We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,324)
Filter reviews
1,325 results
Traveler rating
1,054
196
51
15
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,054
196
51
15
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsposch familyjunior suiteexcellent hotelglass of proseccowelcome drinkspecial hotelsauna areastandard roomrelaxation roomeach eveningdessert buffetplenty of storage spacezell amnon skiersfive coursescakeshalf board
Filter
Updating list...
824 - 829 of 1,325 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed at the Tirolerhof in Zel am Zee, Austria from 23rd to 30th December 2011. We had stayed before, 10 years ago, and went back because we had had such a good time before. There were five adults in our party, three shared a junior suite and two shared a double room. 4 of the party were skiers with their own skis and poles, and the large ski-room with lockable storage proved very useful. The hotel runs a free ski-bus to the main ski locations. For the non skier there was plenty to do both in and out of the hotel. A member of staff conducts two-hour guided winter walks twice per week, the hotel lends walking poles free of charge. There is a free apres-ski snack every afternoon - hot dogs, pretzels etc.
The hotel has a fitness centre with a variety of sauna, steam rooms etc and a pool and jacuzzi. Free hot and cold drinks are available whilst relaxing. There is also a well equipped gym. These facilities are all free of charge, although be aware that nakedness is encouraged in the wellness centre, although no-one objected to us wearing costumes.
The new extension to the restaurant opened whilst we were staying but it is a short walk to the buffet bar for breakfast. Staff in the restaurant were couteous and helpful at all times. Food was excellent, both in choice and in quality, and the Christmas Gala dinners were fantastic.
Hotel staff are very keen to help at all times.
A friendly, clean and high quality hotel in an ideal location, with excellent facilities for skiers and non-skiers.

Room Tip: The junior suites are very roomy
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Judy1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

After waiting 10 years to return did not disappoint. Service, rooms and homely feel still there. Love the half board with dinner as makes the ski day a pleasant finish. Love the new Resturant and bar, really can't fault this hotel... Deserves its 4 star premium, if not more.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Perthaussie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We chose this hotel because the Grand was full booked and we are so glad we did. It was first rate and beyond what we expected the Posh family definitely know how to run a hotel. The service was efficient the food good and varied, breakfast are amazing with such a choice to suit all Nations. We arrive at 9.30pm and were offered full dinner menu. As it was my birthday while there I had a delicious cake and the Birthday Song!! We commented on the delicious chutney and asked where we could buy some only to be told that it was home made! We were presented with a sachet of it on our departure which was a nice touch. The room and beds and bathroom were fine, no complaints, we did not have a view just a small balcony but we were not in the room long enough. We found Zell am See delightful small town/village. We took advantage of some tour offers something we rarely do and were pleasantly surprised at how good value they were, we would recommend them. We booked through Thomsons (perhaps only one of 3 or 4 package tours we have ever done) and so enjoyed the experience that we have booked another with them for 2012 so hope to review another excellent hotel!! Watch out for my review of Thassos!!

Room Tip: I do believe the 'stream side' rooms would be noisy for some people.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Semperfidelis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Loved the hotel. Great location and service. Staff are excellent from the wonderful owner-family to front office and f&b staff. Waiting staff could do with a bit of training on British clientele (the vast majority) as this would help no end make the experience more individualised. Upselling in the restaurant was way too pushy (wine and water) but if you can get passed that dinner is of superior quality.
Breakfast is also great.
Reception team are super helpful.
I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jruizuk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2011

This was our 8th visit and again everything was excellent. Bar service could have been better this year but apart from that, could not complain yet again. Certainly it is great value for money. Food excellent as are the rooms along with the leisure facilities. New treatment rooms on the roof are unbelievable and then staff up there are so pleasant. Those people who complain about this hotel are either very picky or very unlucky. It has been excellent each year we have been. We have already booked for next September. Roll it on!! Also the town of
Zell am see is an ideal location and the people are so friendly.

Room Tip: We have found all the rooms we have had fitted our needs. No stream on south side so maybe slightly quieter. But not much in it. We now try to book the same room each year. We are maybe boring but we know what we like.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dandl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews