We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All's well in Zell”
Review of Hotel Seehof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Seehof
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Zell am See
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“All's well in Zell”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Just returned from Ski holiday to Zell am See with Crystal. We stayed in the Seehof hotel. It was an excellent choice. The staff were all really friendly and the rooms were comfortable. Although the hotel is right next to the railway line this was not a problem. Ear plugs were thoughtfully provided but we didn't use them. Our room faced the back of the hotel with views to the Schmittenhohe ski slopes and the village centre. We were less than 5 minutes walk from the City Express ski gondola in ski boots. The lovely lake is just across the railway line (plenty of crossing points. The hotel food was lovely with a very filling and varied breakfast buffet and a wide choice of salads to accompany the tasty evening meals. And Zipfer Austrian beer or Edelweiss wheatbeer on tap. Yummy.

Room Tip: We went for a rear facing room. Ours on third floor had a balcony with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    64
    18
    6
    5
See reviews for
84
148
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We have recently returned from a ski trip with friends to Zell am See. The owner and staff in Hotel Seehof were just so nice, friendly and very kind. They really made our visit really special. The food was great. The rooms were nice, each with a balcony with a view over the town towards the Schmittenhohe mountain. The hotel also has a great position 2 mins from the town centre and 5 mins walk to the City Xpress gondola for queue free access to the ski slopes. The train station is just round the corner for trips elsewhere and the the ski bus to the Kitzsteinhorn glacier stops there too. It also fronts onto the lake, which is nice.

The location is great but the owner and staff are the real stars, they are what makes this place special.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back get the sun on their balcony and have a great view over the town and up to the top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I wrote a review on the Hotel Seehof four years ago and having just returned from a weeks skiing, the hotel has improved even further. Rooms have been refurbished, dinner time has been extended until 8pm, service is still as good as ever. The owner and her staff really care about this hotel and it comes across in their dealings with their guests. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kanuIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We recently spent a week at the Seehof in Zell am See and had a great time (9th - 16th March). The hotel is warm and welcoming and our room was more like a small suite with a separate bedroom and sitting area that i guess would double as a fourth bed. Our room over looked the lake and although the train line runs along the front of the hotel it certainly didn't ruin our sleep, we were knackered after a days skiing and apres ski. The hotel is close by one of the Inter Sport ski rental shops to pick up equipment, there are four in all in the resort so easy to change stuff if you need too, we had to change a pair of boots on day 2 and we did so with out any hassle. Buses take you to the ski lifts and there is a 5 minute walk to the bus stop. We hired a locker so didn't have to carry everything (4 euro for a 2 person locker and 11 for a four person locker) well worth it not to carry kit everyday. Food in the hotel was great. Breakfast had a great selection as well as scrambled egg and crispy bacon, there is just so much choice. Dinner was chosen at breakfast, again normally 3 choices as well as salad bar, starter, soup, your main course and then dessert. All in all really cannot fault this hotel. Loved the Seehof Zell am See, something for everyone, great cafe's and Apres Ski and would go back again. Thank you for a great stay

Room Tip: Lake side rooms have the train track but don't let it put you off, the trains really are not th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I have recently arrived back in the U.K after spending a week in Zell am See at this impeccable hotel. The hotel was clean, well positioned and served fantastic food. With regards to the staff, they were extremely helpful and polite, especially an irish waitress named Shinead who is simply a credit to Hotel Seehof. I will definitely consider spending another week here in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adam112233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nailsea, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We were lucky enough to return to the Seehof for a long weekend recently, as we wanted to experience Zell am See in it's (late) winter clothes. We were very spoiled once again by our lovely hosts and can now boast that we've stayed in one of the gorgeous apartments! We had a very warm welcome on our arrival and were delighted that everyone remembered us from our previous visit.

The sun shone all weekend and the slopes were buzzing with those keen to catch every hour they could fit in on their skis and snowboards. We just enjoyed watching them whilst sipping our coffee and sampling the many cakes on offer in the cafes on the mountains. In this location you're spoilt for choice in both Zell and neighbouring Kaprun for fabulous shops, cafes and activities.

Our weekend wouldn't have been complete without a trip to the Tauern Spa in Kaprun which is a short bus ride from Zell. We will definitely be back again as this is a real treat and in our opinion, not to be missed if you have time to devote a day there. Swimming in the heated outdoor pool surrounded by mountains when the sun dips below the horizon is indescribable!

Once again the food at the Seehof was delicious, the facilities were tip-top with very clean accommodation. What more could anyone ask?!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VivienneC69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed here for a week from the 9th of March. From the start the owners/staff were amazing. The food was so good we could see no point in even trying somewhere else for one night. The rooms are cleaned daily and the view from the room across the lake was lovely. We had trouble with two rude guests across the hall but apparently so did everyone else on our floor (no fault of the hotel) We would stay again without even thinking about it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreddieJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tirolerhof
Hotel Tirolerhof
#1 of 43 in Zell am See
1,030 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Zell am See
Grand Hotel Zell am See
#9 of 43 in Zell am See
562 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Neue Post
Hotel Neue Post
#5 of 43 in Zell am See
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Salzburgerhof
Hotel Salzburgerhof
#3 of 43 in Zell am See
324 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Stadt Wien
Hotel Stadt Wien
#2 of 43 in Zell am See
380 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel St. Georg
Hotel St. Georg
#11 of 43 in Zell am See
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seehof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seehof

Property: Hotel Seehof
Address: Salzmannstrasse 3, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Zell am See
#4 Romantic Hotel in Zell am See
#6 Family Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Seehof 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our cosy Traditional Hotel embedded between the unique mountain lake and the historic town centre of Zell am See. As a family run Hotel we stand for an exceptional personal service. It is our aim for your holiday to be as pleasant and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Seehof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seehof Hotel Zell Am See
Seehof Zell Am See

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing