We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hotel Gruener Baum

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Gruener Baum
Ranked #18 of 42 Hotels in Zell am See
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Great location, lifts only a 5 minute walk away. Wifi was not the best for our room, had to stay in 1 corner of the room to get even a decent signal. Breakfast was downstairs and included in the price, made getting food before a day on the slopes very easy. Overall a great stay for the price when you consider how close it is to everything.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank merrill454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 158 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2013

A group of 4 of us stayed here on Jan 2013 for a 5 night skiing break. We had 2 double rooms. The rooms were warm and spacious with substantial balconies, bathrooms great, good shower. The rooms were facing their own apartments, and across to the start of the bar area so there was a little noise, but the windows-doors were double glazed so not too noisy. The rooms were very light at night - outside lighting I think, and the pillows weren't great. Facilities were good, they have a sauna, games room, ski-room. We had a b and b deal - breakfasts were efficiently run, plenty to choose from - typical Austrian breakfast fare - wish they didn't put speck in the scrambled egg though - one down side - the juice was awful, like very very weak squash, but not untypical of the country.The staff were always friendly and helpful. There was some noise in the hotel - but that was just other inconsiderate guests coming in late at night ...

Room Tip: Rooms in the part of the hotel where reception is will be quieter, the other part of the hotel is ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Gruner Baum. First off, the wifi was free and the signal strength in the room was better than most hotels. Also, the room was a great size with a balcony and a large shower in the bathroom. And finally, the breakfast was great. The staff was nice enough to make a pack breakfast for us the night before we departed as we were leaving before breakfast opened. The staff at the front desk was less than helpful about tourist information in the area, so we just stopped asking. Instead, stick to the tourist information in the town.

The attached restaurant makes a wonderful wiener schnitzel, so be sure to stop by for that!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gumchain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Hotel staff were very friendly, making us feel very comfortable and part of the community celebrations over the Christmas week.rooms were immaculate, cleaners so helpful and understanding when our son had 2 nights of bad nose bleeds and full changes of bed linen were required. Unusual lay out of hotel I.e. rooms in one building and dining room across the road, accessed via a tunnel under the road if weather is bad. Reception staff were lovely. Dining room staff superb. Food was beautiful, buffets allowed for all tastes to be catered for. Sauna and pool room in basement. Christmas week clients full of families and couples who come back here year after year, and I can understand why. Located near the town square, carol service on Christmas Eve was wonderful, Christmas Day community event at the lake ( tree dive with fireworks) was a real spectacle. Ski lockers easy to find near the lifts, 5 mins walk away. Skiing superb. Location at beautiful lake, good shopping, après ski bars, Irish pub beside the hotel highly recommended (ask for Declan from Dublin), basement bar in nearby lebzelt Keller atmosphere, staff and decor must not be missed. Great holiday for us with 2 teenage boys. Highly recommended!

Stayed: December 2012
Thank Ursula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed here August/Sept 2012 for 4 days.
Good location right in the centre so easy to walk anywhere. The free carpark was also a bonus as most of the hotels we visited during our trip charged for carparking.
We took the chance to upgrade our room which was good value, we had a large room with a recently modernised bathroom.
We had excellant views up the mountain from our balcony.
We took the half board option which was good value, a 3 course meal with a different menu each night and the food was good quality.
Breakfast was plentiful and food was brought out regularly to ensure it was fresh.
The staff were extremely pleasant, friendly and helpful.
The downside was that our room looked over the carpark to the apartments, and the noise from some guests who shouted either to talk to people in the carpark or to other guests in other apartments meant that you had to close your windows.
Not the Hotels fault but that of inconsiderate guests

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wfhflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I spent a few days here at the begining of August with my partner, and we both had a really great time.

There are three parts to the complex. the guest house, hotel and serviced appartments. We stayed in the hotel and the rooms were large, with a balcony looking out to the ski slopes (all green and grassy but still a great view). The bathroom was modern, clean and had a huge shower. Breakfast was great and had a good selection to choose from.

Now I must say, we arrived on a Wednesday night, little to our knowledge, Wednesday night is a party night in the summer, it was awsome night. We ended up in the night club under the hotel when the street party ended. So a word of warning to those who like it quite... this place is in the thick of it, so stay on the other side of the lake if you want to go to sleep listening to crickets chirp. If you are a bit of a night owl and like good food and beer, then this place is perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Great hotel situated in the centre of Zell am See. The rooms are clean and very comfortable. The staff are very friendly. The food is very reasonable at the hotel also very good although they stop serving at 10.

Room Tip: If you want it quiet ask for a room off the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tirolerhof
Hotel Tirolerhof
#1 of 42 in Zell am See
1,200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Zell am See
Grand Hotel Zell am See
#11 of 42 in Zell am See
602 reviews
0.1 mi away
Feinschmeck
Feinschmeck
#19 of 42 in Zell am See
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Seehof
Hotel Seehof
#8 of 42 in Zell am See
344 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel St. Georg
Hotel St. Georg
#13 of 42 in Zell am See
398 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Neue Post
Hotel Neue Post
#5 of 42 in Zell am See
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gruener Baum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gruener Baum

Address: Seegasse 1 | Sebastian-Horl-Strasse 5, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range: $167 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gruener Baum 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family-run hotel is centrally located on the pedestrian zone in the famous mountain town of Zell am See - in the south of Salzburg province. Free car parking is available in our hotel-owned underground garage or adjacent to the hotel. All our rooms and apartments are equipped with modern facilities, including complimentary wireless Internet. Our cuisine is traditional Austrian and our à la Carte restaurant is well established as one of Zell am Sees most popular dining destinations. The Zeller lake, the mountain cable cars of the Schmittenhöhe and the stylish nightlife of Zell am See are all within a few minutes walking distance from the Hotel Grüner Baum. The golf course in Zell am See (36 holes), the Kitzsteinhorn glacier skiing resort and the newly built Tauern SPA in Kaprun are only a short car drive away. Throughout the region a wide variety of exciting cultural and sporting events, beautiful golf courses and not forgetting the breathtaking panoramic views of the Alps await you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Gruener Baum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gruener Baum Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing