We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in a beautiful location”
Review of Hotel Tirolerhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Tirolerhof
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Zell am See
Certificate of Excellence
Scottish Borders
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in a beautiful location”
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We booked the Tirolerhof based on previous reviews and its #1 ranking, we weren't disappointed.
From the moment we arrived until the day we checked out, all of the staff were very friendly but more importantly professional. All areas of the hotel are spotlessly clean with housekeeping doing a great job with our bedroom and the turndown service while we were having our evening meal. We were in room 122 on the first floor in a junior suite, large bedroom with seating area, large bathroom and a balcony looking towards the lake and mountains. Had a fantastic view of the fireworks from the summer festival on our first Saturday night.
The meals in the restaurant are first class, fine dining at its best. As previous reviews have stated you are assigned a table for the duration of your stay. The evening menu is on the table every morning where you select what you want at night. Service is very slick between courses as the kitchen know exactly what and when to prepare, waiting staff appear to have tablets that notify the kitchen when you finish a course.
Used the pool more to relax rather than a workout as its not huge but all I was looking for. Take the shuttle bus to the private lido for a swim in the lake. Large private grassed area with a manned log cabin providing towels and drinks. Plenty of sun beds and parasols.
A first class hotel that deserves its #1 status.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank SL.123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    838
    145
    33
    9
    5
See reviews for
232
588
24
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We have just returned from a 10-day stay at this fantastic hotel. It was our first visit to Austria and certainly won't be the last. My only fear is we would not be able to match the quality and standards offered by the Tirolerhof. Every member of staff were amongst the friendliest we have ever met. The hotel is spotless thoughout and although our room was described as a 'small double' it was more than adequate for our needs. The food was 'five star' quality and nothing was repeated on the menu throughout our stay. The swimming pool area & relaxation room was wonderful at the end of a long day.

We had a 6-day hiking pass which was excellent value for money, hired cycles from the hotel and had a trip to Salzburg & the 'Eagles Nest'. Both trips were booked with Crystal and the tour guide we had was excellent.

I must also thank the management at the Tirolerhof for the bottle of proseco which was placed in our room on arrival for our special anniversary, it was such a lovely surprise; thank you.

To conclude if you are a first-time visitor to this wonderful country you won't go far wrong if you book a holiday at this hotel. When we return to Austria we will certainly stay at the Tirolerhof - Outstanding!

Room Tip: Don't think you'll have a problem with any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anon2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We booked the Tirolerhof on basis of good reviews ....unfortunately our experience was disappointing.

The Good Stuff - Zell am See beautiful/stunning. Hotel in good location well within walking distance of everything. Hotel has nice interior & spa facilities. Hotel very clean & the staff pleasant (although they clearly, whilst remaining pleasant, don't like their hotel 'criticised'). Wolfgang's guided walks are fabulous. Hotel 'beach' nice (bit too far away- 15 min cycle ride).

The Not so good stuff -
Too much difference in quality between new rooms & older rooms.
Food ranges from good to odd! Meals are 4-5 courses but some food is too 'fussy' with weird combinations & I am used to eating out. Please simplify your food & more traditional (simple ) dishes. Also restaurant could be lovely with a few more design touches & not having to sit in the same place for every meal it then becomes a canteen. I've never bring to a hotel that does that. And don't put water on my table and charge me for it, it doesn't feel nice I then feel like you just want money from me.

No real outdoor spaces in hotel to relax (all very small & crowded). Private hotel beach nice but a bit too far away.

Started badly - booked a junior suite & standard room. Then emailed to say could we upgrade standard room. I think they thought we wanted a free upgrade (I didn't) & stated politely there were no more suites available. There were we checked on their website & contacted Thomsons & paid to upgrade second room. Didn't feel good to be politely misled!

Prior to arrival I emailed twice (no response to first email) to request a view (part of why we tend to book suites) & more importantly quiet rooms as we're light sleepers. Got mo tsdpknse evdn though they avknowledged theyd hot emails on arrival. Our suites were on 1st floor opposite another hotel/car park (not a great view) & below was Tirelhofs garage/stores where all their deliveries (every day & very early) take place as well as staff wheeling in/out noisy carts & taking their breaks (smoking/talking loudly) not what I
expected for price we paid & suites in a 4 star plus hotel! When we checked in we asked for rooms to be changed & were told politely without any warmth they couldn't do anything as they were fully booked. A bit like the email saying no suites I could see there were clearly rooms that hadn't been checked into as yet! We put up with it for 1 night until we realised the noise level it was horrible & would (& did) potentially spoil our holiday. Only after getting Thomsons representative to push & our suggestion of any room instead of a suite did they offer us
anything else unfortunately the rooms (albeit smaller were nicer
& in new part) were near main road. What bothers me more was the lack of understanding or caring that a £4K week holiday can be marred by a bad room! Paying for a suite & getting a bad room in a 4 star plus is not ok in my book. We bought earplugs as doors needed to be kept open it was so hot & hotel has no air con. If noise bothers you don't stay in room 126 or 125 best views/quiet rooms 325/326. It's a pity because had the bothered to take in our request for a quiet room & being more considerate of how it was impacting our holiday it could have been a different experience.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ash C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMaximilian, Family Posch at Hotel Tirolerhof, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your review.
We are very sorry to hear that you did not like your stay at our hotel.
We do apologize for the inconvenience. About the emails you sent us, you asked specifically for a Suite which are all booked throughout the season. Also we never had problems with the rooms 125/126 as they are some of our best rooms. Plus you have not been allocated in a standard room - which are in a different building.
We always try to put our guests into rooms that they wish, as we did with your booking. After you have been at the reception we tried to offer you our newest rooms - our double rooms vital - but sadly you didn't like them.

We want to thank you for your stay and that you took your time to review our hotel.

Kind regards

Fam. Posch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

From the 20th-27th July I stayed here at hotel Tirolerhof in Zell am see Austria I thought when I first came into the hotel there was a lovely welcome the reception manager gave us some welcome drinks then we checked in. The hotel was very nice very clean lovely staff and the rooms are always cleaned everyday. I would say that the hotel should be 5 star cause the hotel is very nice and very clean staff are always helpful and lovely. The food for breakfast and dinner is amazing for breakfast you get selections of sliced meats, bread, cereal, English breakfast, fruit and they also offer some fresh honey everyday from the bee hives which is really nice. For dinner you have a 4 course dinner first you have selections of salads then starter,soup,main course and dessert the food is very nice and it comes out like its from a 3 star restaurant which i really enjoyed about it. There is also different buffets during the days which is lovely and also entertainment in the restaurant. In the hotel there is a spa, a indoor swimming pool and sauna's the pool is lovely in the pool there is also different jets in the pool which are really fun and to relax in. I would recommend it to a older family with teenagers as with younger children its not suitable for them.the reason for this the hotel is more suitable for teenagers and over for babies its fine. The place where the hotel is in Zell am see which is a lovely place with a lake, shops, bars, restaurants, cable cars, bike hire, boat hire and lovely beaches. I would recommend it.

Room Tip: The rooms are very reasonable its got all you need the rooms are twin rooms good bathrooms and got g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LINCS
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We have just returned from a weeks stay at the ' Tirolerhof ' and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone.
The second you walk through the entrance, the high standard is obvious. All of the public rooms are spotlessly clean and beautifully furnished. All of the staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient, the food, ( we stayed on half-board basis ), was superb and the bedroom was very comfortable, spacious, and again beautifully furnished, ( deluxe double with French balcony ).
Should we ever return to Zell, we would also return to the ' Tirolerhof ' !

With many thanks to the Family Posch and all the staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DAVID S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Excellent Holiday, Great base for skiing as we were able to store our ski boots in the hotel basement, great to finish off the day in using the spa facilities, extremely happy with our room which was a small double but had ample space, the food & stay at the hotel was most enjoyable. Well recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stayed here with my family at Easter this year.
The room was great, food yummy and the staff really friendly! The swimming pool and spa were great. My little brother and I enjoyed it as there was a jacuzzi and squirting jets in the big pool.
When we went ski-ing , it was a short walk to the lifts so Mum and Dad didn't have to carry our stuff too far!
The hotel was lovely and I hope to go back next year!!

Room Tip: Try to get a lake facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NyahP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Salzburgerhof
Hotel Salzburgerhof
#3 of 43 in Zell am See
323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Zell am See
Grand Hotel Zell am See
#9 of 43 in Zell am See
561 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Seehof
Hotel Seehof
#8 of 43 in Zell am See
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Stadt Wien
Hotel Stadt Wien
#2 of 43 in Zell am See
380 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Neue Post
Hotel Neue Post
#5 of 43 in Zell am See
226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Zell am See
Romantik Hotel Zell am See
#6 of 43 in Zell am See
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tirolerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tirolerhof

Property: Hotel Tirolerhof
Address: Auerspergstrasse 5 | 5700, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Zell am See
#1 Romantic Hotel in Zell am See
#1 Spa Hotel in Zell am See
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zell am See
#2 Family Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Tirolerhof 4.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tirolerhof is a quietly located spa hotel in the centre of Zell am See, at the foot of the Schmittenhohe mountain and only a few steps away from Lake Zell.The newly renovated Elements Panorama Spa on the fourth floor offers a wide range of wellness applications and beautiful views of the mountains and the lake.Bathing and sauna pleasures are also offered in the 1,000 m² Tirolerhof Aquarena, which features a swimming pool, a Jacuzzi, a relaxation room with water beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Tirolerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tirolerhof Hotel Zell Am See
Tirolerhof Zell Am See

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing