We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ski Week 23rd-30th March 2013”
Review of Hotel Tirolerhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Tirolerhof
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Zell am See
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ski Week 23rd-30th March 2013”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Excellent food, large modern room, spotless, helpful friendly staff, nice balcony with a good view of the lake, comfortable beds, great location etc etc etc... as everyone else has said, it really is excellent. Pool and hot tub were great, didnt use the sauna area downstairs as it was a 'nude' zone, as most saunas are abroad but had a quick look and it looked fab too. I checked in online whilst I was there for the return flight and they very kindly printed off our boarding passes (poster size at first - the receptonist and myself laughed about that for ages, they were bigger than me!!). They also gave us all a Tirolerhof Cookery book on check out, which was a lovely touch and the recipes look great!
There is only one minor critisim, there were no black out curtains which meant I was awake every morning at sunrise. Apparently the rooms in the older part have black out linings, so if you are a light sleeper request a room that does has them. I'm sure, had I have asked for some, they would have supplied a pair as nothing seemed to much trouble for the staff but as it was March, it didnt start getting light until just after 6am, so I didnt really mind that much but in the summer it would be a pain.
As for no tea and coffee making facilities in the room, very simple, buy a travel kettle! I go away all the time and 99% of hotels abroad dont supply them, so if you like a cup of tea first thing, its worth the £10.00 investment.

SKI SCHOOL TIP: If you are a 2nd week skier and you have booked Intersport Ski School, make sure you ask for Jackie Wolf as your ski instructor, she is fantastic. I learnt more in the 3 days I was in her class, than I did in a week at New Year in Cirvinia and a week last month in Verbier.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rebecca h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    870
    156
    37
    11
    5
See reviews for
240
619
26
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We've just spent the last week at the Tirolerhof and find it quite difficult to find enough superlatives to adequately describe just how much we enjoyed staying there. We arrived at around six in the evening, were immediately welcomed, made to feel very relaxed and comfortable, and given a complementary glass of sparkling wine. We were given a welcome pack and had the essentials described to us. All our luggage was taken away to our room, or the ski room, and we were left to start enjoying ourselves. All our initial impressions of the hotel were that we'd made a great choice and this was going to be a week to remember.

Main areas of the hotel are a perfect blend of traditional and modern and are all very comfortable, and there is nothing about the place we would ever want to change, it was just about perfect. Our room was a good size with more than enough space for us and all our ski stuff, with room to spare for relaxing and spreading out. Everywhere was immaculately clean, fully functioning, and completely faultless. We had a good sized TV with a wide range of channels and radio, and free wifi when we needed it.

The restaurant experience was just amazing, both the efficiency of the way it was run and the quality and variety of the food. We felt that the all the food was so good and beautifully presented that the hotel price was justified by that alone. We loved everything we were given and even the wine prices were very reasonable.

The spa and wellness centre was simply amazing with a huge range of facilities and options, and it was always spotless.

The bar and lounge area was a particularly nice place to be with plenty of seating either at the bar or in the lounge, and free snacks were provided every evening at four. Musical entertainment was provided a couple of times while we were there.

All the staff without exception were always so cheerful, helpful, and very friendly. Everyone seemed to be doing everything they possibly could to ensure that we were having the best possible experience. We really can't say enough good things about this hotel and for us it really was perfect. We really can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLKmaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed here 9-16 March and I have to say my fellow tripadvisor reps are right. It certainly deserves its' place up there. The presentation of the hotel is meticulously clean, the staff friendly, the rooms and bathroom very well appointed. Beds really comfortable.

Food, now here's something worth talking about. Choices every night,4 course, superb array of salads, soups, main courses. All well presented and cooked to perfection. Breakfasts superb again, that good I hardly bothered with the hot dishes. On one night they did an international buffet, which I can only say was one of the best I have ever come across. In fact I would not normally endorse buffets as opposed to Table d'hote, but in this case I could make an exception for another night as long as they did not reduce the range of offerings. Misgivings on the food were the fruit juice in the morning were concentrates you would pick up in a budget supermarket. I personally would have liked to have desserts with chocolate, and the nearest I got to one was a light chocolate mousse.

The staff really professional, friendly and accommodating. The day before we arrived i wanted to upgrade which was answered immediately by the hotel. Our waiter Peter was brilliant, and I even bothered to google some austrian greetings for him only to find out he was hungarian !!

The location is also superb for the cityexpress lift (200yds), and if you use the Hervis ski hire shop on the way up you can leave your shoes during the day and skis/boots in the shop at night without having to walk back to the hotel and use their ski room in the basement. The hotel also offers a shuttle to the lift if you wish. For skiing in kaprun or Schmittental you are only a similar distance walk away to the ski bus stop next to the post office. Shops, restaurants, supermarket, and the lake are all within 2- 10 mins walk away.

The railway station is a similar distance, and for a mere £16 euros you can catch a train to Salzburg (Mozartland), and it takes about 1hr 30mins. Great value and an absolutely beautiful city with castle, river, squares galore, and a myriad of alleyways in the old town..

One caveat to choosing the Tirolerof is that the Grand has the most idyllic location on the shores of the lake, but from some friends who stayed there and comments they made they wished they could have stayed in the Tirolerof.

All I can say is Come and see, Zell am See.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmck01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Well from the Minute we arrived we realised we had come somewhere pretty special. The service you get as soon as you step foot in the door is unbelievable and it continued throughout the week. Unfortunately the skiing wasn't the best but the hotel definitely made up for it.
The food was excellent every day even if I did over indulge slightly each time, which unfortunately didn't allow me to consume as much alcohol as normal. Much to the displeasure of the regular barman Daniel. He had what seemed an encyclopaedia of alcohol knowledge in his head which he was keen to share and we were keen to listen and try of course. Special mention goes to the main man Max for being generally a nice guy even if his knowledge of schnapps was limited!!!also another barmaid bryony kept us entertained with her ability to spill and drop things!! Ha also our waiter tony was always amazingly efficient.
Altogether we had an amazing holiday, being in our 20s we thought it may be the wrong age range but we were wrong. The friendliness of everyone at this hotel made up for it. Made some good friends and we will be returning next year, to sit and annoy Daniel at the bar, drinking White Russians! Cheers Tom and Fi

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomPitkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kildare
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

just back from 3 nights at this hotel.our first time skiing and we enjoyed it immensley.we drove 2hrs from munich and we were wrecked when we arrived, however the complimentary glass of prosecco and the cosy log fire soon had us back in action.
the rooms are spotless and the bathrooms lovely with complimentary elemis products robes and slippers.
zell am see is a beautiful place and its suited to non skiers as well. i dont ski and i found plenty to occupy my time.
food in hotel is wonderful as is the service.i would not class this hotel 5 star but ist a 4 star plus.
excellent location in centre of town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KildareCian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is a really good hotel, it's spotlessly clean, comfortable, and the food is excellent. It's got a small gym and a nice pool for chilling out in after a days skiing. We didn't make use of any of the spa treatements as they were a little pricey, and the drinks were a little expensive too (29 euros for a bottle of New Zealand wine). The bedrooms were a little hot despite having the heating turned off and the window open, but other than that, it's a great hotel. We are not likely to return to Zell am See again, as the ski area is rather small, and therefore very busy. Also, the piste bashers dont seem to be out much as the slope conditions on some runs were pretty bad. We had some nice lunches in Antonio's, pizza, pasta and lovely indian food.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snoops1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is our second time in as many years to the Tirolerhof. Once again we were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived there was a real homely feel to this magnificent hotel. Immaculately maintained and clean, superb service and the food is as good as you will get at many michelin starred restaurants. You always wonder if the next visit will live up to the expectations of the first. Well this did and more.

Room Tip: Whichever room you choose or are allocated you should not be disappointed. We were in what was clas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Zell am See
Grand Hotel Zell am See
#9 of 43 in Zell am See
569 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Salzburgerhof
Hotel Salzburgerhof
#3 of 43 in Zell am See
337 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Seehof
Hotel Seehof
#8 of 43 in Zell am See
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Neue Post
Hotel Neue Post
#5 of 43 in Zell am See
230 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Stadt Wien
Hotel Stadt Wien
#1 of 43 in Zell am See
388 reviews
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Zell am See
Romantik Hotel Zell am See
#7 of 43 in Zell am See
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tirolerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tirolerhof

Property: Hotel Tirolerhof
Address: Auerspergstrasse 5 | 5700, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Zell am See
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zell am See
#2 Family Hotel in Zell am See
#2 Luxury Hotel in Zell am See
#2 Spa Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Tirolerhof 4.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tirolerhof is a quietly located spa hotel in the centre of Zell am See, at the foot of the Schmittenhohe mountain and only a few steps away from Lake Zell.The newly renovated Elements Panorama Spa on the fourth floor offers a wide range of wellness applications and beautiful views of the mountains and the lake.Bathing and sauna pleasures are also offered in the 1,000 m² Tirolerhof Aquarena, which features a swimming pool, a Jacuzzi, a relaxation room with water beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Tirolerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tirolerhof Hotel Zell Am See
Tirolerhof Zell Am See

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing