We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (457)
Filter reviews
457 results
Traveler rating
315
94
33
10
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
315
94
33
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews summer card rose garden an indoor outdoor pool spa area evening meal infrared cabin water bed romantic hotel half board strudel zell am original building every night lovely hotel tea making facilities robes and slippers each morning
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 457 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2017

Arrived to an upgraded room with possibly the sunniest balcony (room 502)
Hotel staff may sure everything was perfict ! if not they would do something about it.
The whole hotel had a classy feel to it with very nice surroundings. Food great
wellness centre well above expectations. The included summer card is amazing value
bus rides 1 euro, cable cars, ski lifts, boat rides local attractions free. Great location for
everything, you should enjoy this hotel.
Paul and Carolyn

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulmax8641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabine H, Inhaber at Romantik Hotel Zell am See, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2017

Dear Carolyn and Paul - just a big THANK YOU :)
We also think the summer card is a big plus, second one after our constantly smiling and happy team - they like to work and serve! This is our great plus!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2017

Just came back from a brilliant week in Zell am See staying at the Romantik.
This is a true family run hotel. Sabine and Werner the owners/managers were superb and treated us to added extras like champagne left in our room, petals on the bed etc etc.
Sabine organised our wedding 10 years ago but we did not stay in the Romantik, our relatives and friends did, we did go there for the gathering and the Reception which was in a lovely setting in the hotel which is full of alpine character.
The food was great as was the Wellness Centre.which we made full use of.
The staff were happy and friendly without exception - my favourites were Martina in the restaurant and Simone on the front desk - who remembered us from 10 years ago.
Looking forward to the next time - thank you Sabine and Werner.
Martin & Tracey

Room Tip: Pool/Garden view
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank supernuggetman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabine H, Inhaber at Romantik Hotel Zell am See, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2017

10 years ago - how quick time go! We are always happy to welcome you again and see that your marriage live is a good one! But this I was able to see 10 years ago also. Hope to welcome you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2017

This hotel has great facilities and is well positioned this was our 2nd, visit and as usual we found changes that did not suit our style of holiday. On reflection we wished we had booked bed & breakfast only

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank relaxed06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabine H, Inhaber at Romantik Hotel Zell am See, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2017

Things change - this is correct, but most of the guests like this chance. We upgraded the menu choice - two soups every day, 4 - 6 starters every day and of course a salad bar - every evening. Our service is happy to serve all to your table on request, but most of our guests want to help themselve! I learned - you cannot make everybody happy, but we really try to do! So hopefully you will come again?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2017

Stayed in this lovely hotel for a week and it really was excellent, rooms were lovely very traditional and spotless, the food was delicious and varied, the staff were very efficient and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. They had free bike hire which we made use of a few times to cycle around the lake and also through the beautiful meadows to Kaprun. They have a spa and an indoor and outdoor pool and a nice garden to relax in. I would recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ella570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabine H, Inhaber at Romantik Hotel Zell am See, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2017

Thank you for your words - Zell am See is a region with many activities to do and our summer card is a big bonus for all our guests. Active guests, who like to get the region and the people to know are very welcome, but also it is good to find place to relax! A day without any pressure what to do! We are happy to have our hotel in a region, where you can do all! Activity and relax time! Hope to welcome you again and bikes will be prepared!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2017

We have just returned from a week's stay in the Romantik, booked half board with Thomson. This is a lovely, friendly, family run hotel with many traditional Austrian features in a central location in Zell am See. Our room was spacious (Austrian double so big bed and separate quilts) and had a balcony with the usual floral window boxes and a nice view of the garden. There was a hospitality tray with tea bags (Vanilla) and sugar (no coffee - the only improvement I could suggest!), TV, radio, hairdryer etc. The bathroom was a good size and there was plenty of hot water when required and additional spa towels, robes & slippers provided. Wifi is free, reliable service but not encrypted. The staff were all friendly, very helpful and eager to please, with everyone saying hello, good morning etc. many of them spoke excellent English. Food was plentiful and very tasty; the breakfast buffet was very comprehensive with a wide range of hot food (bacon, eggs, mushrooms, waffles...) and a delicious range of cold cuts, breads, cheeses, fruit and cereals. We were also given paper bags to enable us to take a packed lunch if required. Dinner was several courses; salad, starter item (pate or cold cuts), soup (the vegetable soups were wonderful), breads and a choice of vegetarian, traditional Austrian meat dish or fish for the main course. Deserts were varied and there was always a fruit & cheese selection too. We particularly enjoyed the schnitzel night, the gala dinner and the accordionist who came to entertain us one evening. Waiting on staff were prompt and efficient and very helpful with any queries on the menu etc. Our package also included a "summer card" which enabled us to get significant discounts - free boat trips, reduced bus fares and free entry to some attractions (Krimml Falls). It saved us quite a few Euros over the week. I thoroughly enjoyed the couple of visits we made to the spa and pools - the water was warm and inviting, very quiet and relaxing swim with bubble benches and jets for relaxing the muscles plus a separate hot tub, sauna & steam room. I personally would say it is more suited to adults than children because of the spa/sauna elements. We enjoyed a couple of quiet drinks in the rose garden, and managed to squeeze in a couple of lunches there too. We loved Zell am See, and we loved this hotel. If you're looking for a traditional, friendly Austrian hotel this may well be the place for you...

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KathB72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiwiZell, Inhaber at Romantik Hotel Zell am See, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2017

Thank you so much for your words. Having guests seeing how we like to to the way of hospitality and also enjoy this way of hospitality make us happy and our day sunny! Hope to welcome you again in Zell am See in the Romantik!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews