We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (423)
Filter reviews
423 results
Traveler rating
296
82
26
14
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
296
82
26
14
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews town centre lovely hotel traditional hotel zell am small gym pool and sauna city express lift evening meal cable car traditional style family run hotel ski boots just returned from a weeks min walk half board quiet location owners and staff
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 423 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2018

We stayed here for a week for a summer break. I can only imagine how wonderful this is covered in snow. The hotel is beautiful. The beds are some of the most comfortable hotel beds we have ever had. My wife, who always sleeps badly, slept very well here. We had a lovely balcony overlooking the mountains and it was a great pleasure to sit here an read.The hotel was quiet when we were there. The staff are all very obliging.
We went half-board and on the first night wondered if we had made a mistake. We didn't like the sound of the menu on offer and went a la carte. The manager was upset at this and asked if we wanted to change from half board. I said ' we just wanted different main courses' and she said 'that is ok. If you just want to change the main course please ask.' from that first night we did like the menu and really enjoyed the food of half-board throughout. Sometimes the translations of the menu into english did not sound appetising, but the food certainly was. Very convenient for Zell Am See.
The hotel is on a hill though and you will do a lot of walking up and down that hill. Overall a great hotel and a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2018

This hotel is very quaint and old fashioned but quite authentic. The staff were really nice, very helpful and dressed in traditional costumes which was lovely. The food was the best we had during out trip to Germany & Austria and although the room was quite basic with no mod cons, it was absolutely adequate for our needs and very clean. I would definitely recommend this hotel to other visitors to Zell am See. The main town centre is in walking distance, there are trips around the lake and some very nice eating places, bars and shops. We took the Schmittenhohe Ski Cable car which was a real treat with some wonderful views from the top. We used the pool at the hotel which was a very nice start to the day and on leaving we drove the Grossglockner alpine mountain road which was scary but worth doing for the magnificent views!! I would love to return to Zell am See and stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eunice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2018

We visited Zell am See as a part of our honeymoon and metioned so in our booking. as a person who works in the
hotel industry, attention to guest's special requests and comments is very important to me. We immediately got a response from the hotel and later discovered that we were upgrated. Staff was very nice and Breakfast was
tasty and abundent. Overall Great experience and we are wishing to stay there again next time during Winter .Season

Stayed: May 2018
Thank wsg2808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StGeorg, Inhaber at Hotel St. Georg, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2018

Many thanks for your Kind Report. We are happy that you liked your stay in Zell am See.
Hope to see you again during the winter season. It is lovely for skiing in Zell am See on the Schmittenhöhe and in Kaprun / Kitzsteinhorn as well - with the same ski pass.
Kind regards Daniela Sauper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile

Love the St Georg, been two years running now in January. The staff are really friendly, it is within a small walk to the lift. It’s a bit further to walk to the bus stop for the kitzsteinhorn, but still doable!

The food in the hotel is great and everything is served with a smile. Always a choice for the evening meal, and a great selection at breakfast including made to order omelettes which fill you till lunchtime!

Pool area is nice, although saunas don’t open until 4, didn’t bother us as we were skiing, but in case anyone in group is wanting daytime use of this.

All in all, a great stay both years, the rooms with a balcony are worth the extra money too for a lovely view of the mountains. We will be back!

Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2018

The family and staff are so friendly its like coming home.
You feel like a person not just a room number. The food is always good and interesting and now back to service at dinner after just one year of buffet style which is so much better.
We meet the same guests there year after year who all love the hotel.
Rooms are traditional ( a plus) and spacious and the beds are comfy.
You can be on the slopes in 10 mins after a ride to the lifts from the hotel's minibus service. Great facilities and easy access to the lovely town and lake.

Room Tip: Front rooms have a better view.
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank picologuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StGeorg, Manager at Hotel St. Georg, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2018

Many thanks for your lovely Report. We wish you all the best and looking Forward to seeing you next year.
Happy Easter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews