We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never changes still excellent”
Review of Hotel Tirolerhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Tirolerhof
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Zell am See
Certificate of Excellence
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Never changes still excellent”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We haven't been back to the this hotel for over 15 years. We went when our children were small and enjoyed it so much that we always said we would go back- and we are so pleased that we have.
Nothing has changed in terms of excellence, the attention to detail and the quality of the food is the best you could get. (The only thing that has changed is an update - which is fabulous)The staff are particularly friendly and value their customers (we have continued to get a Christmas card and even the odd gift from the family every Year since our last visit!)
The cleanliness, location and service at the hotel cannot be beaten. It isn't a cheap hotel but you definitely get what you pay for and this is worth paying for, especially when you get Elemis products to use in your room along with robes and slippers.
The spa is absolutely to die for and the treatments wonderful- a must for any spa loving person.
There is nothing to complain about , we had a couple of niggles that were personal to us,
One being that the afternoon snack that is included in the price includes just a cake and not a drink which we found a bit strange - a cup of tea with it would have been nicer.
And secondly being Austrian the sauna and steam room requested that you do not wear swimming costumes - so you have to be naked to use them - purely as a personal choice I would like to have had the option of a costume.
But if you want a fabulous holiday in Zell this is your place!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank micksmith9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    868
    154
    37
    10
    5
See reviews for
239
617
25
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rosh ha'ayin,Israel
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

we stayed 6 nights at this pleasent hotel in a romantic vacation. The hotel is beautiful , well maintained, with nice rooms.
staff is very kind and ready for all help guests needed. The Spa - swimming pool and 4 different sauna rooms are excellent and we enjoyed it very much. we took also a massage which was very proffesional.
the best thing was the meals - breakfast and especially dinner with 5 courses which where surprising every day - the Chef of this hotel is a magician who is doing a perfect job!!
Dont miss it
to summerize - we recommend this lovely hotel very much

Room Tip: Try to have a room in the renovated new department
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shlomi31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Outstanding room with all amenities, balcony with fresh air. Included in the very reasonable price, full breakfast and very good 5 course meal. Don't pass this one up. The bathroom is worth the price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DottoreTomasso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

One word “Fantastic”

We for a week from the 2nd March and it had to be of the best and most relaxing Ski weeks we have had. Starting with the skiing it was amazing great snow coupled with sunshine “blue sky’s” every day what more could you want.

As for the Tirolerhof as I said in the title Fantastic it was a great place to stay from arrival to departure.

On arrival we were treated to a glass of Fizz and made to feel extremely welcome told to take a seat by the big open fire and relax while our cases were taken to the room and we checked in. The room its self was nice with a great view of the mountains and the lake, I know some people on Trip Advisor have commented that they didn’t have a very good view from their room but hey when you are in the Alps you get some amazing views all day long and hay the hotel itself more than makes up for the lack of view if you don’t get one.

The Staff were all very friendly and helpful, especially Peter our waiter who was very accommodating, nothing was too much trouble especially helping sort out another guest who had quite demanding dietary requirements.

Which brings me onto the food which was great, one or two odd dishes but as a whole very tasty and extremely well presented. It was almost to Michelin standard it was that good, there was always plenty to eat and finished off with some very nice deserts. Also if you have ever stayed in Austria and had a farmers/Austrian buffet they can be a bit limited yet this one would take some beating.

The Spa area in the basement was excellent which included different Steam, Sauna and relaxation rooms to chill out in and a lovely pool although small was well equipped with a number of different hydrotherapy jets perfect for relaxing tiered muscles after skiing, and if you have still got the energy after being on the slopes all day there is even a swim flow jet in the pool which I used quite a lot, there was also a small gym area to use as well. If the Tirolerhof were in the UK you would probably be charged for the privilege to use such a lovely relaxing Sap area. The only thing we still can’t get our heads around it is the European way of thinking when it comes to bathing costumes and towels some things are best left covered up not that we were to bothered as we tended to use the Spa when it was quiet!!!

On the top floor of the there is another private Spa which you can book along with some treatment rooms offering a number of treatments and packages for him and her, from facials to massages you do have to pay for these but are well worth it.

On departure we were even given a little cookbook produced by the hotels Head Chef with some of his favourite dishes which was a nice touch.

The hotel itself is well located with just a short walk into the centre of Zell Am See, down to the lake or up to the City Express gondolier. Our favourite place to go was Crazy Daisies for Après-ski strait from the slopes or for a quite drink after dinner either sitting outside or at the bar, we didn’t eat there but the food always looked and smelt good and the place was always busy.

Room Tip: Send a nice email to the hotel first and ask for a room with a view before you arrive :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank landlw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Nice rooms, excellent spa, superb food, great staff especially Elizabeth in the restaurant.
Faultless really. I would certainly go back as it seemed to tick every box for a skiing holiday. My kids are 9 and 12 and the pool and spa were a welcome activity after skiing was finished for the day.

Room Tip: The higher the better I think so a room beginning with 5 would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Martin99990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in March and found it very good indeed. However, despite being a family run hotel we were surprised that the Posch family who run the establishment do not circulate with the guests or make themselves known at all. Whilst we did see the family in their managing role it would have been nice to see them associate with their guests and be more friendly. A smile, after all, costs nothing!

Room Tip: Our room was fine. However the beds are very hard. Ask for a mattress topper and extra pillows
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank franh810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Just came back from a week at the Tirolerhof. Fanstastic hotel. Perfect for families. We had 2 junior suites which were ample. Unfortunately could not offer interconnecting rooms which can be an issue with younger children. Food is in abundance and superb. Service and staff are excellent. Spa is beautiful and pool area is child friendly.
Could not fault it at all!
The resort is fantastic offering all levels of skiing plus ice skating, water slides. Everything is organised and efficient. Loved every minute and would definitely recommend!

Room Tip: If you have young children make sure you call the hotel directly to ask for interconnecting rooms. Y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dynamicTrio123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Zell am See
Grand Hotel Zell am See
#9 of 43 in Zell am See
569 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Salzburgerhof
Hotel Salzburgerhof
#3 of 43 in Zell am See
335 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Seehof
Hotel Seehof
#8 of 43 in Zell am See
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Neue Post
Hotel Neue Post
#5 of 43 in Zell am See
229 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Stadt Wien
Hotel Stadt Wien
#1 of 43 in Zell am See
388 reviews
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Zell am See
Romantik Hotel Zell am See
#7 of 43 in Zell am See
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tirolerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tirolerhof

Property: Hotel Tirolerhof
Address: Auerspergstrasse 5 | 5700, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Zell am See
#2 Family Hotel in Zell am See
#2 Spa Hotel in Zell am See
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zell am See
#2 Luxury Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Tirolerhof 4.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tirolerhof is a quietly located spa hotel in the centre of Zell am See, at the foot of the Schmittenhohe mountain and only a few steps away from Lake Zell.The newly renovated Elements Panorama Spa on the fourth floor offers a wide range of wellness applications and beautiful views of the mountains and the lake.Bathing and sauna pleasures are also offered in the 1,000 m² Tirolerhof Aquarena, which features a swimming pool, a Jacuzzi, a relaxation room with water beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Tirolerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tirolerhof Hotel Zell Am See
Tirolerhof Zell Am See

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing