We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful local style hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Romantik Hotel Zell am See
Ranked #7 of 42 Hotels in Zell am See
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed, a family of six, in two rooms. One was a suite. The other was a room but had a separate sitting area. It's not a typical hotel. It's more like a family run guest house. Everything was fine but without the luxury. Front desk helpful. Breakfast was very good. Location is a street away from the lake. The Zell am see card that came with the booking turned out to be very important if you plan to go on trips around zell am see and kaprun. (Big saver $$). It's close to a solid 3 star hotel. Our toilet was giving bad smell. In general our stay was good.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller2255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiwiZell, Leiter Front Office at Romantik Hotel Zell am See, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear guest!

Thank you for your response! It is good to hear that you are happy with your rooms but we are very sorry that you have a bad smell in your toilet, now in the season break we will check this in all our rooms - sorry for that!

We are looking forward to welcome you back in future!

With kindest regards Family Hörl and staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (387)
There are newer reviews for Romantik Hotel Zell am See
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 387 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013

We have had many trips to Austria previously, but without doubt the team at the Romantik and it's associated Fischerwirt Hotel in Zell am See managed to surpass everything previously experienced. This is a fantastic family run hotel which is demonstrably supported by all it's staff. It's well placed and we definitely intend to return and agree with previous reviewers regarding the quality of the rooms, their restaurants, their staff (which alone score 10 out of 10), features like Wifi connectivity (certainly in rooms 801-808) and their inclusion of the Zell am See summer card within the teams standard offering.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColinEdwards37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiwiZell, Leiter Front Office at Romantik Hotel Zell am See, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Thank you very much for your time to give us a Feedback on tripadvisor.

We are always very thankful and happy to hear that you have a good time in Zell am See and in the Romantikhotel!

We hope to welcome you back in future.

With all the best regards Family Hörl & staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The hotel was great with a familiar and nice atmosphere. The rooms were lovely and comfortable and we were upgraded to a nice mini-suite. Helpful and friendly staff. The hotel restaurant was very good and probably one of the best kitchen in Zell. Free Zell-card included.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RolfandMarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiwiZell, Leiter Front Office at Romantik Hotel Zell am See, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Hello from Zell am See!

We like to say thank you for your great Feedback...

We are always happy to hear that our guests enjoyed everything in Zell am See.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in future.

With kindest regards Family Hörl and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My husband and I booked a room at Hotel Fisherwirt but when we arrived we ended up finding out we were in a room at Hotel Romantik. We never really found out why, but we were guessing they were sister hotels, as they were attached somehow it seemed. Either way, our room overlooked the pool and beautiful garden area. Although the hotel was extremely difficult to find, as the sign out front was covered with an umbrella and we spent over an hour walking around the streets with our luggage asking people where it was, we were happy when we arrived and found ourselves staying in a very quite cottage type room. The staff were great, friendly and very helpful with directions and advice. The Zell AM See card we got for free when we arrived was a great extra to our trip. We used it at several times and had a lot of fun going to the top of many mountains on the gondolas and visiting Sigmund Thun Gorge! We did find the directions and stops the card told us to get off at were not accurate and we were often walking around forever trying to find where to go.
Overall this was a fabulous hotel that I would recommend. Breakfast was delicious and the staff were great! Never ate dinner here, but there were tons of greats little restaurants to visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiwiZell, Leiter Front Office at Romantik Hotel Zell am See, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Dear Michelle,

thank you very much for your kind lines.
The next time you will find the hotels much easier.

Looking forward to welcome you again.

Kindest Regards
Yours Family Hoerl & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

What a fantastic hotel, great food, excellent wine selection,good service and very clean with the added beauty of an indoor / outdoor pool and Spa area.The added bonus of the Summer card covering Zell am See and Kaprun is fantastic and could save a family a fortune .One trip my wife and I would recommend is LAMA and ALPACAS treking in Kaprun with Burgi this is a day you will never forget Its Great.see the hotel or the Crystal office for details.The village of Zell am See is very busy with lots to do both day time and night time and the hotel Romantik is right in the middle of it. ITS THE PLACE TO BE.

Room Tip: Room 103, Very Quite
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank relaxed06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiwiZell, Leiter Front Office at Romantik Hotel Zell am See, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Thank you so much for your Feedback!

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and looking forward to welcome you back in future!

With kindest regards Family Hörl & staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Externally, the hotel looked stunning, with its typical Swiss cottage appearance. The garden at the rear was by far the prettiest hotel garden I have ever seen. The adjoining indoor and outdoor pools were perfect for us, and the relaxing spa facilities were superb.

Internally, the Romantik was more akin to a museum, than a hotel. There were so many Austrian artifacts on display, they could have justifiably charged the general public an admission fee, just to look around. Everywhere was spotlessly clean, and the 'real' Austria was evident everywhere you looked. The bedrooms were spacious and comfortable, though not air-conditioned, which was not ideal during the warm 'sticky' nights of our eleven night stay in July.

One criticism I must make at this point, upon arrival in our room, the main wall-light , next to the mirror, wasn't working. Despite reporting this to the reception-desk, on two separate occasions, it was never repaired. We spent the full duration of our stay without the main source of lighting in our room.

The dining-room was stunning, as were all the ground floor public areas. Food-wise, one word of caution, the breakfasts were continental, and the evening meals were very Austrian, with very few choices available, so if you prefer full English breakfasts, and plain-cooked evening meals, then the Romantik hotel is definitely not for you. Should we ever return there, we'll opt for bed and breakfast only, and not 'half board', which we chose this time.

In the main, the staff were all pleasant, helpful, and obliging.

Probably the main advantage of the hotel, was its location, being literally only yards away from the picturesque lake Zell, or the village centre, the Irish bar, next door to the hotel, was welcoming and friendly, and the perfect spot for your evening 'night-cap'

A word of praise for the tour-operators, we booked the holiday with 'Crystal', their in-resort team worked tirelessly, to ensure that all aspects of our trip ran smoothly, we will certainly be looking at other Crystal holidays in future brochures.

Room Tip: Only the rooms at the rear of the hotel have balconies.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melvynwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiwiZell, Leiter Front Office at Romantik Hotel Zell am See, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Dear Family Wood,

thank you very much for your advice.
We are very sorry for the problem with the light - it should not happen.
Thank you again to let us know.

It is a pleasure for us to hear you enjoyed your stay in the Romantik Hotel
and hopefully we can welcome you again.

Kindest Regards
Yours Family Hoerl & staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Just returned from a holiday in this lovely hotel. The food was absolutely great and everything was perfect. A quiet, comfortable room, lovely garden, great spa and pool area and staff friendly and helpful.
The Morning Post, an information sheet about the hotel and resort activities was very useful.
To top it all, the Zell Am See Summer card was a great money saver. We love it!

Room Tip: 201 with balcony,
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjc1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tirolerhof
Hotel Tirolerhof
#2 of 42 in Zell am See
1,145 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Zell am See
Grand Hotel Zell am See
#12 of 42 in Zell am See
583 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Seehof
Hotel Seehof
#8 of 42 in Zell am See
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Neue Post
Hotel Neue Post
#5 of 42 in Zell am See
234 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Stadt Wien
Hotel Stadt Wien
#1 of 42 in Zell am See
400 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Salzburgerhof
Hotel Salzburgerhof
#3 of 42 in Zell am See
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romantik Hotel Zell am See? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantik Hotel Zell am See

Address: Sebastian Horl Strasse 11, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 42 Hotels in Zell am See
Price Range: $143 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Romantik Hotel Zell am See 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the very centre of the small mountain village of Zell am See, you will find the Romantikhotel Zell am See lying in an oasis of tranquillity. Just a few steps away from Zell's lively centre, you can find relaxation and tranquillity in the rose garden, or in the romantic garden by the pool.Escape from the humdrum of everyday life and get into the holiday mood. The location of the hotel is ideal in both summer and winter alike. The hotel is only a couple of minutes from the lake and the hiking region, and only a 7 minute walk from the ski bus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Romantik Hotel Zell am See reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing