We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely outstanding”
Review of Hotel Seehof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Seehof
Ranked #8 of 42 Hotels in Zell am See
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

The staff and food in this hotel is outstanding. Even when compared with restaurants it is faultless. The only thing is that it is close to the railway line and the complimentary earplugs are definitely required but the hotel can't be held responsible for that. Essentially highly recommended.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Will J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (344)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

160 - 166 of 344 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2014

I would really recommend this hotel for a relaxing stay in Zell am See. The staff were so polite, helpful and friendly at all times. We had a problem with the childrens' mattress and a radiator which I managed to turn off by accident. Both problems were seen to almost immediately. I love a bath after skiing and although we only had a shower, it was easy to use a bathroom whenever I felt like having a bath.
The room was clean and very pleasantly decorated in easy on the eye colours. The bed was comfortable and everything was spotlessly clean.
We had a balcony and overlooked the lake.
There was a very good buffet breakfast with a choice of hot dishes every day, fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurt and fresh bread with a variety of spreads, cheeses and cold meats.
The coffee could have been better though in the evening it was possible to have better coffee. The tea was fine.
The restaurant was pleasantly decorated and light and airy.
The evening meals were excellent with a choice of fish, meat and plenty of choice for vegetarians.
The hotel is handy for Apres Ski, being near the centre. It is also not far from the ski school and lifts.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would definitely come back and stay in the same hotel.

Room Tip: There are mountain facing rooms where you won't hear the trains at all or lake facing rooms whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Spent the first week in Feb at Hotel Seehoff.

Firstly, I can honestly say that Zell Am See is one of the nicest little towns we've ever visited.

The hotel was absolutely fantastic and I couldn't recommend it enough.

The rooms are quite small but in a nice and cosy way, the cleanliness was excellent, the view of the lake from tour bedroom window was stunning.

From reading some of the previous reviews before we went I was a little concerned about some of the comments about the railway being noisy. In the day time there were passenger trains that stopped at the station so the breaking caused some quite load high pitched screeching however, this was only really loud with the windows open. In the evening there was the occasional freight train that didn't stop at the station so they were far less noisy, with the window closed you could barely hear it all. I'm a fairly light sleeper and there wasn't a single night that it woke me up.

Every member of staff was really polite and friendly, we were always greeted with a smile.

The food was AMAZING! The half board option was just a bonus for us as we usually like to eat at different places each night. We intended on eating at the hotel the first night and breakfast then eating elsewhere during the rest of our evenings, however! The food was that good we ended up eating at the hotel every night, I've honestly had food from 5* hotels that wasn't as nice.

Lovely place, amazing country, great food and great people.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nathan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed for a week over Christmas 2013 it was a wonderful hotel with really nice & helpful staff. The food was really good and a great location.-----------------------------------------------------------------

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AobhM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

After 10 years of skiing holidays - I think I have finally found the perfect place. So, Hotel Seehof, it's set in the beautiful village of Zell am See, right on the lake front. This is a 3 star hotel with 5 star cuisine and staff. The rooms are nice, comfy beds, not the most modern but more than good enough for a weeks skiing.

The food was truly amazing - seriously, every meal was totally top draw.

The staff (particularly the Irish girl!) were also truly amazing, we didn't arrive till after 9pm and they saved us dinner - we also had to leave at 5am on our departure day, and they (with out us even asking) made sandwiches for us.

We can't wait to stay again!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pape100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

My husband and I spent the Christmas holidays and new years eve at the hotel, and everything was just perfect. The price was reasonable, the food very delicious and the staff extremely friendly, helpful and always in a great mood! The room was small but comfy, and everyday it was cleaned. The Wi-Fi was fast and it worked continuosly.
I will absolutely and gladly recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rikke-louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

This delightful hotel made our stay there over the Christmas week 2013 a real joy!
Every single member of the staff worked so hard to make our experience over the holiday period special and the welcoming hospitality shown to us by the hotel owner Eva and her colleagues made us feel very at home.
The hotel is impeccably maintained and attractively furnished including a super private sauna area available for booking. However that which deserves special mention must be the cuisine.
As long time visitors to Austria we are very familiar with hotel restaurants and the food which you can expect to find on offer but this far exceeded our expectations and it is no exaggeration to say possibly the finest we have ever enjoyed.
Based on our week at Christmas we would thoroughly recommend the Seehof in Zell am See.

Room Tip: Be aware that the small rooms are exactly that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tirolerhof
Hotel Tirolerhof
#1 of 42 in Zell am See
1,198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Zell am See
Grand Hotel Zell am See
#10 of 42 in Zell am See
602 reviews
0.2 mi away
AlpenParks Hotel & Apartment Central Zell am See
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
MAVIDA Wellnesshotel & Sport Zell am See
0.1 mi away
Hotel Neue Post
Hotel Neue Post
#5 of 42 in Zell am See
243 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel St. Georg
Hotel St. Georg
#13 of 42 in Zell am See
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seehof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seehof

Address: Salzmannstrasse 3, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Zell am See
#4 Romantic Hotel in Zell am See
#6 Family Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range: $95 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Seehof 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our cosy Traditional Hotel embedded between the unique mountain lake and the historic town centre of Zell am See. As a family run Hotel we stand for an exceptional personal service. It is our aim for your holiday to be as pleasant and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Seehof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seehof Hotel Zell Am See
Seehof Zell Am See

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing