considering the fact that I love to cook and adore recipe books............Thank you SO much for such a thoughtful gift and life-time memory of the hotel.

Room Tip: There is a new extension to the hotel and bathrooms in that area may be more spacious and modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BlossomAmbrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed at the Tirolerhof for a week and must say it was a very enjoyable experience. The staff are friendly, professional and well versed in customer care. Our junior suite overlooked a stream and the 'white noise' ensured that we had no problems sleeping. During our stay the temperature exceeded 40c in the hotel garden. The rarity of such high temperatures means that in Austria in general air conditioning is not provided- but oh how we wished for some 'moving air' at meal times! Despite the grade of room we were in, we were somewhat disappointed to be placedat a small table in an alcove of the dining room, with verylittle space between tables. This made private conversations impossible- for other guests too. We tried to stage our meal times so that our neighbours would be going or gone! It may be that we were all English speaking and the staff allocated had better language skills. Other guests had much larger tables and more space around them. We did however enjoy all the food and found the variety, quantity and quality to be excellent. Wine is reasonably priced and surprisingly good- we kept to Austrian products. Our bedroom, living area and bathroom were extremely clean and there is a turn down service. The daily weather forecast is placed in your room each evening and, should it rain, you have a hotel umbrella at your disposal. We enjoyed the roof garden and while we do not swim, admired the facilities. The spa treatmants are well priced and on a par with any others I know. The hotel is centrally located- and remember space is at a premium in Austria so we did not expect extensive gardens. The lakeside has such spaces. Plenty of activities were on offer and we purchased passes to enable full use of cablecars to spectacular views higher up. The owner is very much in evidence and has a hands on approach. He eats in the Dining room and engages in conversations. We liked the eidelweiss gift as we left and appreciate the recipe book even more! Definitely a hotel to go back to and we would class it as living up to all our expectations. The hot weather was a bonus- but oh for a fan!

Room Tip: We were in the newer section but on the second floor were not aware of traffic or street noise. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NiborNorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We booked the Tirolerhof based on previous reviews and its #1 ranking, we weren't disappointed.
From the moment we arrived until the day we checked out, all of the staff were very friendly but more importantly professional. All areas of the hotel are spotlessly clean with housekeeping doing a great job with our bedroom and the turndown service while we were having our evening meal. We were in room 122 on the first floor in a junior suite, large bedroom with seating area, large bathroom and a balcony looking towards the lake and mountains. Had a fantastic view of the fireworks from the summer festival on our first Saturday night.
The meals in the restaurant are first class, fine dining at its best. As previous reviews have stated you are assigned a table for the duration of your stay. The evening menu is on the table every morning where you select what you want at night. Service is very slick between courses as the kitchen know exactly what and when to prepare, waiting staff appear to have tablets that notify the kitchen when you finish a course.
Used the pool more to relax rather than a workout as its not huge but all I was looking for. Take the shuttle bus to the private lido for a swim in the lake. Large private grassed area with a manned log cabin providing towels and drinks. Plenty of sun beds and parasols.
A first class hotel that deserves its #1 status.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank SL.123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Zell am See
Grand Hotel Zell am See
#10 of 42 in Zell am See
615 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Salzburgerhof
Hotel Salzburgerhof
#1 of 42 in Zell am See
379 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#8 of 42 in Zell am See
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
MAVIDA Wellnesshotel & Sport Zell am See
0.3 mi away
Hotel Stadt Wien
Hotel Stadt Wien
#3 of 42 in Zell am See
419 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Neue Post
Hotel Neue Post
#6 of 42 in Zell am See
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tirolerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tirolerhof

Address: Auerspergstrasse 5 | 5700, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zell am See
#1 Romantic Hotel in Zell am See
#2 Spa Hotel in Zell am See
#2 Luxury Hotel in Zell am See
#2 Family Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range: $251 - $562 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Tirolerhof 4.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tirolerhof is a quietly located spa hotel in the centre of Zell am See, at the foot of the Schmittenhohe mountain and only a few steps away from Lake Zell.The newly renovated Elements Panorama Spa on the fourth floor offers a wide range of wellness applications and beautiful views of the mountains and the lake.Bathing and sauna pleasures are also offered in the 1,000 m² Tirolerhof Aquarena, which features a swimming pool, a Jacuzzi, a relaxation room with water beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Tirolerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tirolerhof Hotel Zell Am See
Tirolerhof Zell Am See

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing