We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEAUTIFUL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Schloss Prielau Hotel & Restaurants
Ranked #33 of 42 Hotels in Zell am See
Reviewed November 10, 2010

A beautiful, small castle with a great atmosphere and very nice rooms.
We went there to stay for one night in October after we had dinner at the restaurant right next door, run by the hotel owner's husband, Andreas Mayer. It's a 2-Michelin-Star Restaurant with the most amazing food!!!

We'll go there again, any time

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andreasfMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 81 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2009

To spend a quiet, relaxing, wonderful stay in a beautiful area of Austria, Schloss Prielau is perfect. The location was ideal for our needs. The friendliness of the hosts, Annette and Andreas Mayer, as well as that of the teams that are have been more than great. Everything was managed perfect from arrival to departure. About the culinary highlight "Mayer's" restaurant, one could even write a page-long essay alone. Wellness, spa and massage have been organized at the request of Fr.Mayer perfect in a 5 * spa oasis in nearby Zell / See. Our 4-legged companion was very welcome and felt at ease. Because of the buildings is the hotel for "Handycapt" and small kids not suitable. Perfect for Romantics in the company, all is worth each penny.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schultzi69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2009

Great hotel in Zell Am See. We were given a fantasic room since with great view of the alps and the lake. Good mix of new amenites with the charm of a 500 yr old castle. Close to town and lake but very secluded. The owner Annette was fantasic, provided us great ways to see the area and a great breakfast in the morning. I will stay here again and this area because of this place. We did not get a chance to eat in there for dinner but heard how good it was from people in town.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoustonJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2009

The hostess is charming and very helpful. The castle itself has warm looking interiors and is located at the north end of the picturesque lake Zell Am. The hotel has its own private "beach" house, stocked with beer, towels, shower facilities etc. for a quite day/evening by the lake. The famous restaurant is obviously very expensive. The included breakfast is average. Rooms are large, well furnished and comfortable (though all double rooms are on the third floor with no lifts). The place is not cheap though for Euro 200/night in the first week of Oct.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AvidIndianTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2009

We booked a "family suite" and were amazed to have three bedrooms, two huge sitting rooms and three bathrooms. The antique furnishings and hunting trophies gave it incredible atmosphere. We did not get to try the restaurant, as we only stayed one night and the restaurant was closed. It was a great stay.

Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
Thank dudelfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2009

When we first visited Schloss Prielau in Feb 2008 for a long weekend, we fell in love with this romantic boutique hotel from the moment we set foot in it, and before we left, we had booked it as the location for our wedding. We returned with the future mother-in-laws just before Christmas in 2008 and they too duly fell under Schloss Prielau's beguiling spell.

In Feb 2009, we filled the entire Schloss ( including the Fischerhaus) with 25 of our closest friends and family for our winter wedding. Anette arranged everything with extraordinary attention to detail. She and her team had the rare ability to always be on hand without ever appearing intrusive. Much to Mayers’ credit, they have a team of exceptionally loyal and charming staff, many of whom have been with them from the outset. Everything was beautifully understated but done to absolute perfection from the lovely sleigh ride, the stunning flowers, the wonderful photographer, the fabulously fun hunting horns band, to the exceptionally talented musicians.

The hotel: Schloss Prielau has all the luxuries and the service you would expect of a top 5* hotel (with the exception of a lift, which we did not miss), but Anette's deft touch gives it the charm and friendly feel of a beautiful country house. It is in a gorgeous setting which makes it incredibly tranquil and provides a real sanctuary from the hustle and bustle of city life.

The bedrooms/bathrooms: All of the rooms in the Schloss have wonderful views over the mountains, and the ones at the front look out over the lake and Zell. The rooms are all unique and beautifully decorated without exception. The bathrooms were modernised this year and now offer absolutely state of the art luxury.

Food: Breakfasts are lavish and a real highlight, as are all meals, whether you dine in the Schloss itself or in Mayer’s restaurant. It was a fantastic privilege to have the great Andreas Mayer as the chef for our wedding reception. His sommelier helped us choose perfect wines and the food was quite simply divine.

Anette and Andreas, we can never thank you enough. The Schloss has been a delight every time we have stayed with you, and our wedding weekend was no exception. Suffice to say that both we and our wedding guests will be going back to Schloss Prielau for many years to come. We cannot recommend Schloss Prielau highly enough.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WiltshireTillymint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2009

Since I am an academic in literature I was delighted to find a fabulous getaway for a four-day skiing trip in the Austrian Alps that was owned by the playwright and poet Hugo von Hofmannsthal. Schloss Prielau is an amazing hotel--with all amenities of a four-star hotel plus the feel of a family-run guest house, where guests are not only very welcome but also treated in a very personalized way. The atmosphere of this fabulous, historical villa-turned-hotel inspires tranquility, harmony, and relaxation. Location and view are magnificent; the sauna a delight (particularly after skiing); and the rooms and the common rooms on the different floors charming. The food at the hotel--particularly at the gourmet restaurant run by the prize winning chef Andreas Mayer--is sublime, absolutely unforgettable. Frau Anette Mayer is a splendid, attentive, and warm hostess. All members of the hotel staff were marvellous.
As soon as I have a chance (and the money) to go back, I will do that! A glimpse of paradise!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ProfessorSnuggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
2.8 mi away
Latini Hotel
Latini Hotel
#26 of 42 in Zell am See
146 reviews
1.4 mi away
Der Sonnberg
Der Sonnberg
#22 of 42 in Zell am See
79 reviews
1.1 mi away
Seevilla Freiberg
Seevilla Freiberg
#28 of 42 in Zell am See
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Der Schutthof
Hotel Der Schutthof
#41 of 42 in Zell am See
53 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Zell am See
Grand Hotel Zell am See
#10 of 42 in Zell am See
597 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Badhaus
Hotel Badhaus
#23 of 42 in Zell am See
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schloss Prielau Hotel & Restaurants? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schloss Prielau Hotel & Restaurants

Address: Hofmannsthalstrasse 10, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zell am See
#25 Luxury Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range: $263 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Schloss Prielau Hotel & Restaurants 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Schloss Prielau is located in idyllic grounds, just 200 metres from the north shore of Lake Zell. The former residence of writer Hugo von Hofmannsthal’s family was first documented in 1425. Since 1980, Schloss Prielau has been owned by the Porsche family, who converted it into a country hotel for lovers of the Austrian hospitality and cuisine. Anette and Andreas Mayer have been your hosts since 2004 and spoil hotel guests and visitors to MAYER’s gourmet restaurant with plenty of love and personal care. They have seven double rooms, two suites and an apartment in the fishing lodge available. The rooms are furnished in a rural style yet possess all the comfort of an international four-star hotel. Fires and tiled stoves create plenty of opportunity to snuggle up in a romantic atmosphere. Delicious breakfasts are served in the cosy castle kitchen, where you can also while away the lunchtime and the afternoon. On the terrace, with its view of the castle grounds, you can enjoy the sun and the tranquillity while you watch the on-site deer. In the rustic bathhouse you can relax with a visit to the sauna and steam bath or treat yourself to a massage. Thanks to the unique surroundings and dreamlike location, Schloss Prielau is the perfect venue for your wedding or family celebration for up to 300 people. We look forward seeing you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Schloss Prielau Hotel & Restaurants reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schloss Prielau Zell Am See

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing