We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like if your cruiseship were anchored in Zell Am See!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Salzburgerhof
Ranked #3 of 42 Hotels in Zell am See
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2013

It was a five nights stay and a very deluxe experience. The hotel is located in the city center and we were able to walk there from the train station(10min walk). The property is huge and very well mantained. The spa facilities are amazing, specially for after skiing relaxation. The halfboard icluded a wonderful breakfast, a light afternoon brunch in the spa bistrot or in the lobby bar, that was almost equal to a small lunch, and the exquisite five course dinner. The food was really great and the service staff very attentive and welcoming. Our suite facing the pool and the mountains was lovely and comfortable, spacious and clean. The hotel has provided us a private ski instructor that picked us up every morning and he was great for us, total beginners! The stay is definitely not cheap, but the overall value is excellent... The only remark I have to make is that we were not granted an early check in and, instead, we were offered a late breakfast when we arrived: that was not included in our package and it was very very expensive. I regret that I have not asked about the price but I think it would have been nice if the front desk girl had mentioned that there would be a charge for that.

Room Tip: Just ask for what you want!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marciopsiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (350)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Salzburgerhof
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 350 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2012

A wonderful hotel where we have just spent Christmas. The service is superb, the ambience warm and friendly, the food excellent, we can't really fault it. The hotel was beautifully decorated for Christmas and the 24 December Gala Dinner was lovely - cocktails first, carols around the piano, a visit from Santa and a seven course dinner. This is a hotel to which we shall definitely return in a wonderful village beautifully decorated for Christmas and lots of snow!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Mosquito Magnet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

This hotel was very comfortable. A restaurant is designed well and selection and quality of food is excellent. The room is also very well equipped and the best thing about this hotel,that is not in any others is that the lighting in the room is very bright!this is important for me,because I have a bad eyesight. All in all,I liked this hotel)

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kazakka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Our third stay here and we've just booked again. Why do so many guests return ? The service, the food, the location and above all the care which is shown, all of which adds up to a wonderful relaxing atmosphere.
Many other reviewers have commented on the facilities and I'd like to correct or add to a few of the comments. There are no tea or coffee-making facilities in the rooms because of fire regulations in a traditional wooden-built hotel. You can request (and pay for) early morning tea of course, but tea and coffee are available free of charge in the Spa bistro from 1pm, where you can also get a light snack, fresh fruit, etc -and of course more substantial cakes are in the bar in the afternoon. (Who commented they didn't get enough to eat?!!!)
Yes, some of the waiting staff are students, but they are (mainly second-year) students from hotel schools who are learning how to do the job properly and this is an important and obligatory part of their course. A little patience is all that is needed - and let's face it, service can sometimes be "leisurely" here - but, hey, you're on holiday aren't you.
Frankly the only hitch we encountered this time round was an honest error on our bill, quickly corrected.
WQe arribed totally frazzled after weeks of building works at home. We left at peace with the world. For a totally relaxing break in lovely surroundings and with marvellous food and attentive staff, this hotel takes a lot of beating.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms are quieter, but if you want a lovely lake view the higher floors are best for the...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leeGlosUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We have just returned from a 5 night stay at this lovely Hotel, in the small lake resort of Zell Am See. The Hotel is family owned, and very homely, friendly and everything is of the very highest standard. Our room was a family room, and was on the road side of the hotel, so yes, a little noise could be heard, but it certainly did not affect my sleep! The Garden rooms have a spectacular view, not just of the gardens, but of the mountains behind, so I would say they are worth requesting. Food was fantastic and plentiful, our half board included a "snack" which was basically a wonderful lunch/afternoon tea and cake (the Apple Strudel was divine!!) the dinners were very decadent, 5 courses, and whatever the children wanted was made for them. Wine was expensive but very good. Service from all the staff was just brilliant, so professional, efficient and friendly always. The facilities were very good - several swimming pools to choose from, and free use of bicycles, which we thought was excellent. Another point to note, the Hotel will gladly give you a lift to the start of the Schmittenhohe cable car, and then pick you up again when you return, you can also use the facilities of the Grand Hotel, which is on the lake, and the Strand baden, (an outdoor lido by the lake which my children used every day free of charge as guests of the hotel!) So there is a great deal of added value to staying here. To walk to centre of town takes two minutes, and is a very nice small place to explore. All in all, a very very nice time was had by all and we will certainly be back!

Room Tip: Choose a Garden Room, the views are stunning of both gardens and mountains.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The minute you arrive in the lobby, you understand that this is something extraordinary. Salzburgerhof is in the centre of Zell am See, that is a lovely village by the sea. The rooms are spacious and elegant. The hotel have its own made lake, outdoor - and indoor pool, and ofcourse a great spa. From your room, you can see up to Scmittenhoe, or out on the lake, depending on witch side you are on - And here comes the only warning for this hotel - dont stay on the sea side if you are a light sleeper - the train goes close by!
When this is said, I will say that the food, and service is the best about this fabolous hotel. And maybe the price - best value for money!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kenneth_Norway_49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We appreciated our stay in the Salzburgerhof very much. It’s a typical Austrian hotel run by the family Holleis. We were nicely welcomed at our arrival and the Salzburgerhof provides nearly all the facilities you can expect from a hotel like that! A special mention has to be made for the extraordinary alpine garden, the cosy terrace and the beautifully decorated room we had. We felt that the price was quite fair in comparison with the product we got. Food quality was excellent and we could also enjoy a fabulous choice of wines.
We experiences however two or three small disappointments: first, you will be not especially warmly welcomed if you come after 11am at breakfast although it’s supposed to run till 11.30 am. The service could also be more attentive at the restaurant, particularly at breakfast. Depending on were you stay for dinner, you will hear quite a lot of noise from the kitchen : that should be quickly changed !We didn’t manage to have WLAN access in the room either. Without air conditioned it can be disagreeable during the hottest days of the year. At last you have to know that the majority of the clients in the destination comes from the Arabic countries in June and in the first two weeks of July.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Olympicchampion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tirolerhof
Hotel Tirolerhof
#2 of 42 in Zell am See
1,146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Zell am See
Grand Hotel Zell am See
#9 of 42 in Zell am See
583 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Neue Post
Hotel Neue Post
#5 of 42 in Zell am See
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Stadt Wien
Hotel Stadt Wien
#1 of 42 in Zell am See
402 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Seehof
Hotel Seehof
#8 of 42 in Zell am See
336 reviews
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Zell am See
Romantik Hotel Zell am See
#7 of 42 in Zell am See
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Salzburgerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Salzburgerhof

Address: Auerspergstrasse 11, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Zell am See
#3 Spa Hotel in Zell am See
#3 Luxury Hotel in Zell am See
#5 Family Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range: $367 - $650 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Salzburgerhof 5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superior wellness facilities and elegant accommodation in one of the most beautiful Alpine regions. Stylish garden suites with own steam room, sauna and open fire place - as beautiful as a luxurious private house! The restaurant is awarded with 2 GaultMillau Certificates. The Salzburgerhof's exquisite spa complex, the WELLNESS-SCHLÖSSL has been presented with the highest award, the 4-star-Relax Lily, and offers unique fitness and wellness facilities within a fairytale ambiance. Enjoy a unique, diverse sauna world as well as an extensive therapy and beauty care centre. Indoor- and outdoor-pools, a natural pond and private beach at the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Salzburgerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salzburgerhof Hotel Zell Am See

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing