We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apart from feeling 2nd best to neighbouring tourist. Hotel clean and food good.”
Review of Hotel Der Waldhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Der Waldhof
Ranked #14 of 42 Hotels in Zell am See
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2011


Overall we enjoyed our holiday at this resort and hotel. The only thing I would warn against was the way we felt we were treated, maybe it was the time of year and we were the only English guests. But a few times we were made to feel second rate, often ignored and then acknowledged with disdain. But we are not saying this to put you off just to make you aware.
Would still recommend but would like people to be aware that as long as they have plenty of locals you may feel un wanted.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bad1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 252 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2011

Never tried all-inclusive before, and wouldn't have done this time, we hadn't been going with friends who booked the trip. Overall we were very impressed. Good rooms, excellent location, great food and lively bar.

Anyone who comments about the distance from the town, or the steepness of the hill, needs the exercise!

Lots to see and do. Excellent walking in the mountains around Zell am Zee and Kaprun; free walking map can be picked up in the hotel reception or from the helpful information office in town.

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from road are very quiet, except when the dokey is in full voice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BrunoJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

third visit and the best so far,this time we were in the new rooms across the road, which were large and quiet. all-inclusive drinks were a great advantage and saved us allot of money. the hot buffet was good the cold buffet could of done with labels so we could know what we were eating. the only fault with the hotel ( and this is petty ) is that to get to the pool you have to go out side

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharon_a_w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

I have just returned from a stay in Der Waldhof in Zell am See and it is a very nice hotel. The staff are very friendly, particularly the restaurant staff, and all are willing to speak English when needed. The food is a buffet style, which can be a bit chaotic when it is busy, but it is of a high standard and there is plenty of it. Watch out for the 3 metre long apple strudel on BBQ night! The rooms are quite spacious and nicely furnished. Ours overlooked the road but there was no problem with noise. We really enjoyed our stay but feel we were mislead by Crystal who stated in their brochure that it is situated 5 minutes from the town centre. Make that 15 minutes, downhill. If you are looking for a centrally located hotel, then this is not for you, but as I said, the fault here lies with Crystal, who did not make it clear to us where it is. It is quite a hike up to the hotel after a night out, but we enjoyed our stay all the same. We availed of the free bike hire and went around lake Zell several times. The all inclusive drinks are also great as there are no nasty surprises when you come to the end of your holiday and a real bonus was the cake and coffee served between 3 and 5 pm every day. To sum up, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and, I suppose, that long hike uphill helped to work off the many calories consumed during mealtimes at the Waldhof!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alison186470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

This is a nice hotel even if it is a little bit out of town and up a drag of a hill. If you're Seb Coe then you might get down to the lake on 5 minutes but even he wouldn't get back in that time.
The rooms which we had in the main building were very spacious and cleaned every day. Unfortunately the weather was not great when we went and we found that there was very little to do in the hotel on a wet evening, apart from sit in the bar partaking of the all-inclusive drinks. Saying that, only wine and beer were included in the all-inclusive rate which is less of a choice than I have experienced in other hotels.
Food was generally good although some breakfast items ran out early on a fairly regular basis. Making up your own lunch box at the breakfast table was useful and we used it almost every day. Evening meals were usually good although finding a table for 2 was sometimes difficult.
Altogether. a reasonable hotel for the price charged

Room Tip: traffic in the road outside can be noisy, try to get a room at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wellowwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for a skiing holiday with another family. We had a selection of rooms, all of which were very clean, although a couple were quite small. All had balconies with table and chairs on. There is a bus stop about 50 yds down the road to catch the bus up to the skiing slopes. You can ski back to the hotel along a blue run. The village centre is about 10 mins walk down hill, which is quite steep, especially when the pavements are icy! Lots of apres ski in the village.

All the staff were helpful. You can collect your skis etc from the basement of the hotel and there are 2 large rooms for storing boots, skis etc.

The outdoor pool was really warm, like a hot bath, but with the children climbing out of the pool, running up the hills by the pool and then jumping back in, it was quite dirty by the end of the week.

The food was buffet style breakfast and dinner. Loads of selection and really good quality. There is also soup etc available from 3-5 pm after skiing. Drinks were quite expensive, but that seems the norm in hotels these days.

Had a lovely walk across the frozen lake, but beware, the ice is cracking all the time and when it happens right under your feet it's really frightening!

All in all we had a lovely holiday and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
11  Thank Rhisibabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2011

Visited in Feb 2011. staff were very friendly and helpful. I would go there again.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Silverback340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Neue Post
Hotel Neue Post
#5 of 42 in Zell am See
235 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tirolerhof
Hotel Tirolerhof
#3 of 42 in Zell am See
1,178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Stadt Wien
Hotel Stadt Wien
#2 of 42 in Zell am See
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Zell am See
Grand Hotel Zell am See
#10 of 42 in Zell am See
593 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Seehof
Hotel Seehof
#8 of 42 in Zell am See
339 reviews
1.5 mi away
MAVIDA Wellnesshotel & Sport Zell am See
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Der Waldhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Der Waldhof

Address: Schmittenstrasse 47, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zell am See
#11 Luxury Hotel in Zell am See
#11 Spa Hotel in Zell am See
#15 Romantic Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range: $170 - $510 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Der Waldhof 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Otel, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Der Waldhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Der Waldhof Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing