We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (268)
Filter reviews
268 results
Traveler rating
230
26
8
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
230
26
8
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews two brothers offered a complimentary drink cakes course dinner fireworks display summer card outdoor heated pool family run hotel sleigh ride infra red cabin massage jets welcome drink town centre hotel deserves free access chair lift the bus
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 268 reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2019

In brief: excellent staff and service, wonderful location, great management, beautiful rooms and decor. There is no better place in Zell to stay.

From the moment we walked into the foyer to the moment I left I have never enjoyed a better stay in a hotel. A welcome drink followed by assistance with the luggage. A lovely room with lake view, well furnished and decorated. Immaculately kept communal areas with a couple of nooks and crannies for privacy if you want it. The dining area was well laid out and, again, clean and tidy. There was a separate play area for children where they could be as unruly as they liked without disturbing others. And the spa area, wow, a beautiful addition to the hotel, warm and cozy, hot and cozy, very hot and cozy or an outside area with the heated swimming pool where you could swim or play in the snow (if available) if you preferred.
Add to this the proximity to the ski slopes. Depending on the snow conditions you may face a 20 metre walk to get on a lift, or at worst 70 metres or so to an alternate lift. What else could one ask for? Food.
Buffet breakfast with a large choice that would suit any and everyone, attentive staff in attendance to assist if needed. The evening meals were from a well chosen selection. All of the evening meals were excellently cooked and tasty with more than enough for a hungry traveller. The accompanying wine list was varied and affordable. Add to this an afternoon nibble of cake and you will be well pleased.
All of the above would be irrelevant were it not for the staff. Literally everyone I had contact with was highly professional, experienced and personable. It would be easy to think you had known them for years. I asked one if it was not hard work, I got the perfect, but genuine response, “It is not hard work when you enjoy what you do”. I believe this applied to everyone who worked there.
The hotel is run by the Berner brothers who are very ‘hands on’ and are deeply commited to providing all their guests with the best of service. The experience they have comes from several generations of hotel owners at this location as well as being trained in other top hotels. The combination of experience, training and personal attention to detail is very rare in today’s hotel world.
All in all we stayed a week and, literally, wanted for nothing except to stay longer. The official rating of four stars shows how inadequate the rating system is, in my opinion it five plus stars.

P.S. Look out for the Breiteck Alm mountain restaurant, excellent hospitality.

Room tip: All rooms have a balcony, obviously the lake view rooms and on the upper floors have better views.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sleepuneezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2019

This is without question the best hotel we have ever stayed in (and we have stayed in many). Family run and owned and staff that really care properly. Spotlessly clean. Perfectly located. Amazing food. Great amenities. Cannot recommend highly enough.

Room tip: Lots of rooms with balconies and good views. A view of the lake is best.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2019

This was the best ski holiday we’ve ever had and by far the best hotel, Cristoph and Gottfried have strived for perfection and achieved it! The staff were warm and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Situated next to the piste, so a genuine ski in/out. The food was excellent with plenty of choices on the menu the breakfast everything you could wish for, very healthy choices too. Would love to return, Zell am See is so clean and scenic, with glacier skiing at Kaprun a short bus ride away. If you are thinking of booking do not hesitate, wunderbar!

Date of stay: March 2019
Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2019

We have been returning to Zell for years, first stay in the Berner Hotel.
We have never had such a lovely welcome, was a fab start to our amazing holiday.
Everything about this hotel is superb, from the staff to the food to the spa.
Was so nice to meet the two brothers who own this hotel.
If you choose to stay here,you will not be disappointed.

Room tip: we had an upgrade, over looking the lake and mountains - AMAZING
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pickle6363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2019

This was our second trip to Hotel Berner, as part of a ski package that included hotel stay. We had loved it so much during our first trip that we changed ski package providers to be able to get a room here when the company we usually go with had sold out.

Hotel Berner is a family-run, friendly, perfectly located hotel. Its location is perfect for those hoping to ski the resort - which is right next to the hotel. In fact you can see piste number 6 from some of the rooms, it's that close.

The food on offer in the hotel is fantastic. We never got bored of the breakfast buffet options (granola, fresh fruit, continental options, cooked options etc.) and certainly not of the 6-course dinner (yes, six courses!). Unlike some other establishments in Zell am See, Hotel Berner is able to find a fantastic balance between hearty, Austrian food and making sure they also have some healthy and vegetarian options.

The rooms are comfortable, very clean, and with amazing views onto the nearby piste or lake depending on which room you get.

The piece de resistance in the hotel has got to be the modern spa facility. It looks very new and is impeccably clean. There is a dry sauna, Finnish sauna, steam room, infra-red cabin and a glorious outdoor heated pool. Not something you can find at many other hotels in Zell am See.

Most importantly, the service at the hotel must get a mention. You can tell the business is family-run as all of the personal touches and the friendly staff really do make your stay unforgettable. From the guided weekly ski tour that brothers Christoph and Gottfried run, to the restaurant staff bringing out a (whole) cake to celebrate my birthday, we could find no fault with the service. It's some of the best we have encountered in our travels.

Thank you for a fantastic stay, family Berner. We hope to see you again next year!

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Isabella_Izzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews