We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Austrian Perfection.”
Review of Hotel Berner

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Berner
Ranked #12 of 43 Hotels in Zell am See
Certificate of Excellence
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Austrian Perfection.”
Reviewed February 27, 2011

Chose this hotel because it is close to the town and the lifts/buses and because it had it's own leisure facilities. We had barely stepped out of the taxi before we were greeted by Christoph Berner who gave us the most genuine welcome and spirited away our luggage. This marked the start of a perfect ski holiday. Our room was outstanding. The food from start to finish was of the highest quality. The Berner brothers and their dedicated team of staff were super-efficient but in an understated way. The hotel is elegant and absolutely spotless but for all that you can really relax here. We have no hesitation in giving this hotel, made special by it's owners and staff, the highest of marks. We would return tomorrow. Thank you 'Team Berner'.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BevNAndy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    22
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
51
102
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bilthoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
196 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2011

Again we had a great time in hotel Berner.There was still snow and it snows also and we had sunny days. The Berner hotel was good and skiing/snowboarding with the brothers is always fun, meet afterwards at the Breiteckalm for all the family.Coming by train from Holland is a pleasant and relaxing way of travelling.Arrive at Saturday late in the morning and leaving at Saturday a week later late in the evening.So you have two days quiet skiing at the mountain.Nice to have one room Saturday for changing clothes.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgebilthoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2011

This was our second visit to the Berner and we received the same warm welcome as before. A welcome drink while we completed the formalities and our luggage was taken to our room and the ski cellar.
Our room, whilst not large was adequate for our needs and was well furnished (recently refurbished) and spotlessly clean. Our balcony overlooked the outdoor swimming pool (access from indoors so you don't freeze), the ski piste (just theother side of the private road) and then fabulous views over the lake and down the valley to the glacier above Kaprun.
Food is excellent and plentiful with enough choice to suit most tastes.
By comparison with some hotels, the spa area appears a little small and outdated but I understand that this will be upgraded and extended in the very near future.
All of the staff are extremely charming and helpful and nothing is too much trouble. The owners are actively involved in the running of this delightful hotel and do their very best to ensure that your stay will be a memorable one for all the right reasons.
Definitely one of the best!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ticino57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2011

Just back from a very relaxing holiday at the Hotel Berner. With the hotel you don't need a travel agent, just book Dublin- Salzburg . They'll organise your transfer ( no added charge); and their service partner sport alpin come to the hotel with your ski gear!!! If you book an instructor they'll pick you up from the hotel!!! or if you have enough kids to share an instructor you can forget the usual rush to ski school and they'll collect them for you!!! Sport alpin rates are cheaper than at least one alternative I spotted and we found them great for private tuition for: child; adult beginner and adult advanced. Did Not do any ski school.

The hotel also get the pass for you. First ski holiday Ever with no queues for passes/ equipment collection/ return!!!


As is typical with many Austrian hotels there are
two choices for the main meal which you select at breakfast time. They serve soup; starter; salad course; main; dessert followed by cheese and biscuits. If you don't finish your wine they bring it the next evening to your table. if you have a problem with the offering as I did a couple of mornings as my 8 year old won't eat kids bolognaise/ any sauces, just speak with the waitress and she'll organise something else. If you leave it till dinnertine it's too late for them. Breakfast offers many choices and prompt and friendly service.

The room was lovely- I chose a room near the back, and skiers passed only 50 feet away- stil had beautiful views of mountains and lake from balcony. everything is about 5 mins walk away: The main lift- city express easy 5 Mins; pedestrian area; shopping; bars ( but far enough from all noise etc. I wish we' d broughtproper indoors only shoes, I'm sure we left one or two mud marks to clean off their lovely cream carpets in the bedrooms .

Outdoor heated pool small but a real treat... Swimming in moonlight with a view of mountains and lake??hard to beat it!

Relaxation area small but bright quiet and lovely views!!!

Take a stroll to the grand hotel for coffee on it's terrace. Less relaxed atmosphere but lovely terrace!!!


Hotel Berner... Can't wait to return!!! :)))))

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank d70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2010

The staff were extremely welcoming and were very helpful with planning excursions, walking routes, etc. The bedrooms and beds were comfortable and clean. Lovely, varied evening meals - evening menu choices were selected at breakfast. Very suitable location for us - only 10 minute walk from town so made for a quiet and relaxing holiday but within easy reach of shops, bars, restaurants, etc.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SallyL14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, FL
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2010

My Spouse and I arrived in the community late in the day and the Information office was closed. We had a review from a previous person about Hotel Berner which was positive and so we found a person "on the street" who directed us to the hotel - in an obscure location about 4 blocks from the train station but neatly tucked into the side of a hill.

The place was clean and the service was very personal and sensitive to our needs.

Gottfried Berner (one of the owners) helped us find a route for the next day and recommended a great hotel.

Breakfast was included and we felt that we recieved an excellent value - which was just cream on top!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skippie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2010

We stayed here for a week in July- my husband and myself, our son age 18 and our daughter age 10. We had a large family room. The welcome when we arrived and the service throughout our stay made this a very special place to stay. The owners were extremely helpful and charming throughout our stay. Service was very personal but never intrusive. The Zell am See and Kaprun card provided as part of the deal was great giving free access to the mountains for walkimg , Krimmler Waterfall etc as well as significant discounts on sights such as the Gross glockner Road. Food was good and the evenings enjoyable - even though normally we would never book a half board deal. We met a numebr of peope staying in this hotel who came very year and had been many times before. The hotel with its personal approach and high standards has some very loyal customers.

Zell am See is a busy place, maybe not as atmospheric as some other Austrian towns, but this hotel is a great base from which to explore the region which has a lot to offer.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank topcat17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tirolerhof
Hotel Tirolerhof
#1 of 43 in Zell am See
5.0 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Salzburgerhof
Hotel Salzburgerhof
#3 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Zell am See
Grand Hotel Zell am See
#9 of 43 in Zell am See
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Stadt Wien
Hotel Stadt Wien
#2 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Seehof
Hotel Seehof
#8 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.3 mi away
Romantik Hotel Zell am See
Romantik Hotel Zell am See
#7 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berner

Property: Hotel Berner
Address: Nikolaus-Gassner-Promenade 1, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Zell am See
#6 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zell am See
#9 Luxury Hotel in Zell am See
#9 Spa Hotel in Zell am See
#13 Family Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berner 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superb location, quietly situated - 100m to the next cable car - ski back to the hotel, yet you're just a five-minute walk from the pedestrian area and the lake. Spacious and elegantly furnished lounge and restaurant area. Comfortable rooms with balcony, partially lake view. In winter, there's no more exquisite pleasure than the heated open air swimming pool (30C) with indoor entrance, Turkish bath, sauna, sun terrace. Private car park and garage. Excellent cuisine, including vegetarian dishes, choice of menu with various buffets. Come and spend a superb holiday at the cosy, family run Berner with its special international flair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Berner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berner Hotel Zell Am See

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing