We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“100% Yet Again”
Review of Hotel Tirolerhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Tirolerhof
Ranked #1 of 42 Hotels in Zell am See
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed at this hotel last year and loved it so much that we decided to go back again this August. Our concern was that it would not be able to live up to the standards we experienced last time. Our worries were unfounded. It was, once again, superb. The hotel itself is beautiful and immaculately clean. The staff are helpful, polite and friendly and always willing to give you time. A special note to Alex on reception here. It is by far the best hotel we have stayed at in Austria and I have visited this country over 70 times! A very special hotel. We are expecting it to be the same next year too.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linrob2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

591 - 597 of 1,200 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

We recently spent 11 nights at the hotel Tirolerhof, and it was a very enjoyable stay. We had a junior suite, which was huge with a lovely balcony. The meals are very good in the hotel, probably some of the best I have had while eating in a hotel. The spa area is good, although I would say I have been in better spas. The location of the hotel is very good, very centrally located to everything but in a quiet spot.

It is very easy to get about while staying there, the train and bus stations are very close to the hotel, and both are very easy to use and very punctual. We got a 6 day hike and swim pass, which was very good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GemmaLouiseS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We have just returned from a week in the Tirolerhof and talk continually about the fabulous time we had there. This was our second visit to this hotel and our third to Austria. There is just something about the country that draws you back again and again. This hotel is just wonderful, ....both interior decor. and the food.... not to mention the pleasant, helpful staff. We stayed in this hotel 5 years ago and loved it so much that we longed to stay again. We have been to Italy in between times and though ok..... we kept comparing everything to our stay in the Tirolerhof, and there just was no comparison!!

If we had any complaint it would be the fact that our bathroom was tiny, and the shower SO small that my tall hubby found it impossible to move from upright position without banging his back on the shower control lever which stuck out into the shower space, minimising even more, what little space there was. Also, one side of the shower door was actually detached from the bottom runner which allowed a little water to escape onto the floor. We sorted this by putting a towel on the floor. However, we did not complain about this to management, as every other aspect of the hotel was perfect and we were just SO happy to be there. Possibly we were spoiled by the fact that the last time we stayed , we were up-graded to a suite, and had a fabulous big bathroom.

We took a guided walk with Wolfgang - the hotel guide / night porter, - and found him to be an absolute meticulous, delightful gentleman, and a true asset to the hotel staff. We also enjoyed a tour of the hotel kitchen and found it to be very typical of the rest of the hotel.......... spotless clean and perfectly organised.

We would not hesitate to recomment this hotel to others, and the parting gift from the Hotel of a recipe book was delightful....... considering the fact that I love to cook and adore recipe books............Thank you SO much for such a thoughtful gift and life-time memory of the hotel.

Room Tip: There is a new extension to the hotel and bathrooms in that area may be more spacious and modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BlossomAmbrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed at the Tirolerhof for a week and must say it was a very enjoyable experience. The staff are friendly, professional and well versed in customer care. Our junior suite overlooked a stream and the 'white noise' ensured that we had no problems sleeping. During our stay the temperature exceeded 40c in the hotel garden. The rarity of such high temperatures means that in Austria in general air conditioning is not provided- but oh how we wished for some 'moving air' at meal times! Despite the grade of room we were in, we were somewhat disappointed to be placedat a small table in an alcove of the dining room, with verylittle space between tables. This made private conversations impossible- for other guests too. We tried to stage our meal times so that our neighbours would be going or gone! It may be that we were all English speaking and the staff allocated had better language skills. Other guests had much larger tables and more space around them. We did however enjoy all the food and found the variety, quantity and quality to be excellent. Wine is reasonably priced and surprisingly good- we kept to Austrian products. Our bedroom, living area and bathroom were extremely clean and there is a turn down service. The daily weather forecast is placed in your room each evening and, should it rain, you have a hotel umbrella at your disposal. We enjoyed the roof garden and while we do not swim, admired the facilities. The spa treatmants are well priced and on a par with any others I know. The hotel is centrally located- and remember space is at a premium in Austria so we did not expect extensive gardens. The lakeside has such spaces. Plenty of activities were on offer and we purchased passes to enable full use of cablecars to spectacular views higher up. The owner is very much in evidence and has a hands on approach. He eats in the Dining room and engages in conversations. We liked the eidelweiss gift as we left and appreciate the recipe book even more! Definitely a hotel to go back to and we would class it as living up to all our expectations. The hot weather was a bonus- but oh for a fan!

Room Tip: We were in the newer section but on the second floor were not aware of traffic or street noise. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NiborNorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We booked the Tirolerhof based on previous reviews and its #1 ranking, we weren't disappointed.
From the moment we arrived until the day we checked out, all of the staff were very friendly but more importantly professional. All areas of the hotel are spotlessly clean with housekeeping doing a great job with our bedroom and the turndown service while we were having our evening meal. We were in room 122 on the first floor in a junior suite, large bedroom with seating area, large bathroom and a balcony looking towards the lake and mountains. Had a fantastic view of the fireworks from the summer festival on our first Saturday night.
The meals in the restaurant are first class, fine dining at its best. As previous reviews have stated you are assigned a table for the duration of your stay. The evening menu is on the table every morning where you select what you want at night. Service is very slick between courses as the kitchen know exactly what and when to prepare, waiting staff appear to have tablets that notify the kitchen when you finish a course.
Used the pool more to relax rather than a workout as its not huge but all I was looking for. Take the shuttle bus to the private lido for a swim in the lake. Large private grassed area with a manned log cabin providing towels and drinks. Plenty of sun beds and parasols.
A first class hotel that deserves its #1 status.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank SL.123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We have just returned from a 10-day stay at this fantastic hotel. It was our first visit to Austria and certainly won't be the last. My only fear is we would not be able to match the quality and standards offered by the Tirolerhof. Every member of staff were amongst the friendliest we have ever met. The hotel is spotless thoughout and although our room was described as a 'small double' it was more than adequate for our needs. The food was 'five star' quality and nothing was repeated on the menu throughout our stay. The swimming pool area & relaxation room was wonderful at the end of a long day.

We had a 6-day hiking pass which was excellent value for money, hired cycles from the hotel and had a trip to Salzburg & the 'Eagles Nest'. Both trips were booked with Crystal and the tour guide we had was excellent.

I must also thank the management at the Tirolerhof for the bottle of proseco which was placed in our room on arrival for our special anniversary, it was such a lovely surprise; thank you.

To conclude if you are a first-time visitor to this wonderful country you won't go far wrong if you book a holiday at this hotel. When we return to Austria we will certainly stay at the Tirolerhof - Outstanding!

Room Tip: Don't think you'll have a problem with any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anon2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We booked the Tirolerhof on basis of good reviews ....unfortunately our experience was disappointing.

The Good Stuff - Zell am See beautiful/stunning. Hotel in good location well within walking distance of everything. Hotel has nice interior & spa facilities. Hotel very clean & the staff pleasant (although they clearly, whilst remaining pleasant, don't like their hotel 'criticised'). Wolfgang's guided walks are fabulous. Hotel 'beach' nice (bit too far away- 15 min cycle ride).

The Not so good stuff -
Too much difference in quality between new rooms & older rooms.
Food ranges from good to odd! Meals are 4-5 courses but some food is too 'fussy' with weird combinations & I am used to eating out. Please simplify your food & more traditional (simple ) dishes. Also restaurant could be lovely with a few more design touches & not having to sit in the same place for every meal it then becomes a canteen. I've never bring to a hotel that does that. And don't put water on my table and charge me for it, it doesn't feel nice I then feel like you just want money from me.

No real outdoor spaces in hotel to relax (all very small & crowded). Private hotel beach nice but a bit too far away.

Started badly - booked a junior suite & standard room. Then emailed to say could we upgrade standard room. I think they thought we wanted a free upgrade (I didn't) & stated politely there were no more suites available. There were we checked on their website & contacted Thomsons & paid to upgrade second room. Didn't feel good to be politely misled!

Prior to arrival I emailed twice (no response to first email) to request a view (part of why we tend to book suites) & more importantly quiet rooms as we're light sleepers. Got mo tsdpknse evdn though they avknowledged theyd hot emails on arrival. Our suites were on 1st floor opposite another hotel/car park (not a great view) & below was Tirelhofs garage/stores where all their deliveries (every day & very early) take place as well as staff wheeling in/out noisy carts & taking their breaks (smoking/talking loudly) not what I
expected for price we paid & suites in a 4 star plus hotel! When we checked in we asked for rooms to be changed & were told politely without any warmth they couldn't do anything as they were fully booked. A bit like the email saying no suites I could see there were clearly rooms that hadn't been checked into as yet! We put up with it for 1 night until we realised the noise level it was horrible & would (& did) potentially spoil our holiday. Only after getting Thomsons representative to push & our suggestion of any room instead of a suite did they offer us
anything else unfortunately the rooms (albeit smaller were nicer
& in new part) were near main road. What bothers me more was the lack of understanding or caring that a £4K week holiday can be marred by a bad room! Paying for a suite & getting a bad room in a 4 star plus is not ok in my book. We bought earplugs as doors needed to be kept open it was so hot & hotel has no air con. If noise bothers you don't stay in room 126 or 125 best views/quiet rooms 325/326. It's a pity because had the bothered to take in our request for a quiet room & being more considerate of how it was impacting our holiday it could have been a different experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ash C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMaximilian, Family Posch at Hotel Tirolerhof, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thank you very much for your review.
We are very sorry to hear that you did not like your stay at our hotel.
We do apologize for the inconvenience. About the emails you sent us, you asked specifically for a Suite which are all booked throughout the season. Also we never had problems with the rooms 125/126 as they are some of our best rooms. Plus you have not been allocated in a standard room - which are in a different building.
We always try to put our guests into rooms that they wish, as we did with your booking. After you have been at the reception we tried to offer you our newest rooms - our double rooms vital - but sadly you didn't like them.

We want to thank you for your stay and that you took your time to review our hotel.

Kind regards

Fam. Posch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Zell am See
Grand Hotel Zell am See
#11 of 42 in Zell am See
602 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Salzburgerhof
Hotel Salzburgerhof
#3 of 42 in Zell am See
369 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Neue Post
Hotel Neue Post
#5 of 42 in Zell am See
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
MAVIDA Wellnesshotel & Sport Zell am See
0.3 mi away
Hotel Stadt Wien
Hotel Stadt Wien
#2 of 42 in Zell am See
410 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#7 of 42 in Zell am See
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tirolerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tirolerhof

Address: Auerspergstrasse 5 | 5700, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zell am See
#1 Spa Hotel in Zell am See
#1 Luxury Hotel in Zell am See
#1 Romantic Hotel in Zell am See
#2 Family Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range: $256 - $603 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Tirolerhof 4.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tirolerhof is a quietly located spa hotel in the centre of Zell am See, at the foot of the Schmittenhohe mountain and only a few steps away from Lake Zell.The newly renovated Elements Panorama Spa on the fourth floor offers a wide range of wellness applications and beautiful views of the mountains and the lake.Bathing and sauna pleasures are also offered in the 1,000 m² Tirolerhof Aquarena, which features a swimming pool, a Jacuzzi, a relaxation room with water beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Tirolerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tirolerhof Hotel Zell Am See
Tirolerhof Zell Am See

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing