We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly acceptable for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel St. Hubertushof
Ranked #36 of 42 Hotels in Zell am See
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights (Sun to Wed) on a February skiing break, driving independently. We were a group of 5 guys staying on a half-board basis, all in single rooms.

The rooms do vary - four of us had twin or triple rooms, but one of the group was put in a tiny room with a small single bed but complained and was moved after the first night. As stated by other reviewers the rooms and in fact the entire decor of the hotel is somewhat dated and could do with a makeover. However for the cheap price we paid (€58 per night HB) we had no real complaints.

Breakfast and dinner were both effectively all-you-can-eat buffets, which seemed to be appreciated by the school group from Kent that was there for the week. Quality varied but we always found plenty of acceptable things on the menu.

The rooms and restaurant are all non-smoking but the bar and reception area is not, which takes a bit of getting used to - rather like it would be if you suddenly took a flight that allowed smoking (god forbid). The smell of smoke does rather permeate the whole building unfortunately.

The staff (mainly east European) were very friendly and helpful. However it always annoys me when wi-fi is available but they try and charge for it (€2,50 per day) although there is one free wired terminal next to reception.

We had our own vehicle so didn't need to use the ski-bus service, but I understand that it was perfectly ok. The hotel provides a ski hire service but we went elsewhere, although we did buy our ski-passes at reception. It's a 10 minute drive to the Zell or Schuttdorf lifts, maybe 15 to Maiskogel and 20 or so to Kaprun. In the winter you can walk across the lake to Zell in about 20 minutes, or a taxi costs about €12.

Overall, good value.

Room Tip: There is a disco in the cellar on Thursdays, Fridays and Saturdays which might be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrsbluenose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 60 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2012

Rooms are ok, some are renovated and good. I was in an older room, stains on carpet, small bathroom. But everything was pretty clean and room was cleaned daily. Dining area really needs a make-over with worn out cushions. Breakfast was ok but pretty basic. Dinner a bit disappointing and not everything was refilled immediately. But if you look at the relatively low price overall performance was ok. There is a disco/dancing in the cellar and a bar near the reception. Large heated room for ski's and shoes. Busstop for Zell am See is only a 2 minutes walk.

Room Tip: Do not take a room to close to the disco/dancing, very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank molotov4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2010

Went with grandparents and cousins, it was a good overall experience, below are some focus points.

* great location if you have a lake-view room (we asked for that)
* also ideal to go to cities / villages nearby by car
* hotel provides access pass to the (otherwise paying) lakeside swimming area
* morning breakfast was great, lots of variation
* dinners weren't what I'd describe as impressive but ok if you're looking for "just a meal"
* close to a public park where the "ferry" towards Zell am See docks
* small elevator
* clean rooms
* towels refreshed daily if tossed in the bath, left if still on the hangers
* outdated fitness area but the sauna seemed recent (sauna is only activated on demand)
* despite the dinners I still state it's ideal for a relaxed holiday in Austria with kids

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeroen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

Traditional style hotel and close to `Lake Zell and 4KM from Zell am Zee which is a good walk around the lake or there is a regular boat service across the lake and also a bus service.
Hotel is very pretty from the outside decked with flowers in typical style and surrounding balconys.
While we were there the hotel was full every night.
Rooms were clean and ours was a good size, typical double with two quilts also in room a single bed/sofa .
Breakfast was good and served buffett style, evening meal also buffett style was abit of a let down, meat and fish generally overcooked and dry an d quite a bit of pork!
There is regular enertainment at the hotel usually down in the cellar bar.
One good money saving feature is the card given to guests for use around Kaprun/Zell Am Zee area. Allows free travel on boat and bus and also up the lifts to top of mountains. Also you can use to take a boat tour around Zell am Zee once in six days!

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grannygrotbags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2010

I spent 7 days in this hotel from Dec 26th 2009 to Jan 2nd 2010
Location: on the other side of the lake, like in previous reviews very far away from Zell Am See downtown & ski slopes. 1 hour walk to Zell Am See 4 km or 15 min drive.
Rooms are old, bathrooms terrible & no soap, old very old towels, staff not so friendly.
Very expensive for the services offered.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraJ01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2007

It was our first night away on holiday and we managed to find the worst hotel in Zell am See. So disappointing! It all looks lovely and typically Austrian from the outside but the inside could do with major renovation. I imagine the hotel would have got rave reviews back in the 60's. Old furniture, old carpet, an old mattress and a horrible bathroom didn't make for a nice stay. Very over-priced. On the plus side, the breakfast was ample and the only friendly staff member - the young man on the breakfast shift.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Veronica73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2007

The area was nice although it is kinda away from the downtown. i didn't like the high volume of music at the night. and also the elevator was very old i woke up many times at the night when it was operating !

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank desert_legend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Badhaus
Hotel Badhaus
#21 of 42 in Zell am See
76 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Glasererhaus
Hotel Glasererhaus
#22 of 42 in Zell am See
39 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel St. Georg
Hotel St. Georg
#14 of 42 in Zell am See
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Der Sonnberg
Der Sonnberg
#20 of 42 in Zell am See
83 reviews
0.9 mi away
Appartement Kitzsteinhorn
Appartement Kitzsteinhorn
#37 of 42 in Zell am See
5 reviews
2 mi away
MAVIDA Wellnesshotel & Sport Zell am See
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Hubertushof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Hubertushof

Address: Seeuferstrasse 7, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 42 Hotels in Zell am See
Price Range: $124 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Hubertushof 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel St. Hubertushof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Hubertushof

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing