We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food, ambience and service”
Review of Steinerwirt

Steinerwirt
Ranked #2 of 96 Restaurants in Zell am See
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $29
Cuisines: Austrian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We are staying in Zell am See for a week and so far have eaten twice at this restaurant - once for lunch (sat outside) and once for dinner (weather cooler and showery, so sat inside).
On both occasions the food has been excellent and the service faultless.
The traditional Austrian menu is varied and extremely good value.
Overall highly recommended, many thanks to the friendly, helpful staff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Princessdollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannes S, Owner at Steinerwirt, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2015

My New Year's resolution: thanking you for your very nice recommendation! Belated? Yes. From the heart? Undoubtedly.

And when you come to Zell again, please visit us again.

Kind regards,
Johannes Schwaninger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (577)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 188 of 577 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2014

Could not fault the food, always a good sign when all the locals are eating in it and most tables were taken.

Thank broadfields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannes S, Owner at Steinerwirt, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2015

My New Year's resolution: thanking you for your very nice recommendation!

And when you come to Zell again, please visit us again.

Kind regards,
Johannes Schwaninger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We looked for a restaurant last weekend 26.04 and because it was between the ski season and the start of the spring season, most places were closed. The Steinerwirt was one of the few that were open. We were in a side room of this traditional Austrian restaurant, and it had a wonderful atmosphere with old benches and tiled oven. The food is simple, but freshly cooked. I had deer gulssch and my wife roast pork and dumplings. This was rounded off with two portions of apple strudel. All in all, a lucky chance and I can thoroughly recommend it. It can, however get very busy. Maybe book in advance. Oh, and the prices are reasonable, contrary to an earlier review.

1  Thank Michwalk65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannes S, Owner at Steinerwirt, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2015

My New Year's resolution: thanking you for your very nice recommendation! Belated? Yes. From the heart? Undoubtedly.

When you come to Zell next time, please visit us again.

Kind regards,
Johannes Schwaninger

P. S.: Thanks for pointing out that it is advisable to book a table in advance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

I have eaten here many times- usually in a family or large group. Love the food, the service and even though a bit pricey it is worth it. They also have a lovely kids room open until 9pm so u can enjoy a glass of wine at the end of the meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LouiseFailte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannes S, Owner at Steinerwirt, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2015

My New Year's resolution: thanking you for your very nice recommendation! Belated? Yes. From the heart? Undoubtedly.

And when you come to Zell next time, please visit us again.

Kind regards,
Johannes Schwaninger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We popped in here for dinner during a two night stay in Zell. It is very old fashioned which we liked as there is a lot of character. The room we were in had some other diners but would have benefitted from some light music just to ensure conversations were not overheard but this is my only slight criticism. The food was excellent. I had the trout which was extremely well cooked and very tasty. Good wine selection from reasonably priced to expensive so something for everyone. Staff were very efficient and spoke good English. So overall would recommend this place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SnowQueen007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannes S, Owner at Steinerwirt, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2015

My New Year's resolution: thanking you for your very nice recommendation! Belated? Yes. From the heart? Undoubtedly.

And when you come to Zell next time, please visit us again.

Kind regards,
Johannes Schwaninger

P. S.: Since your suggestions, we have started to add some music in the restaurant for our hotel guests. It turns out to be tricky to get it just right, but we are working on it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steinerwirt also viewed

Zell am See, Salzburg Region
Zell am See, Salzburg Region
 
Zell am See, Salzburg Region
Zell am See, Salzburg Region
 
Zell am See, Salzburg Region
Zell am See, Salzburg Region
 

Been to Steinerwirt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing