We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Zell am See
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in Zell am See
Certificate of Excellence
Wexford, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Hotel”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Grand Hotel Zell am See for one week. We were attending a wedding in the area as well as trying some skiing and snowboarding. The hotel staff were excellent and very friendly, the food each night was a delight and although I am pregnant and could not ski, I was able to use the facilities of the grandspa, which was extremely relaxing and therapeutic. My family and I will defiantly be making a welcome return to this beautiful hotel.
Aoife O'Neill
Ireland.

Room Tip: All rooms are very spacious and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AOiIFE1981_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    135
    47
    34
    24
See reviews for
201
223
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location with wonderful views! We had a lakeview room with balcony and it was perfect! The underfloor heating was very warm but the staff were very happy to turn it down. food was lovely. train does run along front of hotel though it was never a problem.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lcrawford12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

My partner and I booked The Grand Hotel for january 2013 as a luxury ski break. Unfortunately it was quite the opposite!

On arrival we were greeted by fairly rude reception staff who seemed annoyed that we had not arrived until 2000. We were offered no assistance with our luggage and received no information on where we could store ski equipment, where we could eat, the location of any of the facilities etc etc. generally a less than perfect start.

The real trouble began the next morning. Having not been told where to eat we just went to the nearest restaurant, where we were rudely informed (after we had collected our breakfast) that we shouldn't be eating there. They begrudgingly allowed us to eat our meal and we set of for a days skiing. That evening we went to the other restaurant and were informed there was no where for us, the only way I can describe the experience is utterly humiliating. There we were dressed up for dinner only to be publicly dismissed by a waiter as if we had walked in from the street. This happened in both restaurants until, once again someone begrudgingly allowed us a meal. When we went for breakfast the next day our table had been removed and we found ourselves once again with no where to eat and being pushed from pilar to post. This lasted three days.

The room itself was not at all the standard I expect from a hotel of this quality. I will specify that it was kept Very clean by the polite and unobtrusive housekeeping staff however the hotel is so out of date. The room was tiny, and the lighting so bad you needed a torch to see in the wardrobe. During the weeks stay the things that went wrong in the room were the hair dryer, the lights, the radio, the heating and the curtains fell down. Of these problems only the hair dryer was fixed and that took several hours. We complained to our holiday rep about the room and only then did the hotel night manager ask us if we were unhappy. Having explained our situation he said someone would look at the problems. No one ever did anything about them.

I also find it incredible that the train track is barely mentioned. It runs directly along the front of the hotel and is very busy. All through the night. As our heating didn't turn down we were forced to sleep with the window open and this meant sleep was very disturbed by the trains. Also when the level crossing closes there is no way out of the hotel, you can end up waiting ten minutes just to get out of your own hotel.

On a positive note the restaurant is good and the hotel very clean. It is just in need of some serious updating, I felt the rooms did not have the basic facilities of a premier inn, and everything you asked of the staff was a major ordeal. The only Internet access is in the lobby meaning it is like an Internet cafe down there, just packed full of people on iPads! You also need to bear in mind that Europeans are not The Grands major customer base, we were constantly made to feel less important than the Russian and Eastern European guests who were consistently served before you in queues and at reception regardless of who had been waiting longest, a lot of the hotel information is also available in German and Russian but to get hold of anything in English was a bit of a struggle for us.

Unfortunatly for myself The Grand Hotel was a huge disappointment. I will be seeking a refund.

Room Tip: Insist on a lake view, all othe rooms overlook the train track
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5700grand, Manager at Grand Hotel Zell am See, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Mrs. Helen,

Thank you very much for your feedback.
Your opinion is very important for us. We are very sorry for the inconvenience during your stay and would like to ask you kindly to contact us directly to talk about reparations.

We regret it that we have lost you in this way as our guest.

Kind regards,
Your entire GRAND HOTEL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Our stay at the grand hotel was wonderful,the food was delicious and the restaurant staff were very efficient and helpful as were the rest of the staff.Our room was really nicely decorated but still kept with the style of the hotel.There was lots of children there for my daughter to play with and she made me promise that we can go back next year!The location was perfect as it was right beside the lake and had spectacular views of the scenery.Lots of things to do that are only a short drive away and if you don't have a car,you can get the train which is only a five minute walk.My only reservation is the decoration in the lobby is quite outdated,but we will most definitely return next year!!

Room Tip: Make sure to book a room with lake views and a balcony,it's well worth the extra! Renting a car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eimear41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almaty, Kazakhstan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Great Hotel, Great lake view, Wonderful GrandSPA and Delicious food.
Would be great to have a little bit faster WiFi and not only in the Lobby zone.
In general we had wonderful ski vacation. Thanks a lot,

Viktoriya

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viktoriya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed in a sauna suite over Christmas (2 adults and 3 children). Expert and friendly staff, especially the waiting staff, fantastic food, excellent events in and around the hotel grounds, great attention to detail. A perfect place to stay over Christmas.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARi294212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We first visited The Grand in June 1996, returned in June 1997 with the in laws. We stayed over Christmas with friends in 2006, this time Christmas 2012 (22-29 December) we went by ourselves. Our visits have been over some years due to time and financial considerations, it has been great to see how the hotel has developed but not lost it's character and friendliness.
We travelled with Crystal finest only because it was cheaper than booking direct with the hotel, but would not in future.
The Grand's food was superb, I am not able to eat meat, with what was on offer this was not a problem. The breakfast buffet catered for all nationalities and diets, the evening meals were special and the staff attentive, professional and friendly.
My one complaint would be that there wasn't much adult time in the pool, I think adult only hours would be a good idea.
We weren't skiing, but due to the closeness of the railway station we could visit Saltzburg, and Innsbruck which added to our enjoyment, we also went to the ice hockey on boxing day.
Having stayed in the annexe before we knew about the rail line, there are few night time trains and I always travel with earplugs where ever we go.
We hope to visit The Grand again at sometime in the future, I may even return with some of my painting students.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms would be quieter, but mountain view rooms are cheaper and very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lhm-artworks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tirolerhof
Hotel Tirolerhof
#1 of 43 in Zell am See
1,023 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Salzburgerhof
Hotel Salzburgerhof
#3 of 43 in Zell am See
323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Seehof
Hotel Seehof
#8 of 43 in Zell am See
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Neue Post
Hotel Neue Post
#5 of 43 in Zell am See
226 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Stadt Wien
Hotel Stadt Wien
#2 of 43 in Zell am See
379 reviews
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Zell am See
Romantik Hotel Zell am See
#6 of 43 in Zell am See
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Zell am See? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Zell am See

Property: Grand Hotel Zell am See
Address: Esplanade 4-6, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Zell am See
#7 Spa Hotel in Zell am See
#9 Family Hotel in Zell am See
#16 Romantic Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hotel Zell am See 4.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zell am See and winter sports are like the sun and sky, great friends! Together with the GRAND HOTEL ZELL AM SEE, they form an unbeatable trio for the perfect winter vacation.Treat yourself to casual 4-star comfort, homely old Austrian tradition of hospitality, comfort and a touch of luxury alpine directly on the winter white lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Grand Hotel Zell am See reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Zell Am See
Zell Am See Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing