We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Berner Zell am See
Ranked #12 of 43 Hotels in Zell am See
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very pleasant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We have just had a week at the Berner and found it a very pleasant place to stay. Small enough to be very well run - hands-on - by the Berner brothers. All the staff were cheerful and helpful too.
It is only a very short walk out from town, on a very slight slope (apart from the last 20 yards). A nice quiet location – you can sleep with the window open without disturbance from cars or trains. And the beds are very comfortable!.

Some things I liked included the registration. On arrival you get sat down in the lounge and are given a drink (beer, wine, whatever) while you fill in the registration form. While you do this your luggage is whisked up to your room, so it is there ready and waiting when you are shown up to it. Very civilised. Why don’t more hotels do this?

Our room had excellent bed-side lighting - they actually recognise that guests may like to read in bed. So each guest gets the usual fairly useless wall-lamp AND a small adjustable halogen spot. So you can read in bed in the night without disturbing your partner. Why don’t more hotels do this?

And another neat and useful thing: every time you buy any drinks etc (wine with dinner, coffee after, etc) you get a chit recording what it cost. This also neatly lists your spend-to-date. So you know how your end-of-stay bill is going to look. . Why don’t more hotels do this?

Some reservations about the food. Maybe it’s because I’m getting old and losing my sense of taste (at home we find we tend to use plenty of herbs, garlic, etc) but some of the dishes were a little bland and could have done with more ‘kick’. (Maybe they need a menu item choice for the old and ‘tasteless’.) But I enjoyed some dishes, eg trout fillets with wild rice was very nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank catisfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    21
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
50
102
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed for 1 week in a Junior Suite over looking the lake. Breathtaking views, great location as lower down in the town is very near to the busy railway system. The service was impeccable, nothing too much trouble for the owners or staff. Meals we looked forward to as they were very imaginative and freshly prepared. Traditional austrian menu. Christophe gave us excellent advice on places to visit which made the holiday for us as there are so many options which can make it confusing. Spa area immaculate, however swimming pool rather disappointing as quite small.

Room Tip: Junior Suite best option as good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Griffin229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
109 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

From the minute we arrived the staff aimed to please. A perfect example of gemütlichkeit.

We took a jr suite with balcony overlooking the lake, spectacular views of the lake and the Alps. Very clean, comfortable and large enough for a small family.

We had full pension - the dining room is pretty, the food was really good. Dinner was five courses (including a salad bar). Breakfast was a buffet with a wide range of delicacies to chose from. The afternoon cake trolley was more gemütlichkeit.

Parking was free and onsite. we rented e-bikes right at the hotel and took a fabulous trip up the valley passing through fields of wholesome cows, lovely tyrolean farms and quaint villages, all of this surrounded by snow cover peaks.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Milesaday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Berner in August this year. Our first impression on arriving was of a pretty decent quality operation but which perhaps needed bringing up to date a bit.

The positives
The reception/bar/restaurant and cleaning staff - smiling and civil.
Our room - pretty spacious, comfortable and pretty well equipped.
The swimming pool & spa - great.
The location - well located for buses, trains etc.

The negatives
The variable quality of the food. Breakfast was OK, afternoon cakes were always great, dinner was a roller coaster. We had dinner at the hotel two nights running. The first night the soup was poor, the next course fine, the main course not great, and dessert was great. We decided to give it another chance and had dinner the following evening: it was a rerun in terms of quality. After a fair amount of discussing the issues with the food, both with staff in the restaurant and with one of the owners, the cost of one night's meals was refunded. It felt like a real struggle though and I don't think that this was a wise battle for the owner to pick.

No computers in the lobby with Internet and a printer. Apparently this is the choice of the hotel as they believe their guests prefer the contact. I wonder how many guests might actually like the choice to be their own. One positive was that reception staff were very helpful printing stuff out for us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed four nights at the hotel. We had a junior suite, and it was a pleasant room with a small balcony overlooking the lake. There was both a shower and a bath, but I found the bath slippery and a bit narrow!!
The swimming pool is a dream. I think the nicest in any hotel I have stayed in. Plenty of chairs with umbrellas, and the pool itself just the right temperature. It really was lovely. The food was a very high standard, four courses plus a salad bar. At breakfast you chose your selection for dinner. The menu changed every day. A splendid breakfast. It was a nice quiet hotel. Everything we asked for, like an extra pillow we got immediately. The hotel was within easy walking distance from the centre of Zell whch being August was naturally quite noisy. We felt very at home at the Berner and very happy and all the staff were friendly.
In the evening in Zell there was a good programme of events.And we were informed about this in a number of leaflets each evening. We also got a card which gives guests entrance free to many events.
So what was wrong. On the day we left we wanted to put our luggage in the reception before breakfast and to our horror found there was a locked wrought iron lattice gate between the bedrooms and reception in order to get to the front door inside. The only way out as far as we could see even in the case of fire is down a steep stair case, into a room most of which was taken up with a table tennis table. Then through a door to the outside of the hotel, but we didn't want to go to the outside of the hotel as we wanted to get to reception. We rang reception to be told the door would not be opened until breakfast time. Why?
Apart from this blip, it was a perfect stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katekkennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

We were greeting by a smiling, charming receptionist. The smiles remained on all the staff's faces throughout and they made our stay so relaxing. There is a real family team involved here and they try everything to make the hotel perfect.
The swimming pool is quite new and the pool area is spotless and a great place to relax in the sun.
Breakfast is plentiful and good quality. Evening meals are very pleasant and the menu is varied.
There is no airconditioning but this isn't really an issue as the evenings cool down and the peacefulness would be disturbed by airconditioning noise.
The hotel is located at the foot of the grassy hills on the edge of the town in a quiet residential area but only a three minute walk from the bus station and the town centre is about five minutes walk. It's a short walk to the cable car.
There is plenty to do in the area for a family with teenagers... Mountain bike hire in nearby Kaprun is reasonably priced and you can travel in a cable car just outside Kaprun to the peaks and speed back down the wide tracks to the bottom. There is windsurfing and electric-powered boats to take out on the lake.
The hotel provided cards that gave free access to many things like cable cars, ferries on the lake, and some attractions. Bus trips only cost €1 a time with these and rail travel on the narrow gauge to Krimml waterfalls was at a reduced price. Access to these spectacular falls was free with them too.
The hotel is fabulous and clean and DIY. It's no wonder that many of the guests we met had returned to enjoy the friendly hospitality

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank V60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

The staff were extremely friendly and the hotel was a great quality price mix. You also receive an activity card that provides free access to a lot of local activities. I wish I would have had more time to take advantage of more of the card items.

The town itself is gorgeous and everything is accessible within walking distance. We were here during the summer, and there were a lot of great activities and the town was really lively.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank onedertoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tirolerhof
Hotel Tirolerhof
#1 of 43 in Zell am See
5.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Salzburgerhof
Hotel Salzburgerhof
#3 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Zell am See
Grand Hotel Zell am See
#9 of 43 in Zell am See
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Stadt Wien
Hotel Stadt Wien
#2 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Seehof
Hotel Seehof
#8 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.3 mi away
Romantik Hotel Zell am See
Romantik Hotel Zell am See
#7 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berner Zell am See? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berner Zell am See

Property: Hotel Berner Zell am See
Address: Nikolaus-Gassner-Promenade 1, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Zell am See
#6 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zell am See
#9 Spa Hotel in Zell am See
#9 Luxury Hotel in Zell am See
#13 Family Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berner Zell am See 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superb location, quietly situated - 100m to the next cable car - ski back to the hotel, yet you're just a five-minute walk from the pedestrian area and the lake. Spacious and elegantly furnished lounge and restaurant area. Comfortable rooms with balcony, partially lake view. In winter, there's no more exquisite pleasure than the heated open air swimming pool (30C) with indoor entrance, Turkish bath, sauna, sun terrace. Private car park and garage. Excellent cuisine, including vegetarian dishes, choice of menu with various buffets. Come and spend a superb holiday at the cosy, family run Berner with its special international flair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Berner Zell am See reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berner Hotel Zell Am See

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing