We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and good service”
Review of Steinerwirt

Steinerwirt
Ranked #2 of 100 Restaurants in Zell am See
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $31
Cuisines: Austrian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

The food was great and the service was nice - not so common for an Austrian restaurant from our experience. We would definitely recommend the restsurant for everyone.

Btw, i saw a bad review regarding dish portion - we didnt have any problems with that, they were fine and more

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Koombal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannes S, Owner at Steinerwirt, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thank you for your recommendation and for mentioning your satisfaction with the portion size. In general, this is a tricky topic for many restaurants: guests' dining habits vary greatly, and it is next to impossible to satisfy all. Thus, it is important for us to hear from the guests who are happy with the sizes. Thanks!

We hope to see you again and send

Kind regards,
Johannes Schwaninger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (598)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 215 of 598 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

We went here last year because it was recommended on the lonely planet and we have a great dinner.
We decided to go back one evenining this year and we go back also the day after, as we liked it too much.
Food is well cooked, well presented, waiters are very nice and kind, the place is very beautiful inside and comfortable outside
If you take the dish of day you will pay really few, for a great lunch or dinner with the possibility to try the local specialities.
If we will go again in Zell am see we will go back here for sure, there are still some specialities that we want to try,
It is great for a couple dinner but also for a bigger company.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Moonofthefuture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannes S, Inhaber at Steinerwirt, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you for visiting us again this year. Returning guests are the highest compliment for a restaurant, and we are very happy that you enjoyed your dinner at Steinerwirt again. To many happy returns!

Kind regards,
Johannes Schwaninger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Service excellent with very nice staff. iMain courses very good but was disappointed with the desserts.

Thank ColetteKMonaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannes S, Inhaber at Steinerwirt, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Thank you very much for your recommendation and we are glad that you enjoyed your time at our restaurant. Due to a temporary staff shortage in the dessert section of our kitchen, we had to reduce the variability of desserts. I can assure you, however, that we are working very hard to get this sorted out. At your next visit, I am confident that we will be able to provide you with the expected quality and variability.

Kind regards,
Johannes Schwaninger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We ate lunch today at the outside terrace. The food was a reasonable price and the menu varied. The service was incredibly quick and very professional. The food was VERY good. Highly recommended !
I have seen a couple of poor reviews on this restaurant which is surprising. We live in Zell am See and eat here fairly regularly (in season and out). I have never ever seen poor or slow service. There are always limited numbers of a daily special as it will not be on the menu the following day. This is a usual thing in most places.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank binky59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannes S, Inhaber at Steinerwirt, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind words and your support. It is especially nice to read a review from one of our regular guests. We really appreciate that you took the time to write about your experience at Steinerwirt and recommend us to the Tripadvisor community. Thank you again and we are looking forward to your next visit.

My very best regards,
Johannes Schwaninger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Whilst on a motorcycling holiday we stayed in Zell am See,and trusting in Tripadvisor looked up restaurants. This one came up with good reviews. We were very disappointed We arrived about 19.00 hrs and were told the specials were no longer available. The service was poor and disinterested and the food average depite having the signature dish of schnitzel which was dry and uninspiring I would not wish to repeat the experience..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JohnexRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannes S, Inhaber at Steinerwirt, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

I am really sorry that your experience at our restaurant did not live up to your expectations! While we are trying really hard to provide great food and service to all of our guests, sometimes we fail. Obviously, this was the case with you, and please accept my sincere apologies for your disappointment! If you visit Zell am See again, we will be very happy if you give us a second chance.

Kind regards,
Johannes Schwaninger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steinerwirt also viewed

Zell am See, Salzburg Region
Zell am See, Salzburg Region
 
Zell am See, Salzburg Region
Zell am See, Salzburg Region
 
Zell am See, Salzburg Region
Zell am See, Salzburg Region
 

Been to Steinerwirt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing