We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Ski trip and excellent hotel!”
Review of Hotel Tirolerhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Tirolerhof
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Zell am See
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Ski trip and excellent hotel!”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

This was my first Skiing holiday, I absolutly loved it. Zell am see is a great place the skiing, bars, shops and the views are breathtaking. We stayed for a week at Hotel Tirolerhof from the moment we arrived late on the Saturday evening we were greeted with a warm welcome and a lovely glass of champagne which was well needed after a long day travelling, our cases were taken straight up to our rooms and then we were shown straight through to the resteraunt for a beautiful meal. The staff couldn't do enough for us throughout the week, so friendly. If you are into your food this is the hotel for you it is very hard to try and describe how fantastic it was, it was all so fresh and so much choice, Several courses and various themed nights so no meal was ever the same. The spa area is lovely nice to relax in after skiing. Last point to add this has to be one of the nicest and cleanest hotels I've ever stayed in, hoping to return again in the near future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    832
    144
    33
    9
    5
See reviews for
232
581
24
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

This is our second stay at this wonderful hotel. As soon as we stepped into the entrance of the hotel we felt a very nice, warm feeling. A nice feeling as we were going to stay here for a week. The receptionist that greeted us, to our wonderful waitress and the head waiter,to the lady chef in the mornings who cooked our eggs just the way we wanted them done, to the chambermaids and the lovely Irish bar attendant to the management, one could not fault them at all. They treated us, and it seems all the other guests, like royality. Well done to them all!!!
We loved the new lay out of the dining room. The food was Michelin star standard at all times. Congratulations to the chefs and assistances in the kitchen.
We would never stay any where else when staying in Zell-Am-See.
Highly recommended. No negative faults at all!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jenniemark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

First visit to this hotel but have been to many nice ski resort hotels in Austria and France - and this is now our favourite. Superb location, extremely friendly and helpful staff, especially our waiter, Peter, and excellent quality of food with plenty of choice. Rooms were very comfortable and a good size. Everything was very clean. No negative comments to make. Will definately visit again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
233 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Skiing holiday week commencing 19th January 2013. I'll start with the good points and then follow up with the bad....The good:
1) On arrival we were greeted with a no fuss check in process. Our cases were taken from us and put in our room without us having to lift a finger. We were given a glass of bubbly to welcome us to the hotel. The service throughout the hotel from top to bottom was first class throughout our stay
2) We booked a Junior Suite. What a fantastic room with a superb bathroom and all the comforts that you could ask for plus some unique and additional added touches. Plenty of storage space and a safe provided.
3) Dining -We ate in the bar when we arrived and throughout our stay we were on a half board basis in the restaurant. What a fantastic choice for breakfast. Both hot and cold I have never stayed anywhere that betters this array of food with freshly cooked eggs/omlettes etc available to order. Our evening meal was superb with several courses and themed evenings
4) The ambience at the hotel was suberb. Very relaxing in the public areas and musical entertainment provided on some evenings.
5) The sauna and pool area was fantastic. Some reports say it is on the small side but we didnt find this. It is a hotel facility after all, not a public lido. Towels and robes provided. Superb.
6) The hotel provides a complimentary shuttle service to the main ski lift. A very useful facility and it worked perfectly
7) Location-spot on. Zell am See is a great resort. It is compact, pretty and the hotel is central. We want to come back in here in Summer to experience a different holiday

Turning to the bad points ...........I've been thinking for days and there arent any.

We will definitely return to this hotel. It is up there with the finest, if not the best that we have stayed at without doubt

Room Tip: Doesnt matter. From the moment you walk through the door nothing goes wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank cheshiremike09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlynch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

It's all been said before I know but this really is a superb family run hotel in a delightful Austrian ski village. The staff couldn't do enough to please and the food was truly wonderful. The pool and 'Saunawelt' are top class and were a most welcome way to warm through and chill out before taking a pre-dinner drink in the impressive hotel bar. Like most Austrian (and other European countries) saunas are taken without swimwear, but my wife felt perfectly comfortable wrapped in a towel as did around half the visitors, so it was never a problem. Each afternoon at 4.00pm there was a tasty snack served in the bar just to keep you going until the 5 or 6 course dinner! These snacks included soup, pasta, sausages and chicken and lovely chips. The hotel is located close to the main square and only a 5 or 10 minute walk from the gondola. Our spacious standard double room was very quiet with very little traffic passing at any time of the day or night. Live music was provided on 3 of the nights in the week we stayed - but a word of warning, the Austrian idea of modern music is perhaps not quite in tune with what we English are used to - how many times did we hear 'Sweet Caroline'? We have stayed at a handful of excellent hotels in Austria and the Dolomites - they rarely disappoint - but the Tirolerhof is a class above. Many guests return year after year and I'm sure we will too!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RobGPratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marske U.k.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Family skiing trip with Crystal Finest. WOW ! What a fantastic hotel ! We were served drinks on our arrival which was a lovely touch. Our room was already available for myself, my wife and our 12 year old daughter. The room was spotless and a decent size even with the sofa bed left down during our weeks stay. The lounge / bar area was really cosy with various free snacks on offer from late afternoon upto around 6p.m. Breakfast was exceptional with a huge choice to satisfy every palate, perfect start to the day. The evening meals were superb with a theme on several nights and the cooked to order crepes were just the best , although no good for the waistline but who cares when they are that good ! We were served by the same waiter every day who bore an uncanny likeness to Novak Djokovic !!! (Not sure about that spelling, but take note if you are served by Peter who was very helpful and polite without being over the top.
The swimming pool as with all areas was immaculate, infact the entire building is a credit to it's owners, management and staff. Will we be back ? Given the chance, absolutely !

Room Tip: Deluxe double was a good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CookieMarskeU_K_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hants, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We've stayed at several hotels in Zell over the years and the Tirolerhof is a cut above the others. We've stayed in the Tirolerhof 4 or 5 times now, with no complaints, it's very friendly and cosy.
The rooms are spacious, we'd recommend going the extra for a junior suites, they are well worth the extra money for the additional space and comfort, especially in the bathroom.
The food at the Tirolerhof is excellent, with friendly and efficient staff. Excellent buffet breakfast selection, plus the omelette station (my favorite). Evening meals are over several courses, different each night, and to a very high standard.
The location is great, just off the main street so quiet, with the City Express chair a 5-10 minutes walk, as is the ice rink - go watch the Ice hockey is there's a game on, excellent fun.
For non-skiers, the hotel advises various activities that are going on, either organised by the hotel or the local tourist office.
The lounge / bar area is a comfortable place to sit and chat or read a book with a glass of wine or beer.
Only downside is the free WiFi, you are forever re-entering your access code, so don't close your iPad cover!.

Room Tip: Go for the junior suites, it's worth the extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WanderingScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Salzburgerhof
Hotel Salzburgerhof
#3 of 43 in Zell am See
323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Zell am See
Grand Hotel Zell am See
#9 of 43 in Zell am See
561 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Seehof
Hotel Seehof
#8 of 43 in Zell am See
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Stadt Wien
Hotel Stadt Wien
#2 of 43 in Zell am See
379 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Neue Post
Hotel Neue Post
#5 of 43 in Zell am See
226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Zell am See
Romantik Hotel Zell am See
#6 of 43 in Zell am See
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tirolerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tirolerhof

Property: Hotel Tirolerhof
Address: Auerspergstrasse 5 | 5700, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zell am See
#1 Romantic Hotel in Zell am See
#1 Spa Hotel in Zell am See
#1 Luxury Hotel in Zell am See
#2 Family Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Tirolerhof 4.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tirolerhof is a quietly located spa hotel in the centre of Zell am See, at the foot of the Schmittenhohe mountain and only a few steps away from Lake Zell.The newly renovated Elements Panorama Spa on the fourth floor offers a wide range of wellness applications and beautiful views of the mountains and the lake.Bathing and sauna pleasures are also offered in the 1,000 m² Tirolerhof Aquarena, which features a swimming pool, a Jacuzzi, a relaxation room with water beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Tirolerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tirolerhof Hotel Zell Am See
Tirolerhof Zell Am See

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing