We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Zell am See
Ranked #10 of 42 Hotels in Zell am See
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2012

This was our first visit to Austria, and this was an excellent hotel to stay at. The location was excellent with so much on offer to us as a family. The services in the hotel are excellent, and the resturant offered such a varied selection of fine cuisine every night. The imperial bar is a great place to unwind in the evening. We would recommend to family's, and we look forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: Take a lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5700grand, Manager at Grand Hotel Zell am See, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Dear Marcus H,

Thanks a lot for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, our service, the cuisine as well as the flair of our Imperial-Café Bar and that you recommend it for other families.

We are looking forward that you keep your promise and we see us again soon.!
Kind regards

Your entire GRAND HOTEL Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (593)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 593 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2012

Great hotel in great location. Has ski transport shuttle that runs very frequently.
Bussy hotel, but very well oranised! The bar is top, perfect cocktails ;-)
Don't skip the spa, world class with the best view in the hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms have lake view, focus on the size of the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5700grand, Manager at Grand Hotel Zell am See, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Dear Jan1605,

Thanks a lot for your review.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your ski holiday in our hotel and the region and hope to see you again next winter!

Kind regards

Your entire GRAND HOTEL Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

A few years ago, the Kuwaiti royal family stayed here, and with the efforts of the Austrian Tourist bureau, it is now a major summer destination for Arab tourist. I would estimate that 80% of the guests were Middle Eastern, with Sharia customs in full display. At least a third of the women were dressed in the full Burka. We were never treated in a rude way, overtly, but the "spectacle" of my teenage daughters walking to the exercise room in shorts and tee-shirts to work out was visibly upsetting to the other guests. The Burka stands for so much we Americans find oppressive, and the sight of so many Burkas in the cradle of so much Western culture was off-putting. American families should be aware of this before choosing this Hotel....sharia customs are very prevalent.
Having said this, the hotel staff was very attentive, the meals excellent, and the Lake beautiful. My only complaints are the rooms have poor air circulation....it's 60 degrees F outside, the windows are open, and the room was still hot and stuffy. The train runs right next to the hotel and will awaken you at night in the summer (windows are open, no AC).
Noteworthy was the near complete absence of any native Austrian or German families at the hotel. If sharia customs make you uncomfortable, I would not recommend staying here if you are a Western family, as the hotel is set up to cater to the Arab tourists, but might recommend another hotel instead. Zell am See is incredibly beautiful, with a bounty of outdoor activities, and I plan to return in a few years. Our visit was in July 2012.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Mozart2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5700grand, Manager at Grand Hotel Zell am See, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Dear Mozart2005,

Thanks a lot for your review and we are sorry that you felt queasy with our Arabic guests and the lack of an air condition. The climate of the Austrian Alps usually provides us with a soft wind in the evenings so not even one hotel in the area is equipped with an air condition yet. Our guests use this soft wind to cool down their room and we offer fans for the really hot days.

We would be happy if you choose our hotel again for your next visit and would like to recommend a holiday later in the year.

Kind regards

Your entire GRAND HOTEL Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

It is the most recognized hotel , excellent lake view , there is a lot of restaurant around it , some time you here the train that is very close to the hotel , it is enough to stay beside the lake in the hotel garden , or even in your room balcony , the hotel serve 2 buffet meals per day  and that make you feel like if you are in a party 

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alnjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5700grand, Manager at Grand Hotel Zell am See, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Dear alnjm,

Thanks a lot for your review and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay as well as our offered meals.

We would be happy if you choose our hotel again for your next visit to Zell ma See.

Kind regards

Your entire GRAND HOTEL Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Mohammed A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
5700grand, Manager at Grand Hotel Zell am See, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

What a magnificent luxury 4 star hotel, the standards of 5 star with the best location on the lake, steps to the town center and train station, and gorgeous views from every angle. One of the best discoveries I have found in all of Europe, Zell am See and the Grand Hotel, the entire hotel is charming, romantik, old world inviting, beautiful decor, a spacious comfortable bar with big comfy chairs great for drinks and relaxation with an outdoor patio overlooking the lake and alps. The staff are most friendly and speak perfect english, the rooms are beautiful with comfortable beds, luxury linens stunning views of the lake and alps and town. The bathroom amenities are luxury and abundant. The grand suite has a spacious balcony, huge soaking bathtub, seperate shower, sauna and toilet, well worth the splurge.

The Spa is top notch, with the treatment rooms overlooking the beautiful lake and alps, glass windows from ceiling to floor. Views from every angle and room, one of the best spas ever built, the treatments are very unique and the prices very reasonable, the staff are excellent at their craft.

The dining in the restaurant is very nice, beautiful room with great lake views, outdoor seating when the weather permits. They do their very best to make the half board menus varied and tasty, but it does feel like a cruiseship at times with the large number of seating and the buffets and the food already prepared waiting to be sent out. I would prefer to have breakfast only and have a choice to dine in the town restaurants like Crazy Daisy and others, lots of great restaurant choices and different experiences to be had, but they don;t make the room package without half board very affordable, they want you to eat there, but when you stay 3-7 nights it isn;t as enjoyabel to eat at the hotel every night even with the change of menu.
But otherwise, a wonderful hotel, the best in Zell am See because of the high standards, the location, price and views. Would recommend that everyone experience this amazing hotel.

Room Tip: The Grand Suite on the rightside of the hotel on the 3rd floor has the best views and the most spaci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TONI B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5700grand, Manager at Grand Hotel Zell am See, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Dear parkerant,

thanks a lot for your entry and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

Concerning the dinner we would like to mention that we offer a 4 course menu with salad from the buffet each day and you choose á la carte from 12 different dishes from our 3 different menu themes: classic cuisine, local Austrian cuisine and whole organic cuisine – sometimes from special theme buffets. Additional to that we offer an á la carte menu so we hope that all of our guests find something of their taste. If you only want to book bed & breakfast for your next stay it is of course possible.

Hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards
Your entire GRAND HOTEL Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

To start with the one good thing, the rooms are kept spotlessly clean. When we arrived our 'superior' room was far from that and unlike anything on the website. It was also right next to the railway line which we found to be running alongside the hotel. No mention of that on the website. We chose the third room we were shown, which was fine, but the faux stained glass window had no curtains and the lights illuminating the hotel were not switched off until late at night. That window also got the sun first thing in the morning. I asked at reception if they could at least supply eyeshades and was told that they did not have them but we could buy them at the chemist. We found the food to be unexceptional and the man in charge of the dining room rude and unhelpful. We lost our designated table because he assumed we were leaving although we were booked in until the following day. No apology forthcoming. We were glad to leave and will never go back. Our stay was in May 2011

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MICHAEL M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5700grand, Manager at Grand Hotel Zell am See, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Dear MICHAEL M,

we are very sorry that you did not enjoyed your stay with us and that you only remember the negative aspects of your stay. We took your complaints to provide our service and would like to thank you for your assistance.

Kind regards
Your entire GRAND HOTEL Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tirolerhof
Hotel Tirolerhof
#3 of 42 in Zell am See
1,179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Neue Post
Hotel Neue Post
#5 of 42 in Zell am See
235 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Salzburgerhof
Hotel Salzburgerhof
#1 of 42 in Zell am See
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Seehof
Hotel Seehof
#8 of 42 in Zell am See
339 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Stadt Wien
Hotel Stadt Wien
#2 of 42 in Zell am See
404 reviews
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Zell am See
Romantik Hotel Zell am See
#7 of 42 in Zell am See
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Zell am See? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Zell am See

Address: Esplanade 4-6, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Zell am See
#8 Luxury Hotel in Zell am See
#9 Family Hotel in Zell am See
#16 Romantic Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range: $225 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hotel Zell am See 4.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zell am See and winter sports are like the sun and sky, great friends! Together with the GRAND HOTEL ZELL AM SEE, they form an unbeatable trio for the perfect winter vacation.Treat yourself to casual 4-star comfort, homely old Austrian tradition of hospitality, comfort and a touch of luxury alpine directly on the winter white lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Zell am See reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Zell Am See
Zell Am See Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing