We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Afternoon Tea” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Zell am See

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Hotel Zell am See
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Zell am See
Certificate of Excellence
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

We didn't stay here but we went for afternoon tea.
The setting was quite stunning, we sat in the white wrought iron pergola, and had tea and the most exquisite cakes, while the ducks and swans were drifting by on the lake, on a background of snow capped mountains, the sun shining. What more could you wish for on a lazy afternoon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    127
    43
    33
    24
See reviews for
189
209
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Was sceptical about staying in this hotel as it was our first time travelling to Austria. We neednt have been.From the start the staff from reception, bar and dining room went out of their way to be helpful in an efficient and professional way.The standard in the hotel was excellent.Extras such as free use of hotel bikes ,free apples at reception etc added to an overall great service.
We travelled with friends and both rooms were on the 5th floor overlooking the lake. Great views and despite other reviews giving out about the nearby train line we were not disturbed by this.Great central location and loads of great reasturants nearby for those not eating in the hotel.Would certainly recommend this hotel for its location, staff and overall good value for money.Limited choice of breakfast was only a slight negitive.

Room Tip: Well worth getting a room with a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenWicklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wylam, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed at the Grand for my wife's 40th birthday as part of a 'Great Rail Journey' for 7 nights in Sept/Oct 2012. Short walk to hotel for check in, we were expected so check in was smooth and straight to our room. We had a lake view room right on the edge of the hotel so we also had a mountain view and the cable cars. Being on the corner we had a little train noise but the triple glazed windows took care of most of it. Room itself was fine if a little smaller than others in our party, some have saunas and 2 floors!!!

Breakfast was a buffet and was plentiful and varied, enough to suit all tastes - smoked salmon and fizz on Sundays. Half board option included dinner on a rolling 7 day menu which was a mixture of a la carte and buffet style. The Austrian buffet was superb, various dishes from all parts of Austria - desert buffets are also indulgent and moresome. Afternoon tea on the terrace was great as well as the spa.

Spa on top floor is relaxing and luxurious with views of the mountains from the sauna. Spa free to guests, massage's are a little pricey but well worth it. Go and see Claus for the sauna experience - crazy!!! Never used the pool.

On the whole a great experience of a luxury hotel - no bad points for us.

The town of Zell has lots of nice shops and restaurants including some fab cake and coffee shops in the main square. Only one cable car in use that time of year but worth the trip up the hill for coffee and strudel at the top, and the stunning views of course.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for high floor lake view room - worth it for the views and lack of train noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rubles2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed in a Mountain View room which was 15 yards from the Train Track. Although the windows are double glazed you are still able to hear the trains roaring through all night. Food was ok if you enjoy two mouthfuls with each course after a days hiking we needed something more substantial and ended up having to eat out. Also be aware there are no Coffee or Tea making facilities in the rooms and afternoon tea has to be paid for along with water with your evening meal. Would not stay here again sorry.

Room Tip: Dont stay in a mountain view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5700grand, Manager at Grand Hotel Zell am See, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Mr. Mal T.,

Thank you very much for your feedback.

We are very sorry that you didn’t get the right information about our room categories from your travel agency. All our partners are informed that our lowest category “double room with mountain view” is located in the direction of the train tracks.

All our other room categories are facing the beautiful lake Zell – this would have been an option for you as well, to avoid the train noise.

If we had known about your desire concerning the dinner, we would have passed you an extra course to our 5 course dinner menu, or offered a refill. We are very sorry about that.

We really hope for a second chance and would be happy to welcome you again
at the GRAND HOTEL ZELL AM SEE.

Kind regards,
your entire Grand Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We booked a Mountain View room, expecting to relax watching the mountains. This vacation had nothing to do with relaxation. Even though you really see mountains, all the rooms on this side are also overlooking the rails, which are situated just next to this side of the hotel 20 meters away. There are trains passing by every hour, so you will not be able to open the window at all.

We stayed in summer at this hotel, where the weather was already good but it was just impossible to enjoy the fresh air due to the terrible noise coming from the trains passing by the hotel. Even though the Mountain View rooms are cheaper avoid booking such a room, since you will not be able to sleep during the night (trains continue passing even during the night). The air conditioning is not working particularly well, so you have no choice other than opening the window and sleeping with ear plugs.

Rooms are also quite used (furniture), however bathroom was newly renovated. Hotel has a pool, however it is quite small, nothing really for swimming, more for children. There are loungers outside just overlooking the lake, which is a really nice view in the summer.

Other than the above mentioned, the food and service were excellent. We had a half board, including breakfast and dinner. Breakfast was really good, had a huge variety of items. Dinner was also very delicious. We had twice a buffet during dinner and once you could choose yourself a menu from different countries.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dusya0982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5700grand, Manager at Grand Hotel Zell am See, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Dusya0982,

Thank you very much for your feedback. Your opinion is very important for us, because only with your feedback we do have the chance to optimize our service.

For your next stay here with us we would offer you (for just EUR 10,00 more per person/day) one of our comfort double rooms with beautiful view to the lake and away from the train tracks.
Unfortunately, we do not have air conditioning in any of our room.

We would be happy to welcome you again at the GRAND HOTEL ZELL AM SEE.

Kind regards,
your entire Grand Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Unbelievably super location,very nice rooms and lovely weather make this an unforgettable dream like holiday
The only sour point of our stay was that we were vegetarians and not Enid spread on the breakfast or meals....other than this you can't find any faults.
They have a kids club to keep kids entertained and they have the best spa I have ever visited ...the only issue is wish they kept it open longer and not just 2 to 7.30.
If u going to zell am see,think nothing else and enjoy luxury and beauty here

Room Tip: The suite at a few euros more is worth the extra pampering as it has our own sauna..however the gran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NimishK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in mid feb for a weeks skiing. It is a wonderful hotel, with exceptional staff. Our room over looked the lake (we couldn't hear the trains at all, i know others complained about it)it was basic enough but very clean and nice. The bar is wonderful, enjoyed the friendly chats with Connie the bar manager. Would highly recommend this hotel and happily stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tirolerhof
Hotel Tirolerhof
#1 of 43 in Zell am See
5.0 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Salzburgerhof
Hotel Salzburgerhof
#3 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Zell am See
Romantik Hotel Zell am See
#8 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Seehof
Hotel Seehof
#7 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Stadt Wien
Hotel Stadt Wien
#2 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Neue Post
Hotel Neue Post
#6 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Zell am See? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Zell am See

Property: Grand Hotel Zell am See
Address: Esplanade 4-6, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Zell am See
#8 Luxury Hotel in Zell am See
#9 Family Hotel in Zell am See
#16 Romantic Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hotel Zell am See 4.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zell am See and winter sports are like the sun and sky, great friends! Together with the GRAND HOTEL ZELL AM SEE, they form an unbeatable trio for the perfect winter vacation.Treat yourself to casual 4-star comfort, homely old Austrian tradition of hospitality, comfort and a touch of luxury alpine directly on the winter white lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Zell am See reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Zell Am See
Zell Am See Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing