We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent authentic Austrian food”
Review of Steinerwirt

Steinerwirt
Ranked #2 of 83 Restaurants in Zell am See
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $29
Cuisines: Austrian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Q
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent authentic Austrian food”
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Excellent Austrian restaurant. By far my favourite meal throughout my week in Austria. I had the half duck the first night and the onion roast the second night. I also tried my mom's pork roast. All delicious. I can't wait to go back.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannes S, Owner at Steinerwirt, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for your visit and sorry for the late reply - I usually take great care in thanking our fanbase promptly for recommending us. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your dinner with us. The roast duck is one of our signature dishes and I am glad you liked it. When you visit Austria again, we would be very happy to welcome you at the Steinerwirt!

Kind regards,
Johannes Schwaninger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    281
    167
    55
    24
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“I love the Steinerwirt!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is my second visit (first was in 2000) and it is nice to see that it is still a wonderful place (open since 1493!!). The staff is very, very friendly - and we had excellent service. We sat at a lovely table by the window in the room with the beautiful wood-carved chandeliers. Our meals were excellent (the fish was divine). Beautifully set tables, also. Do not miss eating at the Steinerwirt if you are in Zell am See - but especially the Nockerl dessert!!! Delicious!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kbofsrq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannes S, Owner at Steinerwirt, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for your visit and sorry for the late reply - I usually take great care in thanking our fanbase promptly for recommending us. We are very happy that you returned after over 10 years and enjoyed the your dinner with us. Continuity is very important to us, hence we were really happy to read your recommendation. When you visit Zell am See again, please stop by - if it is in 1, 2, or 10 years: we are here to stay!


Kind regards,
Johannes Schwaninger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Menu and Service”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

The Steinerwirt was recommended to us by the B&B we were staying at in Zell. We were not disappointed. My wife's fillet of pike-perch was the best fish she's ever had. I had the roast pork with dumplings and it was excellent. The service was friendly and we especially like the fact that the atmosphere was quiet - made for a relaxing evening. The restaurant specializes in traditional Austrian fare. The desserts were excellent. I was quite surprised at a couple of negative reviews. I would certainly give this restaurant a visit if you are in Zell.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mcm5404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannes S, Owner at Steinerwirt, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you very much for recommending us to the Tripadvisor community! With the pike perch and the roast pork, you picked two of our guests' favorites. When you return to Zell am See, please visit us again. Many thanks and

Kind regards,
Johannes Schwaninger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food and good service”
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

The food was great and the service was nice - not so common for an Austrian restaurant from our experience. We would definitely recommend the restsurant for everyone.

Btw, i saw a bad review regarding dish portion - we didnt have any problems with that, they were fine and more

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Koombal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannes S, Owner at Steinerwirt, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your recommendation and for mentioning your satisfaction with the portion size. In general, this is a tricky topic for many restaurants: guests' dining habits vary greatly, and it is next to impossible to satisfy all. Thus, it is important for us to hear from the guests who are happy with the sizes. Thanks!

We hope to see you again and send

Kind regards,
Johannes Schwaninger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mestre
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“You would like to go back”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We went here last year because it was recommended on the lonely planet and we have a great dinner.
We decided to go back one evenining this year and we go back also the day after, as we liked it too much.
Food is well cooked, well presented, waiters are very nice and kind, the place is very beautiful inside and comfortable outside
If you take the dish of day you will pay really few, for a great lunch or dinner with the possibility to try the local specialities.
If we will go again in Zell am see we will go back here for sure, there are still some specialities that we want to try,
It is great for a couple dinner but also for a bigger company.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Moonofthefuture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannes S, Inhaber at Steinerwirt, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for visiting us again this year. Returning guests are the highest compliment for a restaurant, and we are very happy that you enjoyed your dinner at Steinerwirt again. To many happy returns!

Kind regards,
Johannes Schwaninger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steinerwirt also viewed

Zell am See, Salzburg Region
Zell am See, Salzburg Region
 
Zell am See, Salzburg Region
Zell am See, Salzburg Region
 

Been to Steinerwirt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing