We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice friendly hotel”
Review of Hotel Seehof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Seehof
Ranked #8 of 42 Hotels in Zell am See
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2009

Very nice comfortable hotel. Excellent location for the town for apres ski, but set just round the corner so no noise is experienced. Only a few minutes walk to the lifts for Zell, or the bus stop for Kaprun.

Staff are very good and professional, and go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. Food was to a good standard, rooms were clean, warm and an endless supply of hot water.

Only negative is the hotel situated next to a train line - rooms facing the lake will hear a few trains passing by. They stop during the night, and we never had any issues to sleep.

If returing to Zell am See, we would return to this hotel without question.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DarrenDLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

257 - 263 of 339 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2009

We don't normally do these reviews or take too much notice of them but in this case we felt we should definately pass on our recommendation.
We stayed here for the Christmas week for a skiing holiday with our two boys 13 and 16. From the first step into the reception area of the Seehof to the time we left, we were made very welcome. The staff were so very friendly and always willing to help. The quality and presentation of the 4 course dinner was excellent as was the buffet continental breakfast. We found the drinks in the hotel to be the lowest priced in the village!
The rooms might be classed as small (as written in our holiday brochure) but we didn't think this at all. They were kept clean and serviced daily. There was even a hairdryer! Our rooms were overlooking the church. The bells were quite loud but you get used to them and they do not ring through the night. A train line runs passed the front of the Seehof but again the noise wasn't enough to be a problem. Whether your room is at the front or at the back of the hotel the views are stunning. The position in the village was ideal with about a 3 minute walk to the shops and about 10 minutes to the main gondola. The ski resort was more than satisfying for us as good intermediate skiers.The ski bus pickup point is about 3 minutes walk away if you wanted to travel further afield. We cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pccl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2008

This was our 12th stay in Zell am see and our 6th stay at the Hotel Seehof. We have seen the transformation from an always friendly and welcoming hotel to a superb hotel well worth a stay both summer and winter. We are a married couple who take my wife's elderly father who is in his eighties with us and we all agree the food is excellent, staff excellent, the rooms are clean and tidy, The hosts very friendly who go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. Superb terraced area recently revamped to a high standard. We have been to the rest of the hotels around the lake over the years but always find the Hotel Seehof out does them on hospitality and value. Already booked for next year. We can't wait

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank quickdarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2008

very friendly staff exellent food clean and comfortable room we plan to visit zell again next year and the seehof will be our first choice of hotel.

Stayed: August 2008
Thank cabb14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2008

My partner and I have just returned from the Seehof; and let me just add what a fantastic hotel. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, the rooms were comfortable and spotless. As for food, there was very good breakfast cold buffet (with cooked eggs and bacon on request), and the evening four course meal was of an high standard. We had an lake view room with balcony, which was lovely. Very light sleepers with a lake view room may be disturbed by the trains, so they may want to take earplugs just in case; however, it was absolutely fine for us, and the amazing view is well worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank climbeverymountain71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2008

We stayed in Hotel Seehof the last week of February. The hotel has got a perfect location in Zell am See. It´s close to everything but it has also got a quiet location. Our room had a wounderful view of the lake and the sourrounding mountains.

The room we stayed in was very nice and spacious. The hotel is rated with 3-stars and we felt that it gives a very good value for money, especially if you add half-board.

The staff are very friendly and also english spoken.

We can warmely recomend this hotel!

Ingemar Fridmar, Stockholm, Sweden

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Sputnik_SE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2008

Stayed here for a skiing trip, Hotel was very clean and nice, rooms were just what you needed, we had veiws of the lake which also meant that we had the railway line under our window, but this didn't really bother me or any of the party that much.
Staff were better than some 5 star hotels, felt like you were staying with the family for a week.
Food was the biggest surprise, simple menu, cooked everynight to perfection. We did not have a bad meal all week, I would go back for the food alone.
For a small team that runs the hotel they make you feel very welcome and very special.
Location is excellent for skiing and for just everything else.
If you are thinking of a short break or a weeks stay I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kiff69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tirolerhof
Hotel Tirolerhof
#3 of 42 in Zell am See
1,188 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Zell am See
Grand Hotel Zell am See
#11 of 42 in Zell am See
595 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Neue Post
Hotel Neue Post
#5 of 42 in Zell am See
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel St. Georg
Hotel St. Georg
#13 of 42 in Zell am See
395 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Stadt Wien
Hotel Stadt Wien
#2 of 42 in Zell am See
406 reviews
0.2 mi away
AlpenParks Hotel & Apartment Central Zell am See
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seehof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seehof

Address: Salzmannstrasse 3, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Zell am See
#4 Romantic Hotel in Zell am See
#6 Family Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range: $102 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Seehof 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our cosy Traditional Hotel embedded between the unique mountain lake and the historic town centre of Zell am See. As a family run Hotel we stand for an exceptional personal service. It is our aim for your holiday to be as pleasant and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Seehof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seehof Hotel Zell Am See
Seehof Zell Am See

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing