We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing stay in this lovely family run hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Romantik Hotel Zell am See
Ranked #6 of 42 Hotels in Zell am See
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in this hotel. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the hotel was very relaxing. The food was very good and there was a wide choice at breakfast. If there is no hot food at the buffet when you get down in the morning the staff are always happy to replenish. We stayed in room 101 which was really comfortable and probably one of the more modern rooms. The only thing I would fault is the lack of air conditioning in the room. We had to open the balcony door at night as the room got very warm and stuffy. There is a storage room for skis and snow boards on the basement level which was very handy. We used the lovely breads, hams and cheese to make up sandwiches every morning which was a definite perk as food on the slopes is quite pricey. I would really recommend the house wine which was very reasonable at €18. The tap water was also fine to drink at dinner. The spa, which was free for all guests to use, was a lovely treat after a day's skiing. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Room Tip: Room 101 is lovely but can get a bit stuffy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littlefoot82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romantikhotel_Zell, Manager at Romantik Hotel Zell am See, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Thanks for your report...our goal is it to make relaxing holidays - your most important time in the year! Hope to welcome you again!
All the best
Sabine Hörl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (391)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 391 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2013

Our third visit to Zell am See in 5 years - first was a summer trip to the Tirolerhof and we went last winter to the Heitzmann (see our review). We liked the Heitzmann but the more modern decor wasn't really very Tyrolean and the spa was limited - two things we wanted to rectify this winter.
Happily, the Romantik more than surpassed these requirements and added a lot more into the mix for us too - we had a wonderful time and are planning to return next winter and even possibly this summer - our new favourite hotel!
Right, general hotel impressions first - the location is as central as you could want but as it is up a kind of quiet side street you don't have much going on outside the front door - perfect! That said it is a stones throw from the lake, the main shopping area and the City Express - it was basically in the best location we could have hoped for regardless of where we were heading.
Inside, the hotel is jam packed full of Tyrolean furniture, photo's, pictures, etc. and an abundance of wooden features - really cosy and snug and very clean, tidy, and welcoming. If you want a typical Austrian feel to your hotel you'll not better this hotel.
There are around three dining rooms, all are lovely, we were on table 68 in what appeared to be the main room but we weren't remotely close to anyone else and the hotel laid on a theme every night - Italian, candlelit, buffet, even a strudel buffet for dessert and a lovely night hosted by the owners who are a four generation family and alsways around to see how you are - on this evening you are given a ladel of apple gluhwein from a cauldron in the garden! There is a man playing Austrian music and the owner - Herr Horl - gives a lovely welcome speech and they even have a curling competition against a nearby hotel if you want to do that on a Thursday. Wonderful.
The bar is lovely, lots of cosy areas to relax in, prices are very reasonable, we drank a half litre of red house wine each night with the meal and it was 9.40 euro's and really nice.
I can't even beginto describe the food - it was delicious! You have a choice in the morning, and tick what you fancy. The portions are large and the service is first class. We could write loads on this, but suffice to say it is top quality in every respect and you'll neither go hungry, be bored by the choices, or complain at the service - no chance of any of that!
Reception was very helpful, (we had a nice gift too when we left - a nice touch) and now onto the Spa area! WOW! This is in two areas, clothed or nude. Both are very well equipped - saunas, steam rooms, infrared cabin, indoor and outdoor pool, loungers, water beds, jacuzzi, tea, water, candles, and in the turret a treatment room. We opted for a Romeo and Juliet 2.5 hour massage and tretment - 200 euros reduced to 160 and using our daily gift from the hotel - ranging from chocolates to hotel discounts - in this instance 105 off tretments, it cost us 145 euro for both of us. Unbelievable value. We had a body peel, a special jacuzzi bath with all sorts in the water - I have no idea what but I've had eczema for ages on my leg and it's gone now - a real, thorough body massage, oils, champagne, chocs, gold leaf sprinkled on us - all way out of my knowledge of cosmetics and treatments but the missues knew more than me and this was top notch stuff!
2.5 hours later, we were new people!
Our room was 405, we had a spacious bathroom, a lounge area, a huge bed, loads of storage for wet clothes as well as wardrobes, robes, slippers, spa towels, a safe and even tea and coffee facilities! Again you'd be hard pressed to fault anything although we have two minor niggles - the hairdryer was a bit intermittent when it got warm and the curtains didn't really stretch right across the windows. That's it - that was all we could find wrong with the whole hotel!!!
We were literally depressed when we left, the whole experience for us was absolutely fantastic - thankyou again to the Family Horl and the staff, you were great and your hotel is our new favourite holiday location! See you in a year, maybe even again in the summer. We even 'follow' the hotel now on twitter!

Pete and Claire

Room Tip: Our room was 405, no real view as it was inward looking but it was quiet, easy to reach from Recepti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TravisNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romantikhotel_Zell, Manager at Romantik Hotel Zell am See, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Pete and Claire,
thank you so much for your report! We only can say thank you and we are so happy that you liked your stay in our Hotel. It is not just business we like to do, it is your most important time of the year, holiday and this should be for you like being at home, still you are in a different part of the world. Hospitality is not business, it has to come from heart and this is we want to give to our guests and also our staff members want to do!
So we are loooking forward to welcome you again - just write a short notice in advance, when you book with a tour operator, we like to provide room, table ....you liked!
Have a good time - thank you!
Family Hörl & Staff members

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Recently returned after a lovely skiing holiday and stay at this hotel. This is a traditional Austrian hotel with lots of quirky nick naks. The rooms were spacious with a seating area,plenty of towels and robes and slippers,free wifi and tea making facilities but you need to take your own coffee. There was no milk in rooms but we just asked at reception and they got us some. The staff were very friendly. Food was plentiful with plenty of choice. Well situated in the town and only 10 minutes walk from the cable car . The spa was lovely to relax in after a day on the slopes with hot tub and small pool and plenty of loungers to relax on. A great stay and will definitely return .

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flazzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiwiZell, Manager at Romantik Hotel Zell am See, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Lovely hotel - easy with lovely guests!
Please let us know by mail, when you want to return...we will certainly check that you will get the room, table you want to have...
All the best - Sabine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I have just returned home from a great ski trip in Zell Am See. Both my wife and I really enjoyed our stay in this family run hotel. The hotel is near the lake and village center in a quite location. Stayed on a half board basis and both the breakfast and dinner were very good. The bar was very relaxing for a quite drink with free WiFi. The staff were both friendly and helpful at all times during our week long stay. The hotel has leisure suites with pool, sauna, steam-room and jacuzzi, and a separate area for adults only. There is a ski locker room and the main city express ski lift is a 10 minute walk away. The hotel accommodation is divided between the old hotel and the modern extension. I stayed in a room in the old hotel which were small and in need of some updating, but never the less I had a good nights sleep. I would highly recommend this Hotel for both the food and location in the village as it was very central but still quite at night.
+ Welcome Night (per-dinner drinks, food & music), Location, Food, Bar, Free WiFi, Leisure Suite.
- Old Rooms, Slow to replenish buffet at times (also please refill the black pepper mill empty all week)

Room Tip: Having stayed in a room in the old hotel, which were small and in need of updating. I would choose a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AAFitep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romantikhotel_Zell, Manager at Romantik Hotel Zell am See, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Old world - as we are keen on old furniture, pictures, and the history we try to mix it! Austria has a lot of traditions and we try to keep Austrian Tradition in our hotel. Still we don´t want to be old fashioned! But as the comments show we are on the right way - therefore we would like to say thank you for your comment!
Have a great time - Sabine Hörl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We have just returned from a skiing week at the Romantik (Jan 2013)

Pros.....
Great location, just 50 metres from the town and amenities and the beautiful lake and a 5min walk to the city express gondola.
Cosy, warm and friendly, well loved family owned establishment.
Great half board food with a range of meal choices all served by efficient and friendly staff.
English widely spoken so no language barriers to overcome.
Large rooms with plenty of storage space.
Very nice, clean and comfortable spa area.
The reception staff addressed our problems fast and rectified them.

Cons......
Small swimming pool with the outside pool only open from 5.30pm
The artwork of naked women that is all up the stairs and dotted around the reception.
Some of the reception seating area was a little on the worn side.
The hotel allows dogs in the rooms.

Overall
The hotel is a fascinating building with multiple levels, and a rabbit warren of rooms, stuffed full of antiques, curios ,artwork, old photo's and historical bric-a-brac that is well loved and cared for by the family and staff who all made us feel very welcome, but it feels more like staying at your rich Austrian's grandma's house than a 4* hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dewickm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romantikhotel_Zell, Manager at Romantik Hotel Zell am See, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Hello from Zell am See,
this is we wanted to be individual, charming hotel! This is very important for us, because the smaller the world gets, the more important is to be part of the local sourrounding and the traditions of the region! We like to be individual and traditional - but not old fashioned!
Thank you - the 4 generations of the Hörl Family and the staff members

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed for our second visit this January and had a wonderful time. A lovely quiet room that was in excellent condition and looked after each day by a conscientious house keeper. The food was very tasty with choices of regional and non-regional course most nights. The staff are hard working, helpful and friendly. The hotel has excellent spa facilities.
This hotel has been in the same family for more tan three generations and they are proud of their hotel - you won't find better.

Room Tip: The Landhaus rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PopsPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romantikhotel_Zell, Manager at Romantik Hotel Zell am See, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

The family Hörl wants to thank you for your nice words. As our staff members are working with us long years - we seem to be family members all together. But this is a respect in the way of handling with each other and we like our staff members. This they give to our guests and we are happy about this!
Looking forward to welcome you again!
Sabine Hörl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I have been observing the reviews of the Romantik hotel for over 2 years. I chose this hotel for its name for my now husband and I to get married there. I have watched others comments and anticipated what I would expect when I arrived with 20 of my family and friends.
The hotel has not recivedved the jusitifcaion it so well deserves. The staff are supberb, anything you need is never to much hassle, our wedding was co-ordinated to perfection and the hotel itselfs is a gem of history and romance.
The food is divine we were treated to 5 courses every night from a diverse set menu. I am a fussy eater and everything that was placed infront of me I ate with pure delight and they even catered for my sister who has a dietry requirment with no fuss what so ever!
The factilties are all there, robes, hairdryer, comfy beds but if you need more pillows or its to hot, ask the staff they are more than happy to make you feel comfortable. The pool and welness area were perfect to realx in and if we wanted to ski, go on day trips or sleigh rides the receptionist would help us to make it all happen.
Our wedding day was magical, fun and perfect the hotel did us proud with the room decor and organisation, flowers everything. Sabine is a true proffesional who was there when ever I needed her!!!
I can honestly say this hotel is one of the most welcoming hotels I have ever stayed in and every single person in our party had a brilliant time.
I am 100% sure we will all be back there again
Thank you Romantik Hotel you truly are a gem of a hotel!

Room Tip: All the rooms are fantastic, our friends stayed in the older part of the hotel were no room is the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tillyturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiwiZell, Manager at Romantik Hotel Zell am See, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Hello from Austria,
we still think to your wedding day and for us it is no business - we like to have happy people around. Take care of you and your hapiness - as the registrar told "A Marriage is often a storm in the harbor, but mostly a harbor in the storm"! Have always a safe harbor! Best greetings Sabine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tirolerhof
Hotel Tirolerhof
#3 of 42 in Zell am See
1,178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Zell am See
Grand Hotel Zell am See
#12 of 42 in Zell am See
589 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Seehof
Hotel Seehof
#8 of 42 in Zell am See
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Neue Post
Hotel Neue Post
#5 of 42 in Zell am See
235 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Stadt Wien
Hotel Stadt Wien
#1 of 42 in Zell am See
404 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Salzburgerhof
Hotel Salzburgerhof
#2 of 42 in Zell am See
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romantik Hotel Zell am See? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantik Hotel Zell am See

Address: Sebastian Horl Strasse 11, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 42 Hotels in Zell am See
Price Range: $143 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Romantik Hotel Zell am See 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the very centre of the small mountain village of Zell am See, you will find the Romantikhotel Zell am See lying in an oasis of tranquillity. Just a few steps away from Zell's lively centre, you can find relaxation and tranquillity in the rose garden, or in the romantic garden by the pool.Escape from the humdrum of everyday life and get into the holiday mood. The location of the hotel is ideal in both summer and winter alike. The hotel is only a couple of minutes from the lake and the hiking region, and only a 7 minute walk from the ski bus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Romantik Hotel Zell am See reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing