We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant”
Review of Steinerwirt

Steinerwirt
Ranked #3 of 83 Restaurants in Zell am See
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $29
Cuisines: Austrian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff, excellent food. Overall a flawless experience. 7 people ordered and all were very satisfied. Willl definetly return

Helpful?
Thank Ioan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannes S, Inhaber at Steinerwirt, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for your nice recommendation to the Tripadvisor community. The fact that you mentioned the number of guests in your party may be very useful to other readers. Let me share my insights on this point, since it might be of interest to the community: As a general rule, for any à la carte restaurant, it is more challenging to deliver as the number of guests in a party increases. Why? More guests in a party demand more coordination and precise timing on behalf of the chefs. After all, you would all like to eat at the same time, even when you ordered different plates. The same holds true for the wait staff - serving the correct dish and drinks to the guest who ordered, without always having to ask - "Who ordered the trout?" In my opinion, it is with parties of 7 or more guests, that great restaurants start to excel, whereas less skilled teams stumble. At Steinerwirt, we very often serve large families and larger parties of friends. And we are always very happy to hear when all has worked out!

Thank you again and kind regards,
Johannes Schwaninger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    161
    53
    24
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“100% Austrian Food”
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

Locals told us about this place and locals were eating there. And we just loved it. If you don't go you will unfortunately miss out on this amazing restaurant. Oh and don't walk in at 8 o clock on a Friday or Saturday night and expect a free table. What a place. Thanks guys.

Helpful?
Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannes S, Inhaber at Steinerwirt, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you for your recommendation. Since we are very busy especially on weekends, reservations are definitely helpful. However, we are equally happy about anyone just stopping by!

See you again and kind regards,
Johannes Schwaninger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Very good restaurant, the potato soup is heavenly. We have gone here two nights inadvertently but we didn't feel sorry at all!

Helpful?
Thank J9cas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannes S, Inhaber at Steinerwirt, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you very much for recommending us to the Tripadvisor community. We are very glad you enoyed your stay at our restaurant. I am very happy to read that you enjoyed the potatoe soup, since we slightly changed the recipe compared to last winter. Obviously, for the better :) When you return to Zell, we will be very happy to welcoming you again at Steinerwirt!

Kind regards,
Johannes Schwaninger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Semington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Don't believe everything you read on TripAdvisor!”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Went here tonight on the strength of the TripAdvisor reviews. It was awful. One of the worst meals we have had for a very long time. It wasn't that the food was inedible simply that it was tasteless. And there was no atmosphere. While we haven't been to Meyer's yet (we are going on Friday) the idea that this is higher ranked than a 2 star Michelin restaurant is a joke. It's not as good as our local pub - and if you had been there you would know that that's not saying much. I can only assume that someone has been loading complementary reviews to make this place sound better - don't believe a word of it!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannes S, Inhaber at Steinerwirt, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are sorry to hear that your visit to our restaurant did not meet your expectations. We always strive to provide high quality food and service to our guests, and we apologize that we did not succeed with you. I strongly reject the allegations that the positive reviews are manipulated. Truth is: Nobody is perfect. Not us. Not any other restaurant on the planet.

Please accept our apologies for the bad experience you had and enjoy your stay in Zell am See!

Kind regards,
Johannes Schwaninger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dinner was great”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Had a great dinner and amazing wine - thanks to Roland! The staff were very welcoming. We had gulasch supper and steak!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gordie_Wooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannes S, Owner at Steinerwirt, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you very much for recommending us to the Tripadvisor community! We were very happy to read that you enjoyed your dinner with us. We take great care in our selection of Austrian wines, and it is nice to see our efforts appreciated. At your next visit to Zell, we would be happy to welcome you again!

Kind regards,
Johannes Schwaninger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steinerwirt also viewed

Zell am See, Salzburg Region
Zell am See, Salzburg Region
 
Zell am See, Salzburg Region
Zell am See, Salzburg Region
 

Been to Steinerwirt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing