We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A surprising hidden gem.”
Review of Brasserie Traube

Brasserie Traube
Ranked #4 of 83 Restaurants in Zell am See
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Cosy restaurant & bar. International kitchen with a touch of asia
Leeds
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A surprising hidden gem.”
Reviewed September 2, 2014

I recently visited Brasserie Traube on a family holiday. We tried to visit previously but it was always too busy, and after our visit we can see why! The restaurant is hidden down an alley near the main square in town. We sat outside despite the heavy rain. Good heaters and lots of blankets available under the awning outside the front of the restaurant which kept us really cosy! The food was excellent, we ordered a range of dishes, including the chicken and giant burgers, steak sandwich and a chicken basket. Everything was delicious and the portions were incredibly generous. The staff were really friendly and helpful with wine suggestions etc. to suit our varying tastes.

My younger brother and I returned later in the evening for a drink with a few people we met in town and were once again pleasantly surprised. Inside was really lively, playing great music and serving reasonably priced drinks. We found it unusual that people could smoke inside but we got used to it fairly quickly! Staff on the whole were really friendly, despite a mix up with the bill for drinks, luckily we had a native speaker with us who sorted it out for us! I had one prickly exchange with someone behind the bar when trying to pay by card, but overall this is a really minor complaint and not a regular occurrence judging by the friendly nature of the service we received during the rest of the evening.

We would really recommend Brasserie Traube, both for family dinner and for a fun night out!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars L, Manager at Brasserie Traube, responded to this review, June 20, 2016
Thank you very much for your nice review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    57
    13
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Food & Service, great atmosphere too”
Reviewed August 26, 2014

This small restaurant offers a wide range of food choices, the noodle dishes & Thai soup were wonderful. My son said that the mussels were absolutely delicious. The burgers are huge served on wooden platters with potato wedges & dips. You can also get sweet BBQ racks of ribs & chicken wings plus much more, the portions sizes are more than generous and the service excellent, very welcoming & a lovely relaxed atmosphere. Great value for money. If you are staying at the Hotel Traube there is no need to even go out as you can access the restaurant directly from the Hotel.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rachmc2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good food , good service”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

i've been here twice now and there has been good food and good service both times.The chicken nuggets didn't have much flavour but they were good. if i go to zell am see again i will go here

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chickenlover123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire. UK
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Superb atmosphere, decor, food, wine and service”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Visited with a family of five, had various starters, mains, beers and wines, all excellent. Thai soup starter was fantastic, then all had various meals from ribs, chicken wings for children to prawn and chicken Asian wok vegetables with noodles. Very well presented, and very tasty. Perfect evening had by all, in a busy location for a Sunday, very impressed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DCI17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars L, Inhaber at Brasserie Traube, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you very much for your assessment. We are looking Forward to having you here soon again on your next trip to Zell am See. If you Need a room, we have on top of the Restaurant a 3* Hotel with completely new renovated rooms.

Best regards
Lars Lindgren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“The big hamburger was not really tasty”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

We had some indian food and a giant hamburger . The former was ok, the hamburger was bad. That was only quantity with no quality. The menu presents too different kinds of food and they seem not be specialized in any of them.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BlindePassagier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie Traube also viewed

Zell am See, Salzburg Region
Zell am See, Salzburg Region
 
Zell am See, Salzburg Region
Zell am See, Salzburg Region
 
Zell am See, Salzburg Region
Zell am See, Salzburg Region
 

Been to Brasserie Traube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing