We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (185)
Filter reviews
185 results
Traveler rating
93
70
16
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
93
70
16
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews centre of town excellent hotel zell am central location week in march large bathroom excellent room ski storage room zell em see enjoyed our stay breakfast and dinner minute walk ski lift couple of nights bars and restaurants hotel facilities breakfast was excellent
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 185 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2019 via mobile

We booked this hotel for 3 nights to attend a wedding in the town. Booked a double room but ended up with a lovely self catering apartment with extra living room and balcony. Rooms were lovely and clean, reception staff were very helpful and spoke very good english for us!
Had the Buffet breakfast each morning which was pretty decent, not as many cooked breakfast items as we are used to and only 1 toaster and coffee machine on the go but great selection of continental hams and cheeses and a few pastries! Didn’t have to queue too much.
Location was quite central to the town at the end of the high st and easily found being painted nicely green!
Very reasonable prices for what we got. Didn’t end up trying the restaurant but menu looked quite good and was always full of an evening so must be ok.
Would love to stay here again.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank SheenaC812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2019

This is my second visit to the Gruner Baum, the hotel is in a central location of the town only a 5 minute walk from the Cityxpress chairlift.
Our group had single rooms which were of good size the cleanliness of the rooms was very good.
The food in the hotel was excellent and the staff were friendly and efficient.
From my initial enquiry the hotel was helpful and arranged our transfer from Salzburg Airport to the hotel and return again, the transfers took the stress out trying to find our own transfer.
As a group we enjoyed our stay and cannot find fault with the hotel or the staff. If returning to Zell am See the Gruner Baum will be my first choice.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wfhflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2019

This hotel an ideal location for a ski trip, in centre of town and couple of hundred metres walk to main ski lift. Plenty of shops, bars and restaurants in immediate vicinity but noise was not a problem in a room overlooking busy street.
Breakfast each morning was excellent with large selection of hot and cold options.
Staff were friendly and helpful and provided me with adapter plug when I hadn't packed one.
There is a ski storage room at hotel but there is a very convenient locker facility for €2 per day at top of City Express lift if you want to avoid lugging skis, boots, etc to the slopes every day.
Note that reception is not open early morning so if you have to leave early, discuss with hotel in advance.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank pc100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2019 via mobile

We stayed in the apartments that belong to the hotel. From the original booking to check out, the hotel couldn’t do enough to help. They organised taxi transfers and answered any queries we had about restaurants etc.
We didn’t really use the hotel facilities but the apartments themselves were spotless. The towels and beds were changed daily. They were perfect for us and our two teenagers. From what we saw of the hotel, it was modern and clean.
The location is right in the centre of the village. On a couple of nights you could here people coming out of bars and clubs if you had the window open but as soon as it was shut, it was fine. You can’t expect to stay somewhere so central without hearing passers by.
The hotel bar is lovely-very traditional. The restaurant was also very good, serving traditional Austrian cuisine.
Zell am See has something for everyone and is a great location for a ski holiday.
We were really pleased with our choice of accommodation and we intend to return.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank MuchTravelledBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2019 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for 1 night, but liked it so much that I extended for another night. From here I visited the Eagle's Nest in Berchtesgaden, which was only a relatively short distance away. The staff helped me by finding out relevant information about the trip there.
The hotel was very clean, good quality, and the.breakfast was excellent, with hot bacon and scrambled eggs which is unusual for European hotels I found.
I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank WiganFireblade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews